We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average because of the unhelpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amadore Hotel Restaurant Arneville
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Middelburg
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The hotel was ok, in a good position within walking distance of the town. But the receptionist was surly and unhelpful, and the waitress at breakfast allowed orange juice, milk, scrambled egg etc to run out without considering replacing them. We weren't late - there was still an hour to go before breakfast finished, but the buffet was bare. The room was good, so it's a shame the staff let down what could be a good hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmin186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Amadore Hotel Restaurant Arneville
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed for three nights at this hotel and found the food and service to be very good but the room was unbearably hot and definitely not of 4 star quality. The staff were lovely and worked very hard to make us feel welcome. Food in the restaurant was very good,although pricey, with generous portions. The breakfast buffet included freshly squeezed orange juice and plenty of choice.
We booked our room through Experian and didn't expect to pay an additional booking fee of 5 euros a night charged by the hotel. The room and bathroom were much smaller than expected for a 4 star hotel. The hotel is in a convenient position for the town centre, only 10 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeyaldridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We travel from time to time across Europe with our dog. We find it difficult to find a hotel that is truly dog-friendly and also of a good standard for ourselves. Amadore is both . The rooms are comfortable the restaurant good. The staff is very friendly and helpful.There seems to be a happy and relaxed atmosphere. Dogs are allowed everywhere, including the dining room.Despite the hotel being on a major road, the location is very good. We found a good walk along the canal just outside, and a short drive away is a lovely beach. Middelburg is a beautiful old town, and for people in cars, not far from some of Holland's major attractions. We are so glad we found Hotel Arneville.

Anne

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anne Gerd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Room very stuffy, smelly and very very hot. Absolute no airflow. Extractor in bathroom didn't work. Towels small and in a bad state, no soap in shower. Beds to soft, hurt our backs. Not worth the stars.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggiWithaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The room was very small. The air inside was horrible, first there is no movement of the air.
The air inside was stuffy and it stink that you think you are standing on a septic tank.
The reception did not do anythink when we bring that to their attention.
This hotel has seen the best days, I don't know where they get any star.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palawan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The hotel:
At arrival the hotel gives a very good impression. Helpful and service oriented staff, nice tasteful lobby. Although the lobby area was small, I never felt I was keot waiting on was in the way of anything.
Much is probably due to the restaurant being of top quality. It is Michelin guide mentioned and holds a very high standard but with very reasonable prices.
The same restaurant also serves the breakfast, and it also holds a quite good standard.

Location:
The hotel is located just as you enter the city of MIddelburg. After getting off the highway running from Antwerp it is one of the first things you will encounter. It is also relatively close to the city center. For me the stay was mainly to I had work in the nearby harbour of Vlissingen, which is only a 15-20 minute drive away.
Can't say much about public transport. But being in the Netherlands, the area has plenty of bicycle paths and is an ideal place to look around from the top of a bicycle.

The rooms.
The rooms are basic, over normal standard rooms. Very large and very comfortable bed.
Each room has a small but very modern and good bathroom.
Temperature was a problem at first, can't really say why as I did not find any temperature control. But overall it let me rest well every night. There is internet available in the rooms.

Overall impression:
Good, over the standard average hotel. Comfortable rooms, good restaurant.
It is a very good option. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the parking lot are not affected by the noise from the road on the front.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odd Jarle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We booked this hotel for one night as it looked very promising on their website. It was a standard double room and payed approx. 45 EUR per person. The experience was not really what was described on their page. It wasn't awful, but not great either. Some issues:

- floor wasn't clean, the sheets had stains, bathroom bin was full when we entered the room, the Minibar (I know I should stay out of it...by the way tiny bottle of Prosecco was 9 EUR) was dirty and all the glasses were covered with dust like they had a stay in the desert for some weeks,
- the rooms are noisy because the doors don't isolate any noise from the hall. Luckily we stayed till late in town, so no problem on that ;-)
- breakfast had a big variety but when we got there by 9 am most of the stuff that should be warm was cold (eggs, bacon,...).

What was worth the stay in the hotel?
- the easy reach to town,
- the big car park,
- the very friendly staff (they offered a map of the area and talked about good spots to visit)
- the bathroom which was redecorated and was really modern
- the public area of the hotel

We didn't had dinner so can't comment on restaurant quality.

One last remark: it is a Best Western hotel! Hard to find that on their website, they should show it more clearly, because then you know what style you can expect.

Conclusion: some good, some bad credits for this hotel, I can accept this choice for a short stay, but wouldn't really choose it for multiple nights.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JochenD140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middelburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Middelburg
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Nieuwe Doelen
Hotel de Nieuwe Doelen
#5 of 10 in Middelburg
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Middelburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BMG Hotel Middelburg
BMG Hotel Middelburg
#7 of 10 in Middelburg
47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel aan de Dam
Hotel aan de Dam
#3 of 10 in Middelburg
106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel The Roosevelt
Boutique Hotel The Roosevelt
#2 of 10 in Middelburg
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amadore Hotel Restaurant Arneville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amadore Hotel Restaurant Arneville

Address: Buitenruststraat 22, 4337 EH Middelburg, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Amadore Hotel Arneville)
Region: The Netherlands > Zeeland Province > Middelburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Middelburg
Price Range: £70 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amadore Hotel Restaurant Arneville 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amadore Hotel Restaurant Arneville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Middelburg
Middelburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing