We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bed By the Sea
Ranked #7 of 13 Vlissingen B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I am one of five on a cycling holiday. I have just cycled 80 miles from Antwerp to Vlissingen. We are supposed to be staying in Bed by the Sea right now. We booked the hotel months ago. We confirmed the booking last week. We arrived an hour ago to be told by the person in charge that they had lost our booking. He offered us a drink in compensation and said he could arrange accommodation for us 4 miles away.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night. Yes, the stairs are steep but the building is authentic, so that can't be helped. We had the luxury room, which was nice, clean and roomy. Bathroom was well appointed. Bath tub was very high to step into, not a problem for us, but I can imagine it would be for some. Breakfast was good, not overly luxurious (as a Belgian, I kind of missed a danish or a croissant), but a nice spread with fruits, a few kinds of bread, boiled eggs, several kinds of meat/cheese, etc. Owners were super friendly and had a very good restaurant suggestion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We went here with a couple of friends in order to stay overnight after a music show in town. I, like another reviewer, was excited by the 'spa' option of one of the rooms. It was a really cold day, we'd come 3 hours on the train, and I couldn't wait to get in the bath. What greeted us were those steep stairs, a room directly above the stairs (so very cold), with radiators that barely worked and drafty, single pane glass doors to the street balcony that didn't close well. The bathroom was freezing cold! I agree another reviewer that the toiletry options were few and lackluster - my husband even went out to get me some bath supplies, but I didn't dare take a bath due to how uninviting and cold it was. We went out to eat to get warm and give the radiators a chance to warm up, but when we came back it was the same. We called the owner; he did come and change our room (and say we could still take a bath in the original room), but nice of an attempt as that was, the other room was just as cold and the lure of that bath was long gone. Breakfast was uninspired and dull. All in all, an exhausting stay at a fairly costly hotel! (I am writing this review 4 months after our stay - it will likely be met with a retort from the owner as the others have!).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vlissingen hotels

Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hotel Bed by the Sea is a very comfortable hotel. Our luxury room was clean and nicely furnished. Hotel staff and the owner were very friendly. They were always willing to help us and to provide us with suggestions for possible activities/visits.

Breakfast was basic but included everything we needed.

Positive:
- Very nice and large bathroom with whirlpool-bath
- Spacious, nicely decorated room
- Very comfortable beds
- Great location (to visit Vlissing by foot and to visit other small villages by car/bike): During our stay we visited Middelburg, West-Kappelle, Domburg and Veere by car.
- Friendly and helpful hotel owner

Negative:
- No major negative points (maybe more toiletries could be included in the bathroom, however this was not really an issue for us).

We really enjoyed our stay here and we would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

Room Tip: We were able to compare a regular room and a luxury room. For a small surplus, you get a luxury roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa Bay FL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Hotel is nice, the staff (Owner) is a nice man. The room was clean and it felt comfortable. The location of the Hotel made it possible to walk into the center of town, and do a little shopping and dining at the waters edge. There is no elevator and the stairs are steep, but this is the Netherlands and it can be managed. I would stay there again. Morning Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Bed by the Sea is one of those hotels (or B&B's) where you can feel at home. A wonderful en helpful owner, fine breakfast, great rooms with comfy beds and a great location. When you get back to the hotel, fire up the whirlpool, take a drink and relax before going around town again. Situated in one of the 4 remaining jugendstil buildings Bed by the see is authentic and cosy.

The only thing that you should take into account are the steep stairs and relatively high price, but worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edoenjolanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morcott
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I was excited by the prospect of staying here, and we passed up the opportunity of staying in a highly regarded hotel when we chose Bed By The Sea. We booked the 'luxury room' complete with whirlpool bath, and the photos looked great so we were feeling confident of a great stay.
Unfortunately, we had to rush to get to one of the two allocated 'check-in' times as it seemed that the reception was open all day. This wasn't a great start. We left our bags (we weren't yet able to get in to the room) and went away for a couple more hours.
When we did get to the room we found there were no toiletries whatsoever. Nothing. Not a bar of soap or a cotton bud to found anywhere. There was a quarter of a pot of hand soap by the sink, and a few rolls of loo paper (the one on the spool was about 3/4 gone too). We were able to chase down housekeeping for a few miserly half used pots of bubble bath and shampoo. The concept of luxury, by this point, was eluding us.
The TV was a good size, which was more to be said for the towels, and the room was relatively quiet and comfortable.
I think the main source of our disappointment was that the concept of a luxury room centered around a spa-type bathroom, had completely missed the point and served up a soulless, sterile, and bleak experience. Some tiny attempts at detail would have transformed this easily.
Topping off, the breakfast was kind of 'meh' with poor, cheap bread and some (seemingly) out of date ham on offer alongside the usual cheese and spreads.
Luckily, Vlissingen had a fantastic sushi place (Sake and Sushi) which was so unbelievably good that our visit is memorable for that alone. Certainly NOT for the Bed By The Sea. Sorry.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rutlandclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstenvh, Owner at Hotel Bed By the Sea, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Google Translation
dit is een heel oud review! hotel is overgenomen door nieuwe eigenaars.
en is er 100% op vooruit gegaan.
dus haal deze a.u.b weg of plaats hem van onderen en de nieuwere van boven!!

dank u
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vlissingen hotels
0.3 mi away
Amadore Hotel Restaurant Arion
0.0 mi away
Hotel De Ruyter
Hotel De Ruyter
#8 of 12 in Vlissingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Piccard
Hotel Restaurant Piccard
#2 of 12 in Vlissingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Truida
Hotel Truida
#6 of 12 in Vlissingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Solskin
Hotel Restaurant Solskin
#7 of 12 in Vlissingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Beach Hotel Westduin Vlissingen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bed By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bed By the Sea

Property: Hotel Bed By the Sea
Address: Spuistraat 59, 4381 HP Vlissingen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Zeeland Province > Vlissingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Vlissingen
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bed By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Bed By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing