We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden style hotel - wonderfull views of canals and park”
Review of Villa Augustus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Augustus
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Garden style hotel - wonderfull views of canals and park”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I spent my fouth stay in this hotel, it is still brilliant. Well it is kind of design, and old stuff furniture is mixed into the room which I like - and feel good right away.
There is this very good restaurant across the garden where your breakfest very very healty and fresh green stuff - but do yourself a favor - come early and hav edinner as well (never let me down). The 50 meter walk across the garden is good any time of year.
I really want to bring my wife next time, and I envied the guy the got the top floor room in the tower, I have stayed in tower only (but never top floor) and all sides gives you very good vies - some with a small private veranda. Waterbuss and transport is easy - I prefer car whn I am here but have used taxi as well - there is ample parking at the hotel

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, ground floor and you have no elevator or stairs (whatever you prefer) to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik_BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    102
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
45
125
10
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Villa Augustus demonstrates how you can breathe life into an old building and convert it into something memorable. We stayed one night and had a room on the fifth floor with views over the gardens and water. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a really good bed. We had dinner and breakfast both of which were excellent. The staff everywhere were pleasant and helpful but the service was slow - the impression I had was that there was no one in charge in the restaurant during dinner and thus a lack of direction: what they need is a decent restaurant manager. The gardens were fabulous - inspired me to go home and re-think our garden. Definitely a place to revisit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up to really benefit from the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheam, uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Quite foreboding from the outside, Villa Augustus is a tranquil gem of a hotel close-up.

The rooms are large and quirkily decorated (makes a great change from chain hotels) and the bar, restaurant and grounds are 5* plus.

The staff are all excellent (at least the ones we encountered) and they welcomed us for a late table for dinner yet still served top-notch steak with a very good value bottle of house wine.

Just 15 minutes stroll to the train station, Waterbus and Old Town, this is a perfect alternative to run-of-the-mill Hotels found almost everywhere else and is thoroughly recommended.

Would I stay here again? Definitely. Loved it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank colinmh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was our second stay - we came back especially to stay at the hotel again for a late summer long weekend. We stayed in the secret garden room - I won't spoil it for anyone else but it is absolutely gorgeous and a proper secret haven. The restaurant was fabulous - such fresh ingredients and lovely to sit outside on most of the warm evenings. If you get a chance to watch the kitchen in action it is a real treat - completely in synch with each other and barely a word spoken. Reception staff so friendly and efficient - this is definitely one of my favourite hotels anywhere. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We visited Villa Augustus because my friends had been married and honeymooned here. It's beautiful, an old water plant on the sea transformed into a hotel, restaurant and gorgeous flower, vegetable and English landscape gardens. I did not stay in the hotel. But I can vouch for the restaurant. The shrimp croquettes were delicious, as were the lamb and the steak salads (we all sampled each other's dinners.) Of course all the veggies were exceedingly fresh. I loved the quirky decorations and menus. Be sure to visit the gift store. One word of warning -- the service was slow. I never did figure out what the name -- after the imaginary rabbit in the Jimmy Stewart movie Harvey -- had to do with the place except that there are a lot of rabbits in Holland especially near the gardens.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank r2croak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel lived up to its advertising, and we had a very enjoyable stay albeit only for one night on the way to the ferry. It's a short taxi ride from the station, and on the waterside. In the afternoon we walked into the centre of the city, and it took about 20 minutes. We had a room in the tower, on the sixth floor, with a view over the gardens. Another time it would be fun to book the top of the tower, where you would get an all-around view.

We had a very good dinner and breakfast, and liked the thought of eating produce from the gardens (though were told that not everything could be supplied so locally). It was nice to be able to buy goods in the well-stocked shop.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and we would recommend this hotel to anyone, whether for a daytime lunch visit or an overnight stay.

Room Tip: There is an excellent lift, so getting to the upper floors of the tower should not be a problem (to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterfly500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A place of peace, surrounded by the most amazing vegetable and fruit garden, with loads of creative quirks, all mod cons, really good veggie predominant restaurant (many ingredients fresh from the garden). Equally at home for kids, couples, weddings, evening dinners. And the staff are so friendly and helpful. Giant double beds, big baths (showers as well), The shop next to the restaurant is just as eclectic and vibrant with a range of books and foods. A little bit of gardeners heaven on earth.. An amazing find that I should not really tell anyone about!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dordrecht
3.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht
3.2 mi away
Postillion Hotel Dordrecht
1.3 mi away
Hotel Dordrecht
Hotel Dordrecht
#4 of 8 in Dordrecht
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel de Watertoren
Hotel de Watertoren
#7 of 8 in Dordrecht
23 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bastion Hotel Dordrecht Papendrecht
4.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel ARA
Van der Valk Hotel ARA
#1 of 1 in Zwijndrecht
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Augustus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Augustus

Property: Villa Augustus
Address: Oranjelaan 7, 3311 DH Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Dordrecht
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Augustus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2006 the 1.5 hectares of Dordrecht's former drinking water companysite has been transformed into a large kitchen garden, an italiangarden, an orchard and a flower garden. In the middle of the kitchengarden you will find two monumental buildings. The former pumpingstation (from 1942) which has been reconstructed and now accommodatesa restaurant seating 200 people and a market.The restaurant is open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch anddinner in which predominantly organic products are used; right fromthe garden onto your plate! The menu follows the seasons.In Villa Augustus's own bakery sourdough bread, cakes and biscuits arefreshly made and an afternoon tea is being served daily.The water tower (from 1862) now is a hotel totaling 37 rooms; some ofwhich have a magnificent view and some which are situated in thegarden. All rooms have wonderful beds and the informal atmospheremakes you feel completely at home; as if you are staying with friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Augustus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Augustus Hotel Dordrecht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing