We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Middelburg
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Middelburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here again for a night.
Décor in the reception area is lovely.
Bar is great.
Rooms are great - no complaints.
Internet is fast.


Lovely big bath.

Food in restaurant was fantastic this time - rib eye was lovely.

Will come again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acornise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

A great hotel, beautiful elegant decor, large spaces and all the comforts. The lobby is really spacious and the staff was efficient and professional. The room I stayed in was large, very quiet and comfortable. The bathroom is huge and has a bath tub and a walk in shower. I spent two night there on a business trip. I had dinner at the restaurant both evenings I stayed there. The menu is very varied with a wide offering of starters, fish, meat and vegetarian mains. What I had was nicely presented and tasty. It would be ideal if they had more wine selection, maybe that was the only thing that was lacking. Breakfast was perfect, with sweet and savoury options and good coffee. Definitely a place to recommend if visiting Middelburg for business or leisure.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank priscillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

A 4* star hotel that deserves its stars! Hard to find such large rooms for that price (we had a special offer in December). The bathroom is top, in beautiful gray stone tiles: spacious, with rain shower and bath, separate toilet. Free coffee, tea and water in the room. Nice decoration everywhere in the hotel. Late check-out possibility on Sunday. Friendly staff. Great breakfast, topped up till the end (which is often not the case), very nice selection of fresh fruit juices and smoothies. Large cosy bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the ground floor (poor view and close to the parked cars). Specify if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraCCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Recently stayed here whilst on business in the area. Stayed for 4 nights and everything about it was found satisfactory. Had a room up on the 4th floor that also incorporate a good size balcony. Rooms size was very good and comfortable.

Dine in the restaurant 4 nights and was not disappointed with both choice and quality of food served. The breakfast buffet was also found to be well stocked and of good choice.

The hotel is a little outside Middelburg, but no great deal during this stay as had not need to visit this time. Have stayed in this area of holland on a number of occasions and will certainly consider Van der Valk for a return visit, especially if the next stay is during the summer and full use of the adjacent golf course can be made.

All in all would certainly recommend this hotel for both travellers of business and pleasure.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Chris-Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business during December 2013. Stayed on the 4th floor. Impressive sized rooms and bathroom. Also included a large balcony offering nice views .
Room very comfortable and fining experience was exceptional. Definitely worthy of 4 star status.
Would highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The room was huge, and so was the bathroom with a big shower and a bath. Large TV, and a comfy bed. Despite being close to the main road, we heard no noise in the room.

There was a large selection at breakfast, and the food was OK, though the hot food was not really that hot. The boiled eggs had obviously sat there a while. We ate in the hotel one night and had no complaints about the food.

It was a shame there was no gym or pool, we would expect this from a 4* hotel, especially given the high price per night.

There was a garage to keep bikes which we used (and there were plenty of other bikes in the garage presumably for rental, some looked to be electric bikes).

It is a couple of miles outside Middelberg, we walked in to the centre one day, it took around 45 mins and the taxi fare back was quite expensive.

We had a great day cycling around the area, there is a nice woodland route from Doomberg heading eastward; Veere is a nice place to stop for spot of lunch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazywaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel, was looking very new with quite pleasant indoors feeling except for the too dry air and the low level of light at all areas even in the room.
The public areas and the room were beautifully decorated.
Room was very big having very big bathroom and separated WC.
The bed was very soft. Free wi-fi connection was available.
Food was very good but the personnel at the reastaurant could improve its customer-orientation. Due to late arrival at the hotel I was told by the receptionist that I could have dinner at the retaurant but when I right after entered at 10:00-10:05 they were not willing to serve dinner because "it was almost 10:30", when the restaurant would close, as I was told by one of the nicely dressed persons of the restaurant that approached me when I entered. I thanked them, left the restaurant and expressed my complaint to the receptionist.
10 minutes after I had expressed the complaint to the reception I was told that there was a kind of missunderstanding and that I could have dinner if I still wanted but the event that I had faced I would not like to be served by persons who were obviousely not willing to do it 10 minutes earlier.

If I was managing the hotel I would have to spend some time trying to explain the meaning of hospitality and customer-orientation to personnel of the restaurant that contacts the guests.
Perhaps it was the reaction of one person only, perhaps not.
But I had this experience that surprised me a lot expecially in such a nice hotel.
I hope that next time I will not face such a case again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonidas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middelburg
4.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Beach Hotel Westduin Vlissingen
1.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel The Roosevelt
Boutique Hotel The Roosevelt
#2 of 10 in Middelburg
271 reviews
14.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ter Duin
Grand Hotel Ter Duin
#1 of 5 in Burgh-Haamstede
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Goes
1.4 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Middelburg
1.4 mi away
Hotel de Nieuwe Doelen
Hotel de Nieuwe Doelen
#5 of 10 in Middelburg
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Middelburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Middelburg

Address: Paukenweg 3, 4337 WH Middelburg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Zeeland Province > Middelburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Middelburg
Price Range: £99 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Middelburg 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Middelburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing