We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel in Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Utrechtsche Dom
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gouda
New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Old Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is a nicely renovated hotel in the old town with tasteful quiet rooms. They have a parking area where they also stored our bikes in a shed. The wifi works in rooms. The breakfast is very good and served in a cozy room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbag12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    21
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
11
33
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

The room is so small for 2 people that we are tripping over everything. I don't know if you can do better but you should really exhaust your possibilities before you stay here. Basin not attached to the tiny bath room is also a negative.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrylee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gouda hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

This hotel was suggested by Tulip Cycling, from whom we had rented bikes for a brief tour. We found the staff very friendly, the bicycle storage arrangement entirely satisfactory, the room to be modest but quite comfortable, and the breakfast to be good. It's an older building, which adds charm (and low ceilings and steep stairs). Because the stairs are quite steep, I'd second another reviewer's suggestion that one check for availability of lower-level rooms if you have joint problems that make steps difficult.

Easy biking/walking distance to the city center.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamme001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel in Gouda while on a cycling tour of the Netherlands. Ceilings were low in our top-floor room, but the beds were comfortable, there was a toilet and shower in the room, and the breakfast was excellent. The staff was very friendly. Bike parking was across the street and was secured. It was an easy walk to the town center from the hotel. The stairs were steep and curved, but with good rails -- not as difficult as some, and the staff helped carry our panniers to the upper level.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livewombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed here for just one night on our way to northern Holland - a group of 5 adults including my father (86yrs).
I don't like large hotel chains, preferring to book small independant hotels or B&Bs.
Hotel De Utrechtsche Dom was a great location within a stones throw of the market square in Gouda.
The hotel is on several floors accessed by a central staircase. If you can't manage stairs you would need to check that a ground floor room was available.
Staff were friendly and helpful with tips on parking and shopping.
Rooms had everything you needed but in an old building don't expect pristine finishes.
Breakfast the usual continental choices and very nice.
Gouda itself we found to be lovely. A traditional market square but with 'proper' shops and restaurants (not too much tourist tat).
We could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAE_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We were on a bike tour of Holland and stumbled upon Hotel de Utrechsche Dom. Great location and value. The room was on the small side, but it was more than adequate for our needs. The staff was extremely helpful and marvelous breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spokealoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed in this hotel as part of a Tulip Cycling tour. While the oom was small, it was clean and had of the the most comfortable beds I have slept in. Staff were good and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouda
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda
1.9 mi away
Campanile Hotel Gouda
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Keizerskroon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
NH Capelle
NH Capelle
#1 of 1 in Capelle aan den IJssel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
8.8 mi away
Stadshotel Woerden
Stadshotel Woerden
#1 of 2 in Woerden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Over de Brug
Hotel Over de Brug
#1 of 1 in Haastrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Utrechtsche Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Utrechtsche Dom

Property: Hotel de Utrechtsche Dom
Address: Geuzenstraat 6, 2801 XV Gouda, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Gouda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gouda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Utrechtsche Dom 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gouda.You are welcome to Hotel De Utrechtsche Dom: in the very heart of Gouda's historic citycentre, shops and restaurants within a few steps, typical Dutch countryside just around the corner.Our small-scale hotel is your home base for cultural and historical excursions or sporting trips. We will be pleased to show you the ropes in a fascinating city with unique surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Utrechtsche Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Utrechtsche Dom Gouda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing