We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special and charming”
Review of Villa Augustus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Augustus
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Frederikshavn, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Special and charming”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Very special hotel it's a rebuilt watertower and quilte charming place. I had a "small" loft room, that's was not that's small it was fine for me and it would be fine for two also. The rebuilt has been done with respect for the old building. TV is very small.
I liked it a lot.

Downsides are the location in the middel of an industrial neighbourhood and sometimes long waiting time in the restaurant. Three is a 20 minutes walk to the old towncenter.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TM2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    106
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
45
127
10
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Thought this hotel was fantastic. Very different, very quirky! Just outside of Dordrecht old town with good transport links to Rotterdam and other towns by boat, train (15/20 minute walk) bus, car or bike! It is a converted water tower with fittings made from recycled material. Sound a bit strange but it really works. We had a great view room on the third floor overlooking the gardens and river. Very comfortable bed and good sized room. We were there in the winter and guess it could get warm in the summer as there is no air conditioning. Restaurant is in a separate building (converted pumping room) and we thought the food and service was a very high standard and not too expensive. It is very popular locally and again a great experience. Nice to walk in the gardens where they grow some of there own produce. Everything about this hotel, restaurant and gardens was different, staff were very friendly. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Everything about this place is wonderful.......I had a room in the tower with an iron floor and a bathroom down some stairs........it was amazing. The cafe/restaurant was top notch and the grounds stunning.

This must rank as one of the best hotel experiences in my life......well done to the owners and managers for making this such a uniques, wonderful experience.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mercurialsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are traveling to Dordrecht and are looking for a treat. This is a wonderfully cool, unpretentious hotel. Highly recommended. The renovated building was originally a 1880's Water tower and they have retained some original features while mixing it with a very cool contemporary interior design, and it works (I want to go back!). The restaurant uses the produce from its extensive market garden and the market shop is definitely worth a look.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestJohn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel / restaurant is a really place to stay. We stayed here around Christmas and it has a nice atmosphere.
The whole idea of re-using an old watertower and actualy staying inside the steel waterdrum at the top of the tower is an interesting experience.
Shower was the only minus for me as the drain did not function very well and flooded the rest of the bathroom.
Other then that it was very nice and well worth a visit.
The restaurant which uses the Herbs and vegetable from their own garden is very good and service is quick and friendly.
All around the hotel there are enough places to visit if you like to walk. It takes about 20 minutes to be in the absolute center of town and on the way you can enjoy lots of old architecture and shops, both new and antique and second hand.
Enough parking places next to the hotel and restaurant and easy access to the highway.

Room Tip: Choose the top of the tower. It's more expensive, but it's worth the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank white_rabbit67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This hotel / restaurant is a really cool little place to stay.It's in a beautiful garden with lots of veggies which is fun to walk around in. And we found the restaurant to be really nice -- both the store as well as for dinner.

That said, the rooms are quite sparse. It was HOT when we were there and the rooms were stuffy - even though it was cool outside at night there was no way to get a breeze or any fresh air. So, we didn't sleep very much. The rooms were nothing very exciting either (we had a garden room),

Also, the hotel is nowhere near the center of town, so you will need a bicycle or some other way to get into town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We had a room on the third floor of the tower. The bed was good, it was clean and very different in style to most hotels. It is shabby chic. Our windows over looked the herb and veg garden and towards the restaurant. It is a beautiful view and the other gardens are beautifully kept. There is no air conditioning, it was very hot while we were there so not a lot of sleep. There is a lift in the tower, so easy access. The food was really nice and very fresh as it had been picked from outside. I wouldn't go back in the summer, do not know what it is like in the winter. They have umbrellas at the bottom of the tower if it is raining for you to go for tea and breakfast as you have to walk from one building to the other, about 30 to 40 meters.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the restaurant, we are in room 9 in the tower, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dordrecht
3.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht
1.3 mi away
Hotel Dordrecht
Hotel Dordrecht
#5 of 8 in Dordrecht
71 reviews
3.2 mi away
Postillion Hotel Dordrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel de Watertoren
Hotel de Watertoren
#6 of 8 in Dordrecht
25 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bastion Hotel Dordrecht Papendrecht
1.4 mi away
Apollo Hotel Papendrecht
Apollo Hotel Papendrecht
#1 of 1 in Papendrecht
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Augustus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Augustus

Property: Villa Augustus
Address: Oranjelaan 7, 3311 DH Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Dordrecht
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Augustus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2006 the 1.5 hectares of Dordrecht's former drinking water companysite has been transformed into a large kitchen garden, an italiangarden, an orchard and a flower garden. In the middle of the kitchengarden you will find two monumental buildings. The former pumpingstation (from 1942) which has been reconstructed and now accommodatesa restaurant seating 200 people and a market.The restaurant is open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch anddinner in which predominantly organic products are used; right fromthe garden onto your plate! The menu follows the seasons.In Villa Augustus's own bakery sourdough bread, cakes and biscuits arefreshly made and an afternoon tea is being served daily.The water tower (from 1862) now is a hotel totaling 37 rooms; some ofwhich have a magnificent view and some which are situated in thegarden. All rooms have wonderful beds and the informal atmospheremakes you feel completely at home; as if you are staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Villa Augustus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Augustus Hotel Dordrecht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing