We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience - Rude Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de Keizerskroon
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gouda
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad Experience - Rude Staff”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I booked directly with the hotel and having read the reviews requested to have a room in the main building and not on the ground floor. On arrival we were told that we had to pay first for our two night stay and were then taken to the room.
However we were taken to a room on the ground floor in the annex building. When I said to the lady that this was not what I had requested, she became very rude and insisted I was lying, even though I showed her my booking email. She refused to provide a room as requested and stormed off.
The room was very small, with only a few inches between the twin beds. It was however very clean. I then spoke to the man running the hotel and he said that direct bookings via their internet site come through via another company. He was apologetic and offered me a glass of wine as compensation. So a mixed review, but our stay was tainted by our rude welcome. On a positive note the breakfast was good, with a wide choice of continental food.

Room Tip: Request room not on ground floor, to avoid noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    13
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
22
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Casual little hotel located in the historic centre of Gouda. We stayed in a separate building from the reception. Room had been recently redecorated. Spotlessly clean if a little on the small side. Perfectly adequate for our stay though and good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is a nice little hotel located near the heart of Gouda. The check in and welcome were friendly and I got help carrying my luggage to the room which was located in a building a few doors along the street.
The room was very small and the mirror in the en suite was above my head height, but those are my only negatives, everything else about the stay was delightful. It is great to get complimentary wifi in hotesl, if a little hotel like this can manage it I don't know why the larger hotels think they can charge for it. There is a good range of breakfast food on offer in the morning too.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckaykarenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We were staying at the hotel for a night. The hotel is located in quiet surrounding near the center of the city and in walking distance to the railway station and main market square. We had a room with bathroom which was rather small but clean, functional and equipped with everything what was necessary. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. We really liked the decor of the building and hole stay there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colintea89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We booked two rooms for four people, with single beds. We received exactly that, with one being nicely decorated and airy while the other was a bare, unattractive, smoke-smelling oversized closet. The management, while sympathetic, had nothing else to offer, apparently. The bathrooms were adequate but bare and also unattractive. Breakfast was fine but after some other guests took food for the day (sandwiches) and things ran out, there was a refusal re replacing missing items--such as hard boiled eggs. Thus, a relatively pleasant place was tarnished by these few negative details.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MZ07040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backnang, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Whilst on a trip between two events (one in Belgium, one in The Netherlands), I decided to stay in Gouda at De Keizerskroon. And it was superb! Friendly welcome, nice atmosphere. I was in their annex a few doors down, but the room was clean and smart. There's free Wi-Fi if you want it, the breakfast was tasty and there's even draught beers to enjoy sitting in the "front room" - the building is too narrow to call it a lobby. The only downer was that the air conditioning was on in my room and I couldn't turn it off (it was a cold April night).
The hotel does not have parking, but Gouda is small enough to permit parking elsewhere. And the hotel is about 3 minutes walk from the Grote Markt, meaning it is ideal. I'd gladly go again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
170 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We arrived in Gouda on a cold night in the off-season (mid-November) and were thrilled to find this little hotel right near the main canal and town square. Room at the front of the house was great, especially for the price - clean, spacious and comfortable. Bathroom was also large and clean. Friendly young owners recommended a restaurant (Scheeps) for dinner which was an easy stroll from the hotel and most enjoyable food amongst lots of local diners. Breakfast at the hotel was one of the best we had in Holland. Definitely stay in Gouda for a night - less touristy than Delft and even more charming.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoFixedPlans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouda
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Utrechtsche Dom
1.8 mi away
Campanile Hotel Gouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Over de Brug
Hotel Over de Brug
#1 of 1 in Haastrecht
19 reviews
4.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam - Nieuwerkerk
Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam - N...
#1 of 1 in Nieuwerkerk aan den Ijssel
204 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - De Arendshoeve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Keizerskroon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Keizerskroon

Property: Hotel de Keizerskroon
Address: Keizerstraat 31, 2801 NJ Gouda, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Gouda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gouda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Keizerskroon 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Keizerskroon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing