We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fun and Quirky Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Plataan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de Plataan
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Delft
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Fun and Quirky Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel with quirky themed decor in the rooms, which made our 2-day stay truly memorable. Our room (207- Salix Alba) had a great shower, electric adjustable beds and a very useful ceiling fan. There were a variety of floor and wall coverings, even including a woolen fabric to the wall to the next room, so there was no problem with noise. Although the hotel doesn't have its own restaurant, there are numerous restaurants within a few minutes walk of the hotel. However, breakfast was included in the price and we all enjoyed this.
The hotel has a central location in this historic city. We loved strolling around this compact city without the crowds and noise in Amsterdam. Much safer/easier to try cycling here than Amsterdam, although availability can be a challenge. A great base for exploring areas outside Amsterdam. We traveled by train and found that we could get on and off numerous times on the same single tickets.
Our only niggle was the lack of a soap dispenser above the basin in the toilet - so nothing major.

Room Tip: With the numerous themes, it is difficult to make general recommendations, however you may want to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_4Ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    216
    51
    16
    4
See reviews for
65
255
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
485 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel has a great downstairs bar with nice drinks and food. The rooms was large, but a bit odd in terms of see through shower/bathroom walls, blue mood lights, and interesting, hand painted walls with themed tree/plant rooms. The staff were pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed the stay and appreciated the unique features and would definitely recommend to others for an interesting and nice vacation stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rustycat83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Our young girls really loved this place -loved all the murals and themed room. Cosy bunk bed for them (though top bunk scarily high for my 6 year old), comfy bed for us. The shower was great. Lovely breakfast included, friendly staff. We had drinks out in the front seating area and enjoyed some music playing in the bar over the road on the sunday afternoon. We had a great stay and really enjoyed Delft, we loved staying out in the main square till dusk where the kids could run around and burn of lots of energy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach4o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here as part of a Rick Steves tour. We were in the Garden of Eden room. This was one of the oddest rooms I have ever stayed in. Round bed, whirlpool tub, stand up tanning bed (in the shower), murals on the walls, wire Adam and Eve statues.

The bed spread and drapes had cigarette burns in them. Carpet in the room was very old. The shower leaked water all over the bathroom. Some people may like this sort of room, I just found it tacky.

I do give this hotel credit for trying to be different.

Staff was very nice. Location is good. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Avoid the Garden of Eden room. Mangrove room has a fake Python draped around the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
257 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed here 3 nights to be close to everything in this quaint little town. Once you get past the craZy room theme everything was fine except the mattress on both beds in the python room were sagging and uncomfortable. Towels and shower was great. Lots of room. Had a ceiling fan. The breakfast was delicious and had gluten free bread if you let them know ahead. Cheeses, yogurt, hard boiled eggs and delicious coffee. Only 15 minute walk to the markt and churches. Lots of great places to eat and they have a outdoor patio for a drink. Young college girls were great service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ackart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
323 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

10 minutes from the center of Delft and equiped with a free parking, the hotel is nice (in a old house) and full of style (rooms, open space...).
The hotel is equiped with a bar and the staff is friendly and efficient. The rooms are quite small but well equiped.
The restaurants are located at 5 minutes from the hotel. The place is quite during the night and the pirce is good for this location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noordeloos, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
428 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

The "Plataan" is as a hotel should be. It has the comfort and quite a bit of a modern business hotel, PLUS that it has wonderfully incorporated environment-friendliness in it's management by using the maple leaf as a theme throughout the hotel. While the "standard" rooms already are great, with comfortable beds, a good shower andd connection to a rapid internet site, you may select, for a little extra, a special room with features that are clearly explained in the lobby. The friendly staff will be happy to guide you through. You may sit on the terrace in the maple leaf's shadow, and enjoy one of the many beers that are on draught. The location is excellent - the hotel is located in the midddle of the historical center, and the major touristic sites are within walking distance.

Room Tip: For a little extra, you may choose an upgraded room with a special theme. The rooms at the 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWG_080353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Delft hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Museumhotels Delft
0.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
#6 of 15 in Delft
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Koophandel
Hotel De Koophandel
#8 of 15 in Delft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.0 mi away
WestCord Hotel Delft
WestCord Hotel Delft
#2 of 15 in Delft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Johannes Vermeer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Plataan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Plataan

Property: Hotel de Plataan
Address: Doelenplein 10, 2611 BP Delft, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Delft
#6 Romantic Hotel in Delft
#7 Family Hotel in Delft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Plataan 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Plataan is a very friendly and stylish 3*hotel, with a unique character. The hotel is situated in the historical centre of Delft, with the marketplace, museums and other curiosities all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de Plataan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Plataan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing