We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconvenient and overpriced for business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Beach Hotel Westduin Vlissingen
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Vlissingen
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Inconvenient and overpriced for business trip”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Reception desk staff and staff throughout the hotel were friendly but borderline patronising and somewhat unhelpful. I was made to feel like I imposed on their time.
Location is close near the beach but my company's travel agency booked it for my business trip to Vlissingen, yet it's miles away from the centre and therefore highly inconvenient.
Room was fine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    218
    76
    18
    8
See reviews for
77
249
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temse, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hotel has a perfect location, right at the dunes, closer to the beach you can't get.
The staff is very friendly but absolutely not professional or discreet. The whole restaurant hears what they have to say to eachother or to other clients. The menu looks promising, but the way it is prepared is very bad. A freshly caught sole is served brown (baked ours earlier and reheated), such a waste! Gordon Ramsey should go there! Also, the rooms are not insulated. When your neighbour uses his bathroom, you are awake. When people have drinks at the bar, you stay awake.
On the other hand, a nice breakfast buffet is served.
Wouldn't go back there though!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IlseTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The service is just superb, the staff enjoy their job and show it ! they are just great.

Pros-

Nice location, 2 min (over dune) to Sea- but no sea view.
Nice hotel _ 4 * facility at best.
free reliable and fast internet.
quite clean- but not perfect.
good shower

Cons

Tiny rooms and toilets (which are separate from shower)
comfortable, but too narrow beds.

swimming pool is only for kids

Room Tip: Ground floor, the rooms are noticeably larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Givemeaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We travelled as a family of four with 2 young children.
Although the hotel is not a very attractive building, its location is perfect beside a beautiful beach with nice beach cafes. The service was good and our family room was a perfect size with a great bathroom including jacuzzi bath and extras like bathrobes and a Nespresso.
The only down side was the extra charge for placing a child's cot, Eur 16.00 which is a lot.
The swimming pool is small and the sauna area is a little bit dated but our children still enjoyed the swimming.
The car park had 2 reserved spaces where we could charge our car (hybrid) for free which was great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchcatBreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel is quietly located behind the dunes at about 50 m from the sea. Cities Middelburg and Vlissingen are at ~ 15 and 8 minutes drive respectively. The hotel is fairly large fro the region and has wellness activities and swimming pools as well as conference areas. Suitable for families, elderly and business people. The hotel is fairly clean, although a bit tired. Staff is friendly and efficient. Rooms are medium-sized at fine quality. WIFI is fast and free. Breakfast is decent and there are restaurants for lunch and dinner.
I would classify this more as a 3 than a 4 star hotel. Good, but but nothing too special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arne68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reus, Catalonia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I was there for 10 days on a business trip. On the positive side, I can say that first is the location, close to a beautiful beach with a bar-restaurant on it to enjoy the sunset; the meeting rooms there are many and well set for a variety of needs; the rooms are comfortable, and wi-fi works very well. On the negative, the restaurant service is incredibly slow, and the buffet is amongst the most basics I've ever seen, not much to choose; the access to the beach is over a hill (surprising for a mediterranean) and so even being so close you don't see it; I hate the toilets separated from the bathroom with no hand-wash basin, this is a french old style, and I had one of those, though I heard that other colleagues had a one-piece bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conrad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I booked a one night 'last-minute' on the hotel website, for a couple of days cycling on my own bike (hotel hire rates are expensive).

I was in a well-appointed 'new' room, but I do not know whether it was 'comfort' or 'de-luxe'. The bed was ok, TV choice very good (including BBC1 and BBC2), free wi-fi worked well, plus a Nespresso machine with three capsules. There were no toileteries, just liquid soap dispensers. The bathroom had two sinks, separate bath and shower, and a separate toilet (where the attempts to minimise the use of water and toilet paper just resulted in more use). The lighting was also economical. The door to the room is liable to bang, and I left it unlocked once, because you still have to close it with a key. On the ground floor, there is plenty public space.

For my fixed-menu dinner, I had to eat at 18:00 or 19:00. For the buffet breakfast, at 8:00 there was no queue. The choice is laid out in a rather clinical fashion, but the coffee was good. I did not accept the invitation to save the planet by taking my coffee in a paper cup.

All staff are friendly, but their demeanour rather makes you feel you are at a conference rather than on holiday.

My 'deal' was to get a room allocated on arrival, which meant I was upgraded to a good double room which would otherwise have been empty. So I was happy with the price I paid. I also got an early check-in (without asking). So this is another hotel chain which gives upgrades and early check-ins to customers who do not have a loyalty card, rather than those who do (Accor in my case), in the hope of signing them up.
On return, I received a questionnaire and comment form, although I had indicated 'no marketing'. The hotel protests its social responsibility, but it does not seem to be aware of the laws on data privacy. Presumbly the idea is to stop guests using Trip Advisor. In Golden Tulip reviews, you are not allowed to mention hotel staff, nor other hotel chains !

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Felix0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vlissingen
4.4 mi away
Fletcher Zuiderduin Beachhotel
17.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ter Duin
Grand Hotel Ter Duin
#1 of 5 in Burgh-Haamstede
1,345 reviews
2.0 mi away
Amadore Hotel Restaurant Arion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Middelburg
1.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Piccard
Hotel Restaurant Piccard
#2 of 12 in Vlissingen
161 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Zoutelande
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Beach Hotel Westduin Vlissingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Beach Hotel Westduin Vlissingen

Property: Golden Tulip Beach Hotel Westduin Vlissingen
Address: Westduin 1, 4371 PE Vlissingen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Zeeland Province > Vlissingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vlissingen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vlissingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Beach Hotel Westduin Vlissingen 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Beach Hotel Westduin Vlissingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Vlissingen
Vlissingen Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing