We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with character, nice location, large room”
Review of Hotel Dordrecht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dordrecht
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel with character, nice location, large room”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Smaller hotel with character (loved the stain glass and white elephant on the staircase. We stayed one night on our way from Germany to Netherlands (stopped at Kinderdijk the next day). Room was large with multiple seating areas (we stayed in #17 which overlooked the center garden). Free parking and wifi. Short walk to city center with many restaurants near by (hotel restaurant was not open the night we were there). Breakfast included eggs cooked to order, bacon, a cheese and meat tray, a number of different types of bread, plus your typical cereals and yogurts. Staff were friendly and spoke English well. Bath had a large tub/shower combination. Only complaint was our bathroom had no power plugs in it. Would stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plasmawave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    34
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
5
23
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
568 reviews
246 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Room 16 is large, has a big seating area, comfortable bed and big bathroom and view of the harbour. It was the best room we had of all the hotels (8) we stayed in on our trip. Nice to have a hotel with character rather than the modern big chains, which are often all very similar. There is a cosy bar downstairs, nice for a drink before dinner. Evening meals were not being served, even though the hotel booklet said that meals were available Mon-Thurs. There are a number of places to eat 5/10 mins walk. Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and hot options to order. Couldn't get the WiFi to work in any area of the hotel. Free parking for bicycles in a locked area behind the hotel. I would recommend staying here if visiting Dordrecht.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

it's just a short walk from city center (300 mt) Free parking, very nice room (we had a triple one, on the 3rd floor), rich and excellent brekfast. ideal site to visit neighborhood (kinderdjik first at all)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARCO T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My first visit to Dordrecht and I will definitely return when I have more time. Apparently it is one of the oldest towns in the Netherlands and my brief stay was nowhere near long enough to explore it properly.

The hotel Dordrecht is easy to find and overlooks the main canal basin with a quiet garden at the back. It is within 5 minutes walk of the town centre and has private parking at the rear of the hotel.

The reception area is small but personal and all of the staff that I met were efficient and courteous with the usual perfect English. Check in was quick and easy and I had a nice room on the ground floor overlooking the garden area.

The room was a good size with all the required facilities, the double bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows and a soft duvet. Good sized wardrobe and a large flat screen tv. Wifi was far from rapid but sufficient to check emails and Facebook. I slept well and had a good shower the next morning. Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of cereals and teas. You also get a tray of orange juice, breads and conserves all to yourself!

Overall a good stay and excellent value for money. My room including breakfast was 90 euros.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are quiet and near the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyAlicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
Level Contributor
418 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

For my purposes, the location was great, but that might not be true for everybody. All the rest was very nice: a small family-style hotel with friendly personnel. Rooms are nice, if not luxurious, breakfast is also very personal. This is as far away as it gets today from the lookalike standardised hotels. Very well worth a try!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLegos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I picked the hotel as I wanted something close to the historic city center to have the option for a nice walk after a long drive and I wanted something apart from the big international hotel chains. The hotel was the right choice, as it is only a two minutes walk to the city. Room was very clean, well furnished, comfortable and quiet. The hotel is old Dutch style and runs a nice bar, breakfast is not the usual buffet, but served individually. Over call, a place I will go back to and can recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank hein-andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This hotel is only in business because a lack of options.
The price is ok and the breakfast is included but that is pretty much the only good things.

The room I was given seemed very old fashioned and smelled of cigarette smoke.
The bathrooms seemed to have been newly refurbished and was at least clean but very boring.

The breakfast was the standard bread and jelly and they ask if you want eggs and bacon as well so if you like that it's perfectly fine.

That's pretty much all there is to say about this place, it's more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel really.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostSwede470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron3431, General Manager at Hotel Dordrecht, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Yes, we are not a IKEA hotel and at least as a smoker in our hotel it is still possible to smoke in some rooms. If you don' t like the room, always ask for an other one. If you want entertainment, yes, this is the wrong hotel. If you want champagne, caviar and salmon for breakfast, I know a very good hotel in Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dordrecht hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dordrecht hotels
1.3 mi away
Villa Augustus
Villa Augustus
#2 of 8 in Dordrecht
299 reviews
2.6 mi away
Postillion Hotel Dordrecht
2.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bastion Hotel Dordrecht Papendrecht
4.1 mi away
Stayokay Dordrecht
Stayokay Dordrecht
#5 of 8 in Dordrecht
48 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel de Watertoren
Hotel de Watertoren
#7 of 8 in Dordrecht
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dordrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dordrecht

Property: Hotel Dordrecht
Address: Achterhakkers 72, 3311 JA Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Dordrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dordrecht 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hotel Dordrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing