We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice character hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel aan de Dam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel aan de Dam
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Middelburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We visited this hotel for one evening whilst exploring Zeeland. The hotel has plenty of character and is located as the name suggests on the dam. The room we were given was at the top of the hotel, it was large and nicely furnished with the addition of a small kitchen area. The bathroom had recently been refurbished and had a very fancy shower.

The breakfast came with a good selection and was served in a lovely room. The staff were both friendly and helpful. Overall I would recommend this hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshgirlNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Instead of going to a regular café or bar, we like to find unusual places to have a cup of tea or a glass of beer. This hotel which dates from the 17th century offers a lovely setting to do just that. The building is beautiful, and so is the garden, which is situated at the back. It's very private and it gives you an opportunity to experience what life would have been like for the rich inhabitants of Middelburg during the Dutch Golden Age.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KarenAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here 2 weeks ago during our cycle tour round Netherlands and Belgium.

The hotel is very well placed just off the main square. We had an attic room right at the top so not as magnificent as some of the other bedrooms in the pictures but bright and spacious with a spa type shower that played music and had flashing lights for those who like a disco in the shower! Comfy beds and quiet room.
The staff were very helpful, there was a safe place in the garden to store our bikes.
Breakfast was in a grand room, healthy and varied.
All in all a great place to stay would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoenix123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in march 2013. It is a great building very close to the town center. The rooms are magnificent and you really feel like staying in an old castle. They have a special parking rate- ask for it ! We took the combination with diner in restaurant 'Scherp' wich is a must do! The breakfast was also great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan63Wevelgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Just a five minute walk from the main street that leads to the town square, about 10 minutes from the railway station. Wonderful hotel in a traditional style with chandeliers and leather chairs in large rooms. On arrival we were greeted with a friendly chat and shown to the room, the staff are proud of the hotel and work very hard to maintain the welcome. Really comfortable bed and perfectly peaceful night sleep. Clean and warm bathroom for a shower or bath. In the morning a good fresh breakfast with warm rye bread, croissants, cheese, fruit and wonderful freshly squeezed orange juice which is a rarity these days as it normally comes out of a carton or machine. Freshly made coffee and scrambled eggs too.
Next door is a bar and restaurant that is great if you don't want to walk into the town when you arrive. We had steaks and local fish, all very good and served with a good selection of Dutch and Belgian beers. Try La Chouffe or the Tripel Karmeliet.
Overall a very pleasant stay in a traditional Dutch house in a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for the large rooms, some have baths. The attic rooms are quite small and you might be disappoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Excellent location in a former mansion looking onto the canal in the centre of historic Middelburg. But the lasting impression is a rather gloomy one: high ceilings, dark furniture, dark rooms, few guests, a trifle shabby. Nice garden. Friendly staff, public parking across the road.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank MrLear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We spent one night in this centrally located, charming, old hotel, in the top level suite, the Empire Suite, on the ground floor. The price was discounted to 150 euros, all in including breakfast and wifi. The reception area is small and uninspiring, and no one was present when I arrived, or for several minutes thereafter, and the desk bell was concealed.

The room was very spacious - about 600 sq feet with 13 (or higher) foot ceilings - and ornate, for eg, had an easel with a copy of an oil painting on it, several pieces of gilded antique furniture, two sitting chairs, and a dining table with 4 antique chairs. Drapes were heavy, and floor to ceiling. Tons of closet, drawer and floor space. Had an excellent clock/alarm radio and flat screen TV, both a bit far from where you would want them. The decor was tired and a bit shabby in places, and the movement of guests and staff in the hallways was plainly audible. Rooms were large enough for coffee and tea facilities, but none were offered, nor was there a mini-fridge which would have been welcome.

Bathroom was tiny but perfectly functional, with deep, soaker tub and hand held "shower" fixture. Excellent Braun blow-dryer. Two other rooms I looked at had only bath or shower, not a combination.

Heating worked well, the bed was wonderfully comfortable (singles box spring and mattresses pushed together, however, with a 2.5 inch mattress topper that made it a queen) and bed linens of high quality. Being on the back side of the hotel, the room was very quiet. From the comfortable bed, blackout drapes, and temperature control to the noiseless environment, we both slept exceedingly well.

Its most delightful feature was the two floor to ceiling windows that looked out on the garden. Even better, one window opened onto a little patio that lead straight to the garden lounge, where we relaxed with our books. Although we were the only guests in the garden patio, we were offered bar service there. It was the only suite in the hotel that had direct access to the back garden patio.

The breakfast room was large and attractive, if a bit dark. Looked onto the garden patio. Fare was an assortment of breads, meats, cheeses, bottled and freshly squeezed juice, yogurt, fresh fruit salad, coffee of your choosing, cereals, cakes and profiteroles (wow, were they good), and eggs prepared to your liking. Service was prompt, friendly and obliging.

The hotel is in a perfect location, 3 minutes’ walk to the main tourist street and 5 minutes to the square. A wonderful Italian restaurant, recommended by staff, is directly across the street.

I don't know what else Middelburg offers or whether it is a particularly expensive town or not, so it is impossible to judge whether Hotel aan de Dam is good value, comparatively. I can say that the hotel, while a "mixed bag", was more than adequate for our needs. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Empire suite - ground floor at the back, is the only room with its own entrance into the garden. Qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middelburg
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Nieuwe Doelen
Hotel de Nieuwe Doelen
#5 of 10 in Middelburg
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel The Roosevelt
Boutique Hotel The Roosevelt
#2 of 10 in Middelburg
271 reviews
1.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Middelburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Middelburg
13.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ter Duin
Grand Hotel Ter Duin
#1 of 5 in Burgh-Haamstede
1,396 reviews
4.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Beach Hotel Westduin Vlissingen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel aan de Dam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel aan de Dam

Address: Dam 31, 4331 GE Middelburg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Zeeland Province > Middelburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Middelburg
Price Range: £52 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel aan de Dam 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel aan de Dam is a splendid monumental building with 11 unique rooms. In the rooms you experience the atmosphere of before, with all facilities of today. After a restful night sleep, a delicious breakfast will be served. Young and enthusiastic hosts surround you with care and attention during your stay. Hotel aan de Dam is also an ideal location for a meeting, diner, brunch, or a High Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel aan de Dam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing