We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising seasonal menu but slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pelican

Pelican
Ranked #76 of 222 Restaurants in Delft
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Italian, Dutch, Bar, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Surprising seasonal menu but slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

It is always a surprise to go out to eat at the Pelican. They change their menu every season and it is always a joy to go and find out what is served. While the quality of the food is good, the service often is lackluster. On a bad day it can take up to 20 minutes for your first drinks to be served out. While you often have to wait for your food, it is worth it most of the time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dracorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    22
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Delft”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This great little place looks like a bar but is in fact an Italian restaurant. Not a pizzeria, but a restaurant. Everything is home made and delicious. I had bistecca rossini whick was to die for with perfect fries. They were happy to find alternatives for me without gluten.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank susanneanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner in Delft”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

This is one of the few restaurants that my wife and I will go back to time and time again as the Pelican has a wonderful ambience and delicious food for good value.

The meze platter is worth a try to share between two to three people and is a great start to the meal. For the rest, the meat and fish options are delicious.

If wanting to eat later in the evening then you may need to book in advance as it fills up rather quickly after 19.30 pm.

NOTE: Pelican also has a sister restaurant in Delft, Rossio, however we have been very disappointed with it and find that the Pelican has a much more to offer.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SeanSA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent pasta and amazing beef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was the most fun we had in Delft. Lots os atmosphere, nice waiter, and really good food after a long day on our feet.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Satchel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The atmosphere is nice. However, we arrived very early, just after opening, on a rainy day. We were cold but the place itself was qutie cold itself. It eventually become warmer, but still.

They had some special beers on draft and the wine was ok. But the food was very good, it was not the standard stuff you would expect but everything had a creative touch. The big platter for 2 persons was very nice to start with, with fresh foods, I can surely recommend this.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pelican also viewed

Delft, South Holland Province
Delft, South Holland Province
 
Delft, South Holland Province
Delft, South Holland Province
 

Been to Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing