We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid!”
Review of Villa Augustus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Augustus
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is an excellent choice for a weekend together. We stayed on the fifth floor what used to be the water reservoir. The rooms are nicely decorated and the bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is downstairs with big tub and walk in shower. The city is within walking distance, for dinner however you could stay on the premises since the restaurant serves excellent meals with good service.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank iWiebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Very good weekend! The hotel is very "special" totally different from other ones but in a positive way. Large rooms, king size beds, large bathroom. Everything was perfect: the view, the gardens, the restaurant and what to say about the breakfast! excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel has great views, clean rooms and very helpful staff. The garden we saw from the third floor, but didn't visit because of the weather. That is a must for next time, because it will look awesome in spring. What a great stay we had! Lunch, dinner and breakfast next door was also very nice.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MeesMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Having stayed in Dordrecht before, I was pleasantly surprised by Villa Augustus. Quirky and different in a positive way, my room was large and furnished with shabby chic recycled furniture, but the bed was great; big and comfortable with nice linen. Large bathroom with good overhead shower and double sinks. Good breakfast, with eggs to order and above average croissants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the back garden, as it is really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Very special hotel it's a rebuilt watertower and quilte charming place. I had a "small" loft room, that's was not that's small it was fine for me and it would be fine for two also. The rebuilt has been done with respect for the old building. TV is very small.
I liked it a lot.

Downsides are the location in the middel of an industrial neighbourhood and sometimes long waiting time in the restaurant. Three is a 20 minutes walk to the old towncenter.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TM2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Thought this hotel was fantastic. Very different, very quirky! Just outside of Dordrecht old town with good transport links to Rotterdam and other towns by boat, train (15/20 minute walk) bus, car or bike! It is a converted water tower with fittings made from recycled material. Sound a bit strange but it really works. We had a great view room on the third floor overlooking the gardens and river. Very comfortable bed and good sized room. We were there in the winter and guess it could get warm in the summer as there is no air conditioning. Restaurant is in a separate building (converted pumping room) and we thought the food and service was a very high standard and not too expensive. It is very popular locally and again a great experience. Nice to walk in the gardens where they grow some of there own produce. Everything about this hotel, restaurant and gardens was different, staff were very friendly. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Everything about this place is wonderful.......I had a room in the tower with an iron floor and a bathroom down some stairs........it was amazing. The cafe/restaurant was top notch and the grounds stunning.

This must rank as one of the best hotel experiences in my life......well done to the owners and managers for making this such a uniques, wonderful experience.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank mercurialsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dordrecht
3.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht
1.3 mi away
Hotel Dordrecht
Hotel Dordrecht
#5 of 8 in Dordrecht
82 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel de Watertoren
Hotel de Watertoren
#7 of 8 in Dordrecht
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Postillion Hotel Dordrecht
1.4 mi away
Bastion Hotel Dordrecht Papendrecht
1.4 mi away
Apollo Hotel Papendrecht
Apollo Hotel Papendrecht
#1 of 1 in Papendrecht
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Augustus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Augustus

Address: Oranjelaan 7, 3311 DH Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Dordrecht
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Price Range: £109 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Augustus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2006 the 1.5 hectares of Dordrecht's former drinking water companysite has been transformed into a large kitchen garden, an italiangarden, an orchard and a flower garden. In the middle of the kitchengarden you will find two monumental buildings. The former pumpingstation (from 1942) which has been reconstructed and now accommodatesa restaurant seating 200 people and a market.The restaurant is open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch anddinner in which predominantly organic products are used; right fromthe garden onto your plate! The menu follows the seasons.In Villa Augustus's own bakery sourdough bread, cakes and biscuits arefreshly made and an afternoon tea is being served daily.The water tower (from 1862) now is a hotel totaling 37 rooms; some ofwhich have a magnificent view and some which are situated in thegarden. All rooms have wonderful beds and the informal atmospheremakes you feel completely at home; as if you are staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Augustus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Augustus Hotel Dordrecht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing