We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel de Plataan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Plataan
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Delft
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
USA, Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not your typical boutique hotel”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We got into Delft in the pouring rain after a two hour delay on the train due to a man throwing himself under our train. "Welcome to Delft" the policeman said who was helping us climb down from the train to a waiting bus that would take us the rest of the way. We got to TI and she made us a reservation at the hotel. We found it easily in a pleasant courtyard near a canal. The lobby area which doubles as lounge and breakfast room was beautifully appointed with an eclectic mix of artifacts. The music reflected the room perfectly. The lift held the Mrs. and our suitcases and I met them upstairs. Halls and rooms are painted with nudes and the whole place is pretty funky. Loved the room (ask for the maple leaf room, other reviews havent liked the rooms but this one was fine) Free WiFi is always appreciated. The bathroom is behind a transparent wall decorated with leaves, difficult to explain, but you cant be shy (see photo). Morning desk clerk wasnt warm and fuzzy but efficient. Breakfast is free, typical and good. Liked that you could cook your own egg.
So, we will return, loved the ambiance and appreciated the cleanliness.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idontwannagohome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    238
    53
    17
    5
See reviews for
74
272
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The Hotel De Plataan is certainly 1 of the the most unique hotels around the world. All the rooms have different decor themes. In my hotel room,the headboard of my bed is in the shape of a giant maple leaf & the wall is adorned with painting of the countryside with a fountain.Even the corridors are painted with sensually painted naked men & women. The wall murals are all handpainted by a talented local artist! The lift is old fashioned & is a vintage item. YOu open & close the door of the lift yourself!
I highly recommend this hotel. It is a destination in itself.Siewhua, singapore

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taysiewhua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The website contains many nice pictures but unless you want to pay extra (35 euro !) the room you get is very basis... even youth hostel like plain room with beds that move up at both ends but when sleeping (= flat) they are quite uncomfortable and you wake up with a sore back.
Breakfast is good but not spectacular or anything surprising.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FleKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plataan, Manager at Hotel de Plataan, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Dear Sir, Madam,

We at Hotel de Plataan would like to respond to your review by saying that we do offfer standard rooms and theme rooms. Because of the fact that theme rooms are equipped with luxury products like among others a jaccuzzi and a sunshower we charge extra costs of € 35.- during the week and € 15.- on Sunday. This does not mean that the standard rooms we have are poorly equipped, in this we respectfully disagree with your opinion. All our standardrooms are decorated with a wall painting of a Ducht artist and are equipped with beds that are adjustable in hight, have a flatscreen tv, luxury bathrooms and a blowdryer in every room.

We are a bit disappointed that you have not come to us to complain, we could have helped you in your room choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Well, at first we must confess that we stayed there just one night but we changed two rooms, because in the first one the light in the bathroom was not working: and indeed this room was really spartan and quite depressing.
The second one, though, was very nice and charming in its semplicity. We found that the idea to divide the bathroom from the bedroom with just a plexiglas wall, decorated with leaves, is ingenious and daring. The effect is very nice (if you are travelling in a well-sailed couple).
The theme rooms are very attractive, but we did not see them.
It il clean, the staff is extremely nice and helpful, the location is superb. Last, but not least, there's a free parking space and a welcome drink.
The hotel as a whole has a very relaxing and comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarloDaseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I have traveled extensively in Europe and I rarely give a negative review....but, this place was simply not acceptable. Squeeze me into a teeny tiny hotel room and I would be much happier. Here goes and I have added several photos.
I stayed here as part of a Rick Steves tour (which are FABULOUS) and this hotel is recommended by RS in his Netherlands book. I have the highest regard for RS as a European travel expert, but he made a wrong decision about the Hotel de Plataan. Let me count the ways:
1) My room had a western exposure and it is light in the Netherlands during the summer until 10 PM. When I opened the door, although it was about 65 degrees outside, the room was stifling. When I went to open the windows, the room was located directly over an apartment complex with an outdoor courtyard. When I opened the windows, the noise was quite loud as the occupants were enjoying their summer evening.
2) I left the window open while we went out to dinner. When I returned, my room was engulfed with marijuana smoke. Filled with it! Fortunately, the room had an overhead fan, but my clothes reeked of weed.
3) The bathroom reminded me of a bad hotel I once stayed at in Tijuana. The shower does not have an enclosed divider (see photo). Nor are you provided a bathmat. There is a step down from the toilet to the shower with the exact same tile, so it is almost impossible to see the step (major safety hazard).
4) The sink is outside the bathroom (in the room) without any space to store items.
5) The single plug I could find is ACROSS the room from the bathroom area (see photo). Fortunately, the closet had a mirror. The whole layout of the room is youth hostel chic.
6) Six of us went out to dinner and we had an informal contest as to who had the creepiest room. The winner was the couple who did not have a wall around their toilet, but rather plexiglass embossed with leaves. So, nothing, (not even bowel movements) are left to the imagination of your room partner.
7) I saw a brochure in the room that quoted a charge of 140 Euro. You would be nuts to pay this kind of rate. The rooms are large and clean, but this hotel definitely does not warrant a charge of over $200.
8) They folded up wet towels I had left on the floor and put them back on my bed.
9) I am giving the hotel a "2" instead of a "1" based on the fact that they had scrambled eggs for breakfast and the room was actually quiet (I was worried about the noise from the apartment). Come on, there has to be something better than this in Delft for a decent price.

Room Tip: stay away from the west side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JHROrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plataan, Manager at Hotel de Plataan, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear JHR Orange, with this message we at Hotel de Plataan would like to respond to your review. In your review you speak very bad of our hotel, that in our eyes isn't alway's true or our fault. We have very good relations with Rick Steves and alway's get very positive reviews about our hotel. In your fitst point you wrote that the room that was assigned to you was very hot on the day that you arrived. We do close the windows in case of rain, even on a sunny day. I its still Holland we live in. :-) Your room was indeed near a appartment complex next door, but we have an agreement with our neighours to keep the gardens neat. As you can see in your picutes the gardens and the balcony's were very neat and full of flowers. In your second point you wrote that your room smelt like weed when you got back from your diner. We are very against smoking in our hotel, and even moren against smoking drugs. The guests who had smoked weed this night have received a fine for this. But as you can understand this is not our fault. The room that was assigned tou you was one of the few rooms that that is not reoganized yet. the rooms with the see through wall do. It was very unpleasent for us to read that you have a contest on who has the worst room. If you had spoken to our reception we would have given you an other room. In the end of your review you wrote that we supposedly folded the wet towel from the floor and put them back on your bed. As the person wo have cleaned your room myself i can tell you that this is simply not true.
We are very disappointed that you have not spoken to us about these complaints but putting them on tripadvisor. We could have helped you to your wishes is you had come to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstone, Renfewshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This hotel is very special in its design. A perfect antidote to the corporate mundanity that leaves you feeling as though you could be in any city in the world. Each room in the Hotel de Plataan is individual and quite quirky. For example the exterior of the en-suite shower/toilet was designed like a tree with the trunk in the room and the glass screen seperating the bedroom from en-suite covered in autumn leaves. The entire wall opposite the bed had a mural depicting a kind of romantacised Adam & Eve. Anywhere else this would be quite tacky. In this hotel it works. The lounge/breakfast room had an old style, classic Dutch relaxed feel about it. Nothing fancy just wall to wall character. Also perfectly situated close to the attractions but in a quiet street with good restaurants.

Room Tip: Take a look at the rooms on line and ask for the one you like best. Each is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelalot010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This hotel is in ideal location for visiting Delft being 5 minutes walk from town centre and Market Sq, it is also 20 minutes walk from train station so no need for taxi. If you have a car there is private secure parking at rear. We found the hotel perfect for our needs. Room was good size with comfortable beds. Bathroom was fine with good strong shower. Breakfast was also fine.
We found the staff both pleasant and very helpful. Would certainly stay here again.

NBJC

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rover1Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Delft hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Museumhotels Delft
0.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
#6 of 15 in Delft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Koophandel
Hotel De Koophandel
#8 of 15 in Delft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.0 mi away
WestCord Hotel Delft
WestCord Hotel Delft
#2 of 15 in Delft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Johannes Vermeer
Hotel Johannes Vermeer
#10 of 15 in Delft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Plataan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Plataan

Property: Hotel de Plataan
Address: Doelenplein 10, 2611 BP Delft, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Delft
#5 Business Hotel in Delft
#6 Romantic Hotel in Delft
#7 Family Hotel in Delft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Plataan 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Plataan is a very friendly and stylish 3*hotel, with a unique character. The hotel is situated in the historical centre of Delft, with the marketplace, museums and other curiosities all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel de Plataan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Plataan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing