We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why did I not review before today?”
Review of Villa Augustus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Augustus
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I have visited Villa Augustus twice now, in October 2011 and again in November 2012, and while looking for somewhere special to eat with family on our next trip May 2013 I came across the reviews for this restaurant.
Both previous dinners have been superb, beautiful setting friendly helpful staff ( I do not speak Dutch) and fantastic food. Shall look no further for this next visit to Dordrecht!

Room Tip: Go and have a superb meal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mydollsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

I gave stayed here many times, though this was my first visit for a while.The rooms in the water tower are always interesting, though I don't like the ones where you have to go down some stairs to the bathroom.

Comfortable bed, kettle, free wifi,

Set in its own gardens which provide produce for its very good (and popular) restaurant - reservation of table advised - in the summer it's a quiet, sunny location.

Prices are high, I feel, and breakfast is expensive (I buy a croissant from the on-site bakery the night before and save about €20), but I keep coming back!

20 minute walk from the station or a bus ride/€9 taxi ride.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuddyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We loved this hotel, but be prepared for a room out of the ordinary. Most of the rooms are in a converted 19th century water-tower, with riveted steel floors and semi circular shapes. Great views from the upper floors, and quiet with good Internet service throughout the property. Best place to stay in the area with a fantastic restaurant.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JimWils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed at the Villa Augustus for 3 nights during early February this year for my birthday, all the staff (and we mean all the staff) were very helpfull, friendly and could not do enough, the restaurant menu was outstanding and very good quality.
Their markt shop was a great place to browse and to buy.
Breakfast was good and wholesome.
We plan to revisit very soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 which overlooked the restaurant, ideal for lovely sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fatuscatusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I have stayed here a couple of times, both times in Garden Rooms. The rooms are eco-friendly and very comfortable.

The bathroom is magnificent with a huge wetroom area and a couple of washbasins, the bed is huge and very comfortable. I also appreciated the abundance of power points for all my phone and computer chargers.

The staff are very friendly and approachable and the restaurant on the other side of the garden is excellent. I have never seen the garden in summer but the discipline and attention to detail I have seen during the winter months suggests that it would be spectacular.

The location on the waterfront is excellent and I understand they operate their own ferry in the summer months. It is within a good walking distance from the railway station, but probably not if you have much more than an overnight bag..

I look forward to my next trip.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

What a great place. We stayed one night in the Lantern Room. I cannot comment on the other rooms but the Lantern Room is well worth booking if you can. Access to the viewing area is via a spiral staircase. The Bedroom is large and like the rest of the property a strange mix of styles which seems to work so well. A great experience, good staff, equally quirky and enjoyable restaurant. Good value and I can only recommend the whole establishment.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This is one of those hotels you either love or hate. I am firmly in the first category. It is situated in a unique building with wonderful grounds. The food is fresh, local and wonderful. The rooms are basic but have all the necessary conveniences and I enjoy that they all seem to have different characteristics. For seasoned road warriors whose second homes are hotels that are the same anywhere this is a breath of fresh air. Go and enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMW27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dordrecht
3.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht
1.3 mi away
Hotel Dordrecht
Hotel Dordrecht
#5 of 8 in Dordrecht
79 reviews
3.2 mi away
Postillion Hotel Dordrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel de Watertoren
Hotel de Watertoren
#6 of 8 in Dordrecht
26 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bastion Hotel Dordrecht Papendrecht
4.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel ARA
Van der Valk Hotel ARA
#1 of 1 in Zwijndrecht
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Augustus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Augustus

Address: Oranjelaan 7, 3311 DH Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Dordrecht
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Price Range: £108 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Augustus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2006 the 1.5 hectares of Dordrecht's former drinking water companysite has been transformed into a large kitchen garden, an italiangarden, an orchard and a flower garden. In the middle of the kitchengarden you will find two monumental buildings. The former pumpingstation (from 1942) which has been reconstructed and now accommodatesa restaurant seating 200 people and a market.The restaurant is open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch anddinner in which predominantly organic products are used; right fromthe garden onto your plate! The menu follows the seasons.In Villa Augustus's own bakery sourdough bread, cakes and biscuits arefreshly made and an afternoon tea is being served daily.The water tower (from 1862) now is a hotel totaling 37 rooms; some ofwhich have a magnificent view and some which are situated in thegarden. All rooms have wonderful beds and the informal atmospheremakes you feel completely at home; as if you are staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Augustus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Augustus Hotel Dordrecht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing