We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Comfortable stay for or City Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rembrandt Hotel Leiden
Ranked #9 of 15 Leiden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Very easy access from the railway station and well located for shops, cafes, bars, restaurants, churches, historic sights and of course the canals. Modern rooms, comfortable, quiet, clean and with controllable central heating. Nice bar to have a last drink in before retiring and breakfast was good quality with a fair range of items. We only stayed one night but we would stay here again if we were in Leiden.

Room Tip: Our first floor room looked straight at a wall about 2 metres away. If we had been staying longer th...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Rembrandt Hotel Leiden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect, a few minutes walk from the train station, close to a green area with a windmill, shops, restaurants etc. The room was spacy, beautiful, nicely furnished and spotless clean, the same is true for the bathroom. At the reception the staff is very friendly, helpful and fluent in many languages. I have not felt that well in a hotel since long.
The only minus is the poor breakfast, nothing fresh and not much of a choice for a rather high price. The restaurant looks lovely, but for a proper breakfast you better check one of the many nice cafes around.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ADG483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My stay in Rembrandt Hotel is pleasant. Single rooms are tiny (just like how most European hotels are), but is perfectly adequate. Clean rooms with excellent water pressure in shower, peaceful and quiet hotel. Breakfast is extra charge, but since I didnt take that option, I cant comment. The hotel is located at walking distance from train station, near the windmill in town.

I was in Leiden for the tulip festival, so by walking 10 min to the central station, one can easily catch the bus to Keukenhof. I think this is a better town to stay compared to Lisse (where Keukenhof is located) since there are many more affordable accommodation and eateries options around.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrcapybara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I often do intercontinental transit through Amsterdam and have found taking the 15 min train ride to Leiden and staying overnight there better than taking the 15 min train ride into Amsterdam. I just tried the Rembrandt and I think it will now be my preferred destination. I was in a single bed room that was very small, but very comfortable. As noted in the other reivews, easy access to the train, a great breakfast, and a really good and reasonably priced restaurant. And it looks like they have responded to the reviews about wifi--you can now access it in your room and its a good connection. And coffee houses all around! But I'll need to stay longer if I want to explore those...

Room Tip: I had 106, which is a single bed at the back -- very quiet
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomKatGunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

- smelly corridors
- the ventilation system in the room was on and off all night, which was quite annoying and noisy. I figured I could have taken the keycard out of its slot - hence cutting electricity - in which case the ventilation would have been off. yet, it is kind of annoying.
- very very small (single) room.
- too pricy for the type of room
+ location
+ while heading out, I peeked in the other rooms (the door was left open due to cleaning service), and they looked much nicer and bigger. So, that is why my rating is "average" instead of "poor".

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cateecatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights.
Pros include: location close to train station (7 minute walk), in the city center, elevator up to 3rd floor rooms), nice cafe to sit and use free wifi (no pressure to order food or drink-just use your computer, read, etc), super nice staff (everybody I encountered), really good food in cafe, nice view of windmill from room balcony (304), across the street from awesome laundromatte (10€ to wash & fold-same day), very clean & updated bathroom, good showerhead and plenty of hot water.
Cons include: next door to a coffeeshop, super firm bed but comfortable enough, no wifi in my room (yikes!) only ethernet, walls not soundproofed (some noise from neighboring rooms), super small shower and bathroom. Overall the pros greatly outweighed the cons. Room 304 is executive room price point.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiepGies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Nothing fancy, just good hotel. Everything works and is clean. And they don't ring you every five minutes if you are an hour late checking out. Bang in the city center too. Recommended.
How do you fill the 200 characters when there's nothing wrong. Ehrm. No, can't do it. It's fine.

Room Tip: Go for the larger exec ones.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flowerfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leiden hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#3 of 16 in Leiden
655 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Resort Hotel Leiden
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel d'Oude Morsch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
0.2 mi away
De Doelen
De Doelen
#11 of 16 in Leiden
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Nieuw Minerva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rembrandt Hotel Leiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Hotel Leiden

Address: Nieuwe Beestenmarkt 10, 2312 CH, Leiden, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Leiden
Price Range: £89 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rembrandt Hotel Leiden 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rembrandt Hotel Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing