We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have you ever slept in a gypsy caravan?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de Emauspoort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Delft
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2010

I have! My friend and I stayed in one of the two gypsy caravans (Pipo the Clown) at Hotel de Emauspoort for two nights in early March. At first we were looking into staying in the Hague but found the options to be more expensive and quite bland (lots of chain hotels obviously catering to the business traveler). Only a quick, cheap train ride (I think it was EUR 6 roundtrip) further to Delft was well worth it. The caravans were a great way to combine a unique travel attraction with our necessary accommodations. The experience was further improved with the modern comforts of free wifi in the lobby/lounge and a great breakfast with hot and cold options to suit every taste. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable and gave us a great dinner recommendation to a nearby local bistro (not like those hotels that send you to the major tourist rip-off that they have a "relationship" with). We were comfortable with the two space heaters provided but I'd hesitate to stay in the caravans in the dead of winter (the bathroom was quite a bit colder than the main room). Also, be advised that anyone over 5'7" will have to duck to get in and out of the bathroom and main caravan door and someone over 6' could easily feel too big for the space. We found the hotel to be easily walkable from the train station (wheeling a carry-on size suitcase) and centrally located for the main tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2010

I chose this hotel based on two criteria: the Tripadvisor reviews and the price.
the reviews were all favourable so I assumed I can't go wrong and so it was.
As for the price although it wasn't cheap (99 EUR per night for the room breakfast included) it wasn't the most expensive one either on the 3-4 hotels in Delft that I had previously contacted.
So I stayed for 3 nights and everything was as expected: nice, quiet and spotlessly clean rooms, friendly and knowledgeable service at the front desk and located close to everything (restaurants, shops, railway station).
And very quiet at night. I had a room in the attic and the view was maybe not the most pictoresque (rooftops and backsides of buildings) but this made the room very quiet
The only potential minus: the breakfast room had no windows so I guess if you are in for a romantic getaway maybe you won't spend a lot of time eating your breakfast which is delicious by the way.
If I travel again to the Netherlands I will seriously consider this hotel. And Delft is a great location as well wherefrom you can basically visit the entire country (Amsterdam, The Hague, Rotterdam).

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend who lives just a few doors down in Delft. We were not disappointed. The location is second to none, the service friendly and the rooms very pleasant.
It's not a cheap hotel, at 99 euros for the room per night, but certainly not overpriced.
Highly recommended for either work or leisure.
Next time, I'd make more effort to get one of the gypsy caravans in the back yard, which you can also stay in, but apparently they're booked up quite a long time in advance.
Don't miss the pub on the corner, which serves 120 types of Belgian beer, but be sure to check the alcohol percentage, or you'll be staggering the few steps back to your room.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Nice little hotel, centrally located in Delft. It's about 10-15 minutes walk from the train station.

The room I got was one of the attic rooms which was spacious and clean, breakfast was exceptional (especially by Dutch standards) with fresh bread, fruit, meat cheese and a cooked option every day.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zootalures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

This is a really lovely small hotel. Its location is simply perfect, a stones throw from the main square – you could not hope to be more central. Delft is also such a wonderful place, a sort of mini Amsterdam. We reached it by train from Schipol. Dutch trains are fast, regular, clean and cheap. If you have bags, best get a taxi from the railway station (around 10 euros) – it’s about 10/15 minutes walk if you prefer. It’s also a really good location to visit other towns in the area (we went to Leiden during our short break) but you can easily spend a couple of (lazy) days in Delft. Do the canal tour and the town walk (arranged through tourist information), plus the Vemeer centre which is great for art lovers. Really good market on Saturdays which is huge. Huge number of great places to eat, to suit all tastes. Busy during the day, quiet during the evening. You will not meet more friendly people anywhere than here. Really proud of their town.

We couldn’t fault the hotel. We had an apartment (although had only booked a double room). The bedroom was spacious with a good bathroom and shower The lounge was ok, but the furniture was not too comfortable and the t.v. had limited English speaking channels (CNN and BBC1). But hey! You don’t go to Delft to watch the t.v. We also had good kitchen facilities – but the hotel has numerous restaurants within 5 or 10 minutes walk (loved the Mediterranean tapas about 5 minutes right from the hotel – not expensive) so you don’t really need these either. There is a nice lounge which also has free internet access. A good selection of guide books to peruse and there are also some English books left by previous guests. All in all, extremely comfortable.
The breakfasts were really good and served in a very relaxed atmosphere. All incredibly fresh – especially the bread and croissants. Real fresh orange juice. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
What are the minus’s. They only have three car parking spaces – otherwise it’s at a nearby car park (5 minutes) walk – with reduced rates through the hotel. It’s so central that the church bells (fantastic for the first few hours, then a bit trying!!) are a bit too close.

Nice rooms, exceptionally clean, perfect location, lovely people. Good prices. Not sure we would describe it as luxurious, rather than extremely comfortable and friendly but a great place. We are going back soon. All the previous reviews are spot on. Go to Delft and go to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank severus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Nice big rooms, peaceful location but still close to the market place.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnuH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Hotel de Emauspoort for one night while in Delft. It was a very nice hotel in the middle of the historic center of Delft. Our room overlooked the canal and a side street and included a loft. Noise was not a problem. Breakfast the next morning was excellent as well. We would definitely return to this hotel and Delft. It is a beautiful town in which to relax and take life at a slower, more peaceful pace.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boilers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Delft hotels
0.8 mi away
WestCord Hotel Delft
0.3 mi away
Best Western Museumhotels Delft
0.3 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Plataan
Hotel de Plataan
#4 of 15 in Delft
547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel De Koophandel
Hotel De Koophandel
#7 of 15 in Delft
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
#6 of 15 in Delft
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Emauspoort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Emauspoort

Address: Vrouwenregt 9, 2611 KK Delft, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Delft
#1 Best Value Hotel in Delft
#1 Family Hotel in Delft
#2 Business Hotel in Delft
Price Range: £92 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Emauspoort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy hotel in the historic centre of Delft. 24 hotel rooms and 2 romantic Gypsy Caravans in the court-yard. Comfortable parking in the Marktparking located at 400 metres from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de Emauspoort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel De Emauspoort
De Emauspoort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing