We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but for the rugged”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bridges House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Delft
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The bridges hotel is very charming-- located on a picturesque canal and near the market square. It is also well appointed in delft blue. The rate included a substantial breakfast. The caveat is where you are placed. We rented 31 and 32 which are on top of three flights of stairs that get progressively step. The last flight was so steep I could barely drag up my suitcase. My case wasn't that big and I consider myself reasonably fit. So be careful with your room selection as there is no elevator. The rooms themselves were clean win nice views of the church. They were clean and had good amenities. It didn't appear the wifi sent a signal up to the third floor and the tv was very basic. But then again you aren't in delft to be connected! The hotel closes at night so you need a key to access the guest door. For the rate, it was good value.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank CaraMHutchins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed in apartment 38C, which is a studio apartment with an open loft bedroom. It appears that this building was once apartments and is now converted into 3 individual hotel rooms (A, B, and C). It felt as though were actually renting an apartment rather than living in a hotel room.
These units are located on Kroonmarkt (street), a short walk from the main hotel located on Oude Delft (street).
Delft is a quaint little town. This Hotel is steps away from the Oude Kirk, Neuwe Kirk, City Hall and Markt plaza, shops restaurants, canals etc..
Bathroom amenities include two small bottles each of shampoo, lotion, and body wash and two small bars of soap. There is also a wall blow dryer see picture.
There were plenty of bath towels, hand towels, and extra toilet paper.
Americans must be sure to bring a European adapter and voltage regulator for appliances such as hair straighteners or hair curlers unless those appliances are dual voltage. (120/240) Despite using the voltage regulator my personal blow dryer did not work.
The kitchen included all amenities including refrigerator, stove, dishwasher, dinnerware and glasses, utensils cooking utensils, and pots and pans.
There are two supermarkets nearby to do shopping so you can cook your own meals. The supermarkets close early so be aware of shop hours.
The "king" size bed is actually 2 twin beds pushed together with 2 twin down comforters.
Apartment also comes with an iron and ironing board, a television and a dining room table that seats four, and a small patio with 2 chairs and a table.
Apartment is non-smoking only.

Now for some of the negatives:
It seemed as though permanent residents live above this apartment. They have young children who cry a lot (day and night) and run all over their apartment. You can hear their pounding footsteps as they run throughout their unit. We love children. We have children. We have lived in apartments long ago, so we are not intolerant of neighbor noise, but the crying and noise was unbearable, especially in the middle of the night when the toddler cried for hours. We actually felt sorry for the babe, because he cried so much.

This unit is VERY warm- we opened the patio door often (but closed it when the neighbor’s children were too loud.)
The paint was not finished in the corners and there were large gashes in the wall above the bed. Unit needs a few quick touch ups.
Patio door sticks. It is hard to open

Overall, I would stay here again, but I would inquire about neighbor children first.

Room Tip: Ask about neighboring rooms / apartments with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Demaris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This little hotel is on a canal. Our rooms overlooked the canal and were very nicely decorated and comfortable. The stairs up to our 1st floor rooms are quite steep, but the luggage was handled easily by the staff. The service was great and very nice. This hotel is in the heart of this charming little city. We walked about town and enjoyed the charm. The breakfast was lovely and having eggs and bacon cooked to order is a treat.

Our only complaint has little to do with the hotel itself. There was an rock concert on the canal that was very close to our hotel. They stopped playing at 11 PM, but the people hung out til very late.

Still overall a wonderful and charming place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovesweims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

we stayed here for one night and it's a very nice hotel. Positives:
-location (in centre of city)
-good spacey clean rooms (we had suite on top floor nr 30)
-good breakfast, lots of choice and fresh baked eggs.
-friendly staff.

Less positives:
-bit warm indeed (on top floor), but could open windows.
-quality of TV was bit poor, notices staff about it and was already on to do list.
-if you open top windows you can smell Greek restaurant nearby (grill pipe is close by).

Bit absolutely a good hotel to recommend!

Room Tip: top rooms were bit warm (room 30, 31 and 32 I think).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjors80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Lovely place to stay. Sits on the bank of a canal within walking distance to train station and all the main attractions of Delft. Staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. Went out of their way to make your stay comfortable. Our room was clean and neat and our bed was really comfy! We had a back room which was very quiet! Breakfast was great, besides the usual continental foods we had fresh made scrambled eggs and bacon. Would highly recommend Bridges Hotel for an enjoyable stay. Word of caution, the steps leading to the rooms are very narrow so use handrails!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Have stayed in both the main hotel and one of the apartments (which are just around the corner over one of the many parallel canals). Both were clean and well appointed for the price. Staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is well positioned for access being only a few minutes walk from the train station.

Breakfast is a straightforward pastries, croissants and eggs affair but it is adeqaute - after all there are so many places to try in Delft you need to save some room!

I will be returning next time I am here on business.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank himupstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Everything about the hotel is inviting, from the overstuffed sofas by the reception to the dark blue carpeting. We stayed here two nights in a room on the top floor. It was spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was limited, but the staff will prepare fresh eggs to order. The staff was very helpful and went the extra step to make our stay enjoyable. The location is also near to the train, parking garage and city center. Our only complaint: the bed was too comfy. =)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kasclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Delft hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Museumhotels Delft
0.9 mi away
WestCord Hotel Delft
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
#6 of 15 in Delft
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Canal Delft Station
0.6 mi away
Casa Julia
Casa Julia
#8 of 15 in Delft
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridges House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridges House Hotel

Address: Oude Delft 74, 2611 CD Delft, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Delft
#5 Romantic Hotel in Delft
Price Range: £50 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridges House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bridges House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridges Hotel Delft

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing