We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly different” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Watertoren

Hotel de Watertoren
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de Watertoren
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasantly different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

An ideal place to stay for business in Rotterdam. This smallish venue has beautifully appointed rooms with a very pleasant atmosphere. The restaurant serves lovely home made food and is clearly popular with the local community. Would certainly stay there again on future visits.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D4_200F2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
11
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

On our way to amsterdam for ferry after a motorcycle tour of Europe we needed a room for the night, I used google places near us and this place popped up, I rang and the owner said he had a room for the night so over we went. We were greeting by a lovely helpful man, room was nice and clean and airy

The restaurant was closed as its a Monday but he lent us two push bikes and have us directions to a local restaurant, which the food was lovely. We quite enjoyed our wee cycle

Breakfast was yummy, freshly squeezed orange juice, boiled egg, bread and cheese with some meats.

Would defo return and recommends it, it's a nice change to your bland brand of hotel chains

Cannot fault the place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irvine1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Just off the N3 link in Dortrecht, between the A15 & A16 motorways this is a small hotel with a big difference. It's worth the 10 or so minutes detour for a short stay or long weekend base just south of Rotterdam. Comfortable bed, spacious rooms without clutter or over styled it has retained its character with a feeling of belonging, A tricky one to get right but it's been achieved here with a nod to its past function. Quirky the hotel certainly is, with décor gathered from far afield by its travel rich owners but it seems to add to the feel rather than detracts.
The food is definitely home cooking style, matching the eco-friendly aspirations of the owners. Quality, locally sourced as far as possible and reasonably priced the meals were just right with no pretentiousness.
Fed up with bland chain hotels? This is one to try & the best recommendation is the fact that we will be back!

Room Tip: Advance booking is essential in high season, direct booking via website was easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9grapeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Great views from the 4th floor room, spacious if basic rooms, delicious breakfast and reasonably priced home cooked restaurant make this hotel a good choice. Added bonus of having a bike hire shop in the basement made rental very simple and provided a great way to see the nearby Biesbosch national park.
Maybe its just me, but no door and only half a wall dividing the bathroom from the main room was a little unnerving, but once you've agreed a system with your room companion this is less of an issue (may I reccommend a toilet song!).
Also, best to ensure you have a bike in the evenings to get around as its a km or so away from other restaurants (having said that the on site resturant is good).
Only thing it couldn't supply was the beavers, but we'll be back for those!

Room Tip: Agree a toilet song now!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dordrecht hotels
1.9 mi away
Villa Augustus
Villa Augustus
#2 of 8 in Dordrecht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
3.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht
2.8 mi away
Hotel Dordrecht
Hotel Dordrecht
#4 of 8 in Dordrecht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Postillion Hotel Dordrecht
1.6 mi away
Bastion Hotel Dordrecht Papendrecht
1.9 mi away
Stayokay Dordrecht
Stayokay Dordrecht
#6 of 8 in Dordrecht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Watertoren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Watertoren

Property: Hotel de Watertoren
Address: Kromme Zandweg 80, 3319 LC Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Dordrecht
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Watertoren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing