We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jokers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Grand Canal Delft Station
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Delft
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Just cancelled my hotel booking at 9pm the night before I was due to check in due to overbooking, despite the fact that I booked 3 weeks ago. No idea what the hotel is like but this seems incredibly unprofessional.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
3  Thank plyusrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2011

You’d expect a certain standard from a room classified as Junior Suite. Not in this hotel though! The carpet was quite dirty, there was water damage on the walls and some of the furniture were quite dusty. Matrass was worn out, lamps were broken. This all makes you wonder how the lower standard rooms look like! Noises from other rooms and street were very audible, guests next door have had a vicious fight and there was no staff to solve this issue. Heating system didn’t work, we couldn’t sleep at all with the radiators making horrible noises throughout the night! There was no responsible person next morning to complain to, receptionist simply refused to call the owner. A very poor breakfast (cereal, no bread!) for €18 per person was a joke! This hotel was a really bad choice, shame really and waste of money!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anji_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

I have stayed in lots of hotels in delft, but this is definately the worst. Breakfast is charged for on the bill regardless. Monies quoted for room rate is rounded up in their favour on the bill. If Luxury room means peeling wallpaper, damp patches, grubby worn out carpets, a dirty coffee machine with no coffee, grey, worn out towels. The poor receptionist sorted out mistakes on bill whilst serving breakfast . Apparantly, the owners run a restaurant down the road, if they cannot keep the rooms clean, I am hardly likely to eat there, am I. Not a good advert for Delft at all.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennym018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

The location of this hotel is absolutely wonderful, situated as it is in a splendid old building beside a canal and bridge in the heart of old Delft. The station and the main square are both only a couple of minutes walk away, and street parking is free up to 10am. (Be careful parking beside the canal, though!)
The hotel itself is run in a somewhat bizzare fashion, with no reception staff in the evenings, and only one person at the self-service breakfast in the morning. You arrive in the evening and ring the bell, whereupon a voice on the intercom greets you and unlocks the front door. At the (unmanned) reception desk, you find a note and your room key, and from then on you are pretty much on your own.
However, considering its location, and the atmosphere of the area, the price of a room here is very reasonable, although it would be more reassuring if there were actually at least one member of staff available in the evening in case any problem should arise.
All in all, though, good value, and certainly not deserving of some of the scathing reviews posted here. If it's luxury you want, then pay double and stay in some characterless modern square box in the outskirts. If it's genuine old Delft atmosphere at a reasonable price you would prefer, then this hotel fits the bill.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfaetrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

I have been in Delft , Netherlands for over 1.5 years and have been staying in various hotels. Have stayed most of the time with Grand Hotel It is the first hotel you see after crossing over from Delft station passing by the UNESCO student university. It has a very big door which sqeaks a lot when you open it but inside it is nicely done. The reception area is nicely done ine two tier. Lower tier is the resturant which is thrown open to public during day time for some snacks, dinner and the upper tier is where they have nicely placed tables, chess and caram boards...it has 3 floors with nice and big rooms. It doesnot serve warm breakfast and is managed by a family. It also has a resturant and hotel at the old church sqaure. They are two brothers. Also they have hotel apartments all over the area for long and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Adventurer_Aabir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2008

I stayed here with some friends , if i had readed this reviews but my stay was realy nice i liked it that is was a small hotel due my stay there was somebody at the reception till 20:30 in the evening after that time i could come in with a key from the front door, for dinner i reccomend to go on a nice square called beestemarkt reallt nice bars also

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Wer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

This is surely the worst hotel in the Netherlands. Nobody at the reception, no lights in windows, the outdoor locked and no doorbell. After travelling the whole day, I arrived there in the evening and got in because another guest happened to come at the same time. In the dark lobby I found a message with my name that said that I should go to my room - but no key nor explanation as to how I can find it! Well, that room I never found, and all roooms were locked. I collided with some piece of furniture in the dark and hurt my leg. Nobody to help either. Got very angry and broke some things (which I paid for the next day). Then left for a while to the nearby pub, hoping that someone from the staff will show up meanwhile. When I came back, they had indeed a couple of none-too-helpful, ignorant Dutch ladies attending the reception, but they did not show any willingness to apologize or explain the reasons for this situation. This is a true story and should be taken as a warning: book another hotel in Delft.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TrondheimTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Delft hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Museumhotels Delft
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
#6 of 15 in Delft
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bridges House Hotel
Bridges House Hotel
#12 of 15 in Delft
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Campanile Delft
Campanile Delft
#11 of 15 in Delft
183 reviews
0.9 mi away
WestCord Hotel Delft
0.2 mi away
Hotel Johannes Vermeer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Canal Delft Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Canal Delft Station

Address: Breestraat 1, 2611 CB Delft, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Delft
Price Range: £46 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Canal Delft Station 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Canal is a 3* family hotel located in the center of Delft. The hotel is situated on one of the oldest canals of Delft and is housed in a monumental canal house. Hotel Grand Canal features 18 charming rooms all of them overlooking the canal. The convenient location of the hotel makes it easy to explore the city, all the main places of interest are all at walking distance from the hotel. Before exploring this historic city you can enjoy an extensive breakfast in the breakfast room which is provided with all sorts of treats. The hotel and the surrounding area is also easily accessible by public transport or by car. We hope with our hospitality that your will have a memorably stay and experience Delft at its best. We hope thanks to our hospitality you will have a nice stay and that you experience Delft at its best! We hope to meet you in future ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand Canal Delft Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Compagnons Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing