We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large comfortable rooms and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here a week when it first opened Summer 2012, and against for two weeks in the Fall. Of course being brand new it was fresh, modern and clean. There were a few opening bugs that the staff quickly responded to as best they could. I cannot saw enough good things about the hotel staff, as well as the people in the restaurant. They were all great.

The rooms were unusually large by European standards. I found them comfortable and clean. The bathroom and shower were wonderful. One of my rooms had poor wifi while I was on the bed and when I asked, was easily moved to a different room where the wifi was better all over the room. Wifi was good overall.

The restaurant had a nice selection of dishes so that even after staying a while, I didn't get too bored with the food.

Next time I have to go to Dordrecht again, this is the hotel I will be staying in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

We (2 adults) booked a family-suite through their website.
They had a buy 2, get 3 nights special, which is only available in the Dutch language, strangly enough.
http://www.vandervalkhoteldordrecht.nl/nl/arrangementen/3=2-zomer-arrangement/
The suite was huge; 2 bedrooms with seperate AC and LCD-TV's, a huge bathroom with walk-inn shower, a bath and 2 sinks.
We had a corner room on the 8th floor with great views in the evening all the way to Rotterdam.
Breakfast buffet was included in the 220€ we payed for the 3 nights. Van der Valk breakfast-buffets are famous in the Netherlands, and for a good reason; EXCELLENT!! The weather permitted us to eat our breakfast on their terras, which was great!
Show cooking is on saturday evenings in their restaurant; also very nice!!
Minor flaws: no (digital) clock anywhere in the suite, and no public computer.

Small but nice pool with sauna and excerciseroom on the top, 14th floor. You can walk outside for a great view of the surroundings. Free for guests to use.
We will go back, for sure!
Tip; park your car for free at Energiehuis, and walk 15 minutes to Merwedekade. From there you can take the Waterbus(6€ p.p) to Willemskade in Rotterdam. From there it's only a short walk to downtown--> MUST DO!!
Dordrecht is a nice town aswell(downtown-market on Fridays)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lelici49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Excellent hotel : very friendly and helpful staff, large room with bath and shower, quiet rooms giving a good sleep.

I enjoyed a very nice dinner in the restaurant, and had an excellent breakfast in the morning. Perfect !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Koen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Can't complain about the hotel cleanliness and standard. Rooms were spacious and comfortable, nice view of the motorway! Everything is brown, everywhere brown, surprised they didn't paint the car park brown!!

The food was interesting to say the least and pretty average for the price you pay. Too far from anywhere to walk and it's a 10 min drive to Dordrecht.

Soulless, corporate!

Spa (!) deserted.

Could've use the Sky Bar on the 14th floor unless hired out as a function which is a shame- you'd miss the views of the motorway, car park and toundabout'

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaydogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This is a very new hotel built to the standards one would expect of a five star hotel. The location is ideal for the business traveller, conveniently situated on the motorway junction. There is absolutely no where else to walk to in the vicinity. It is a ten minute drive to the centre of Dordrecht which being on a waterway is very picturesque, if not a tad quiet.
The reception area is very spacious and the staff extremely helpful. The disabled access to the hotel is via an external lift at the entrance so if you need it; avoid the underground car park. Quite what you do in the event of an emergency evacuation is beyond me.
The hotel rooms are large and well equipped with the exception of the mini bar which is empty. You have to request a mini bar pack from reception ???? Shower gel, shampoo. soap and moisturising cream is provided.
The beds are very comfortable although the pillows are bizarre. One is not quite enough and two is too much. They are twin beds on a king size base. There is air conditioning in the room. The bathroom has a bath and separate walk in shower which is adequate. The toilet is separate to the main bathroom.
There is a bar on the first floor and a skyline bar on the 14th. The skyline bar is only available for private hire which misses a trick for me, as this would be a major draw to stay and drink at the hotel. The swimming pool is on floor 14 and is small (and empty both times I used it) and does not have a lifeguard, though it is monitored on CCTV. When the sun shines you can open the doors and lay on one of the recliners on the balcony or take in the views. There is no music nor atmosphere in the pool area which would enhance its appeal. Lockers are provided for you in the changing rooms but there are no bags nor spinner so after your swim, you wander through the hotel dripping chlorine everywhere !!!!!!!!!
The sauna is great with views out of Netherlands through glass windows, one of which has a large crack running down it. The emergency exit from the sauna is via one of the windows but quite where you go is anyone's guess as the nearest balcony is 3 floors below. A rope ladder down is needed!!!!!!
The bar downstairs is no more expensive than the bars/restaurants in Dordrecht itself. The evening meal is expensive but creative. Most of the dishes appear to work (recommend the lamb starter but not the sushi tuna concoction) The Argentinian steak was not well received by my colleague as a main dish. The deserts however are superb. Breakfast is exuberant and you really can have whatever takes your fancy. Be it a cooked breakfast, fruit, toast, bread rolls, cheeses, meats, cereal the list is endless.

Sorry about the quality of the pictures attached.

Would I stay here again - not if I could stay in the water tower at the Villa Augustus again.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wotnohair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is excellent value for money in anybody's terms.
Location is perfect, provided you have a car. Just right next to the motorway exit.
Lobby area looks like 5* environment with very modern design and plenty of places to sit down and relax.
The room has plenty of space and the bathroom is just great with a nice and supersize bath tube and a separate walk in rain shower. A separate toilet is not found in many places, here it is. All very spacious and clean. Decoration modern and straight forward.
The hotelbar is a nice place to enjoy.
Swimming pool, sauna, gym, it's all there on the 14th floor with a nice view on the Dordrecht outskirts.
The buffet breakfast is unparalleled with a wide variety of bread, fruits, (show-) cooking egs to your liking, the lot.
Free Wifi is obvious here (but not in all 5* places).
We'll be back, no worries !!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tejostr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

If you have a car, need a space in the between Rotterdam (20 min), Breda (20 min) and Antwerp (1 hour) and do not mind to be in the middle of nowhere next to the highway, outskirts of Dordrecht, then this is one of the best deals ever. The hotel is brand new. Rooms and bathrooms are generously spacious (mine a superior room), nicely modern decorated, very comfortable king-size bed, great desk & chair, proper WiFi, in-room safe that fits a big laptop, free parking. Breakfast is a real treat in terms of variety, quality and setting (with good weather restaurant has plenty of outside seating). Roof pool, gym & bar. Many and of various sizes meeting & presentations room. The Van Der Valk Brand had a bit of an image problem about 20-30 years ago, but I have to complety reset my perceptions. This one hotel is highly recommended. For EUR 337,50 for 3 nights incl. breakfast you will not get a deal any sweeter than this.

Only minor detail: room mini-bar fridge is empty, no drinks or snacks, and I could not find any sales point on floors or reception either, so stock-up at a gas station or supermarket before checking-in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DutchCarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dordrecht
0.2 mi away
Postillion Hotel Dordrecht
3.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel ARA
Van der Valk Hotel ARA
#1 of 1 in Zwijndrecht
899 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villa Augustus
Villa Augustus
#2 of 8 in Dordrecht
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bastion Hotel Dordrecht Papendrecht
2.6 mi away
Hotel Dordrecht
Hotel Dordrecht
#5 of 8 in Dordrecht
76 reviews
4.6 mi away
Apollo Hotel Papendrecht
Apollo Hotel Papendrecht
#1 of 1 in Papendrecht
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht

Address: Laan van Europa 1600, 3317 DB Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Dordrecht
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Price Range: £87 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing