We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of Promise - but ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Middelburg
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Middelburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2012

At first glance this hotel is full of promise. Despite its location on a small semi industrial/entertainment complex it is an imposing position and is very new and modern. However, on check in I was asked to pay for my stay and in endeavouring to open a 'tab' I ended up paying a tip!

Rooms are very modern although lighting is not conducive to working at the desk. Similarly, the proximity of the very large TV (with a very good selection of channels) makes working at the desk a bit cluttered. The bathroom is excellent although I still have not worked out where the basin plug is!

2 hours free wifi, proper coat hangers, face cloths all add to the level of comfort. There is no gym but a very heavily discounted arrangement with the adjacent fitness centre makes up for this.

I experienced problems during my stay trying get a drink from the bar because my account was closed on arrival! 20 mins to be served and sorted out is excessive. I also needed to iron a shirt and was presented with a very dirty iron which I was reluctant to use on a white shirt. I never did find the ironing room which was on my floor.

Very good value and very well furnished a presented but more attention to detail is needed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart_Away_Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

Yes the service is lethargic and sluggish, but it is pleasant, I got the feeling that this was not entirely the up to the actual staff but rather the level of staffing as they were always there but forever busy dealing with others or phone calls.
The breakfast is particularly good and varied seaming to cater for all requirements, within reason.
Possibly the décor can be deemed as a bit dull or sterile but I rattler enjoyed it, most likely my opinion is a bit biased as it was particularly cold during our stay and I found the roaring fire in the foyer and bar rather inviting after a cold day out.
Location is out of town and as we had the use of a car it did not figure as an issue, but it is close to the motorway with easy access, it is but a short bike ride into town.
The rooms are large and well-appointed with few issues which do little to detract from an enjoyable stay.
Dinner was excellent and made for a very good evening and stands as a good recommendation for the hotel and chain.
If we return we will more than likely use this hotel again and will look out for others of this chain.

Room Tip: Pets are on the ground floor so getting up a level or two will reduce the chance of noise while owne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rstamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with friends at this modern hotel on outskirts of Middelburg. Their packages give excellent value for money and include an extensive buffet breakfast, freshly prepared and constantly replenished. We found the staff to be very friendly & accommodating and worked hard to keep the hotel immaculate. The room itself was extremely spacious with tea/coffee making facilities plus fridge and flat screen TV. The bathroom was absolutely huge with a double-size bath plus wet room area as well as a separate toilet. The location is probably more suited to business than leisure but this does make it easily accessible and if you know that before you go, it's not a problem. It was snowing when we stayed and we walked into Middelburg which took around 45minutes and was quite pleasant through the residential area. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilverD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Brand new hotel, easily accessible from the motorway. Very well build with very spaceous rooms and fantatstic bathroom and seperate shower and toilet rooms. Very nicely decorated with flashy furniture. Breakfast is included and is of great quality with all the standard dishes plus local specialities.
It is only a short drive to the centres of Middelburg and Vlissingen and all the beaches of the island of Walcheren. You will not get better quality for money anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expat_sealover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

newly build. tasteful design. great service. large rooms, great shower, separate toilet, two hours free WiFi per 24 hours, five star breakfast included. what else could you wish for ?

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We were surprised !!... Location not very pleasant, but we knew that beforehand ... For a good price you get a large modern bedroom, a bathroom with great bath and shower... All very sleek and contemporary, breakfast is opulent, the feeling throughout is pleasantly and relaxed... Good place if you want to combine the seaside with the lovely small towns in Zeeland".

Room Tip: Comfort room will do......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElisabetNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Beautiful new hotel with georgous rooms. Hotel is very contemporary and serves a really great breakfast. The rooms are VERY spacious and the bathroom is - besides being very, very nice indeed - even bigger. A large more than full size two person bath and a walk in shower with a large ceiling shower head of 25cm. and an additional hand shower. AWESOME

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middelburg
4.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Beach Hotel Westduin Vlissingen
1.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel The Roosevelt
Boutique Hotel The Roosevelt
#2 of 10 in Middelburg
272 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel de Nieuwe Doelen
Hotel de Nieuwe Doelen
#5 of 10 in Middelburg
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Middelburg
10.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Goes
14.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ter Duin
Grand Hotel Ter Duin
#1 of 5 in Burgh-Haamstede
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Middelburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Middelburg

Address: Paukenweg 3, 4337 WH Middelburg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Zeeland Province > Middelburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Middelburg
Price Range: £90 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Middelburg 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Middelburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing