We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellevue Groothoofd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bellevue Groothoofd
Ranked #1 of 9 Dordrecht B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Go for the view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed on the top floor... what a view! Especially in the evening seeing the boats sailing past.
The room was nicely decorated while the bathroom was a bit small.
The breakfast was good and again, the view from the hotel restaurant was exceptional!

Room Tip: Top floor room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bionix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    24
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
24
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Best thing is the excellent location, overlooking the point where 3 rivers meet, on the other side is the old town. Location-wise there can not be much better: centrally located, 5 mins walk from the heart of town. The hotel was ok, but somehow found the rooms to be not really that modern. Service was so-so, though we appreciated that the hotel manager showed us a parking with a limited number of spaces allocated for hotel guests. He took his car off the parking to give us a free parking space which was very nice. Breakfast was limited but the view of the rivers was nice. Ok experience I suppose.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Telly2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend recently. When we arrived it turned out they had a lot of weddings and parties booked into the various restaurants / function areas, so I would suggest that may have influenced the service we received, which was pretty non-existent, as there just never seemed to be anyone around!

The views were lovely... We had a corner suite. Windows however were really low, which wasn't ideal to appreciate those views, and not helped by the height of my husband and I who are both very tall! Decor was very dark.. An attempt to be trendy I imagine, but there were a lot of chips and scuffs which made the hotel appear a little tired. A strange feature of our room was that there were blackout blinds in the bedroom but not in the bathroom.. Which had no door and was open into the bedroom.. Small details but important as the blackout blinds were pointless!

The room was next to the cleaning cupboard and the walls were thin so a little noisy too.

We ate lunch in the brasserie restaurant which was fine but nothing special and as they had just cleared out a group, who they had not cleaned up from, they didn't seem that keen to feed us. Anyway, it was ok.

All in all it was fine but nothing special.

We have previously stayed at the Villa Augustus which was fully booked, and to be honest, although it doesn't have the same views, we would probably stay there again next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mobilelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

My family come from Dordrecht so I have been visiting this beautiful town since I was a baby. Usually we stay with family, but this trip and our last trip we stayed in hotels.

Last time around was Villa Augustus which we really rated. Family and friends said that the Bellevue was the best hotel in town, so as Villa Augustus was full we booked here.

It's in a stunning location right on the river. The river is to the back of the hotel and one of Dordrecht's many tiny harbours is to the front of the hotel.

The reception and dining rooms were quite nice. We were given a top floor suite on a corner so had views of both the river and the harbour area which was great. The only problem was the windows were quite low. The room below had huge floor to ceiling windows so would have been much nicer.

When they last renovated this place they gave it a trendy look. but a few years down the line this is starting to appear tired. Our room was painted black a lot of places. This really shows up scuff marks everywhere so the room had the appearance of being a bit grubby unfortunately. This wasn't helped by the cobwebs in the shower room.

The room had lovely black out blinds, but they were useless as the shower room, which was open to the bedroom with no door between didn't have blinds/curtains over its windows. So as soon as it got light the room started to get light. Not a massive issue as we were very busy that weekend, but it seems pointless to invest in blackout blinds for only some windows.

We ate lunch here one day and it was very nice. They had multiple weddings and parties and coped with our 2.30pm request very well.

If we got one of the rooms with the big windows then I think I would stay here again...otherwise I'd go to Villa Augustus every time.

However, what you don't get with Augustus is one of the best locations in Holland. The views are really stunning and you are right in the middle of the old town.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room on the 1st floor. I didn't see it, but if it's the same as ours (201...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1974Mike_On_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

During a short business trip in Dordrecht, I have never expected anything this good.

Reception Staff opened the door and came out to help. The small hotel looks clean and is well cleaned. The room is ready for my arrival. Habour view room really has stunning Habour view. The design is modern and comfortable. Staff remember me even at the bar for first time. They know what room number I stay. Restaurant Blanc offers an experience of great venue, great wine, great food plus very professional and hospitable service. Even chef in the open kitchen of the restaurant can create warm welcome feeling.

I even consider to stay here for my next business trip in any part of Netherlands and Belgium and make use of train. (Not sure if it is a smart idea but really want to consider this next trip.)

Dordrecht is lovely more than busy yet very artistic. It reminds me about my home town of Hua Hin in Thailand. Access to train station by taxi costs less than 10 euro from this hotel.

Things to improve in my opinion is bed quality, curtain, and glass door for shower.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UncensoredLips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gt. Yarmouth, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed here for just one night but hotel was lovely. Restaurant was busy and the food / service was good. Excellent location overlooking the river and close to the water bus routes.

I was here on business and if I am back in the area would definitely stay / recommend again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DNeeve2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We come in Bellevue frequently for lunch, dinner and for drinks. It gives the best view of the rivers and is just a good place to eat and drink. The lunch menu is good and there is a choice of a bistro style or upper scale restaurant (first floor). We tried both and liked it. So do what we locals do and check it out when you visit the beautiful city of Dordrecht. Bellevue also has a few rooms. I had visitors sleep here a few times and they all loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for river view when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vincenthalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dordrecht
0.7 mi away
Villa Augustus
Villa Augustus
#2 of 8 in Dordrecht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dordrecht
Hotel Dordrecht
#4 of 8 in Dordrecht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
3.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Postillion Hotel Dordrecht
2.6 mi away
Hotel de Watertoren
Hotel de Watertoren
#5 of 8 in Dordrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
9.7 mi away
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 52 in Rotterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Groothoofd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Groothoofd

Property: Bellevue Groothoofd
Address: Boomstraat 37, 3311 TC Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Dordrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Dordrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellevue Groothoofd is a very special hotel in the historical city center of Dordrecht. The hotel is situated in a completely refurbished historical building with modern and stylish rooms. The hotel includes two restaurants: a luxurious a la carte restaurant and a bistro. Bellevue Groothoofd also has various meeting facilities. Dordrecht is situated near Rotterdam and national park Hollandsche Biesbosch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bellevue Groothoofd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing