We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, bad service”
Review of Inner City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inner City Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Dordrecht B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 May 2014

First of all, the hotel itself is absolutely wonderful: the rooms are comfortable (albeit a little small), the beds are soft, and the bathroom and shower are very nice. However, the people who work at the hotel are not the nicest staff I've met. They don't speak English particularly well, making communication difficult, and whenever we actually did communicate they were not very polite. For example, on of my friends asked to borrow a butter knife from the lobby to cut a block of cheese we had bought earlier that day and she was very rudely denied. Additionally, they claimed that my group had not paid for our rooms (which we had several months earlier) and demanded that we pay again using the credit card. We did and cancelled the payment we had made earlier, but it was still a needless hassle.

Room Tip: Try getting one of the rooms with a balcony, it's nice eating a meal out there after a long day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southwestgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

This hotei is not professional hotel. Upon our arrival they charged to my credit card. It's okay.
When we check out at 8am on Monday,no staff were in the reception and staff in the restaurant told us that front staff comes at 9am. We were unable to have receipt when we checked out.
Then foresaid staff advised us to leave our name card so that they can send receipt via e-mail.
One month has passed. Their receipt was never issued.
Besides,toilet in the room was like public toilet(many stains are on the floor) and room floor was not flat. Bed was the worst.Very thin man on the bed is easy to slip. I feld down from the bed first time in my life.

Room Tip: Better sleep in the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyhoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My wife and I decided to go to Dordrecht on our 30th anniversary. Although we had never heard of the city itself, or the hotel for that matter, I can say that we surely'll be back again. Everyone we met from the staff went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We enjoyed a few beers with the manager, who was very knowledgeable and helpful with tips for visiting Dordrecht. We hope to come again soon!

Greetings from Ireland,

The MacMellie's

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Basic but clean. Very friendly staff. Bizarre breakfast for an Englishman. Great location for trips to other towns and the train station is just around the corner. Dordrecht is a very pretty town with a few good restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I had a single room. They have great, large showers. The matresses are thin, memory foam type but I did find it had a tendency to slip off the bed. Suitable range of breakfast buffet items that more than met our needs. Staff were all friendly and helpful, our understanding is that most are on apprenticeships, you wouldnt know, they all did their jobs well

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dearmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Stayed in Dordrecht one night mid winter to visit a concert. (Katatonia in the Bibelot venue.)
It's a basic hotel but most important to me everything was clean, everything worked, big comfortable showercabin and a warm bed. Desk with a waterboiler and a cup with a bag of tea and sugar on it, nice.
Slightly noisy but yet to find a basic hotel that isn't and you need some luck with your neighbours so no real complaint there.
Good location, friendly people, very good extensive breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

About a 5-minute walk to the train station and 3-minutes from where I was having a meeting, so for me, it was a very convenient location. About a 10-minute walk from the older part of town.

They've tried to make do with an old building without overhauling the rooms so the rooms are definitely funky. Uneven floors, narrow hallways, threadbare indoor/outdoor carpeting. The furnishings are cheap but the bedding is decent. I was in a first-floor room off the back of the hotel (car park) with large french doors that opened onto a deck over the car park. There were two beds and the first one I got into I nearly sunk to the floor it was so soft and worn out. I then realized all the single travelers have probably slept in that bed, so I moved to the other bed (against the wall) and it was much firmer. The beds definitely need to be replaced.

Sink is in the room while the toilet and shower are each a separate room. The shower was great! Plenty of hot water and large shower head.

But there are several things about the room that are unnecessarily funky. They have this convoluted system for turning on the lights in the room. Not just "put your key in the slot" but "put your key in the slot then push this specific button on the remote that's also the TV remote" Anytime there has to be a printout next to the door on how to turn on the lights in the room...it's a problem. Although it seemed to be a decent flat panel TV, the TV was waaay to far away from the bed to be practical and the table that had the tea kettle on it was nowhere near an outlet so making tea involved moving the table. The "closet" was actually two metal lockers (like you'd see in a gym or a school). Too narrow and small to serve any practical storage purpose. Overall, it seemed like someone purposefully came in and said "OK, where is the worst possible place we can put the furnishings in this room...that's what we'll do."

Breakfast was a decent selection of meat, cheese, bread and fruit. Coffee/tea/juice to drink. I was never asked about hot food so as far as I know they don't have any.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dordrecht hotels
2.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht
1.1 mi away
Bastion Hotel Dordrecht Papendrecht
3.6 mi away
Stayokay Dordrecht
Stayokay Dordrecht
#4 of 8 in Dordrecht
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Postillion Hotel Dordrecht
0.8 mi away
Villa Augustus
Villa Augustus
#2 of 8 in Dordrecht
341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dordrecht
Hotel Dordrecht
#5 of 8 in Dordrecht
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inner City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inner City Hotel

Address: Johan de Wittstraat 35-37, 3311 KG Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Dordrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Dordrecht
Price Range: £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inner City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inner City Hotel Dordrecht is a new, small hotel in the old town of Dordrecht. The hotel, located in a 19th century building located, has a sleek modern look. In the hotel bar which is tastefully decorated where guests unwind with a drink. Furthermore, there is limited free parking on site (on request).Inner City Hotel's rooms feature luxurious Dordrecht Pullman beds, television, telephone, free wireless internet, coffee and tea making facilities, desk, chair and bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inner City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing