We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rembrandt Hotel Leiden
Ranked #8 of 15 Leiden B&B and Inns
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful location. Nice clean rooms. Has its own style and above a cute cafe. Looks like a bleak b&b from the outside but has some style and flair. Close to central station and cafés. Rooms don't have tea and coffee facilities but the breakfast coffee and tea is good and there's great cafés close by.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    45
    35
    8
    6
See reviews for
13
41
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Checked in here morning after checking out of poor hotel a few streets away. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Clean and updated rooms- deluxe rooms larger than smaller standard rooms but we managed just fine in standard room. breakfast is ok- simple with not a huge variety. Hotel is very close to central station and just down the street from de valk windmill. Would not hesitate staying here next time in Leiden. Small issue with shower stall- water exited shower on to floor because of inadequate floor lip/ledge.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howden
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Very easy access from the railway station and well located for shops, cafes, bars, restaurants, churches, historic sights and of course the canals. Modern rooms, comfortable, quiet, clean and with controllable central heating. Nice bar to have a last drink in before retiring and breakfast was good quality with a fair range of items. We only stayed one night but we would stay here again if we were in Leiden.

Room Tip: Our first floor room looked straight at a wall about 2 metres away. If we had been staying longer th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect, a few minutes walk from the train station, close to a green area with a windmill, shops, restaurants etc. The room was spacy, beautiful, nicely furnished and spotless clean, the same is true for the bathroom. At the reception the staff is very friendly, helpful and fluent in many languages. I have not felt that well in a hotel since long.
The only minus is the poor breakfast, nothing fresh and not much of a choice for a rather high price. The restaurant looks lovely, but for a proper breakfast you better check one of the many nice cafes around.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ADG483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My stay in Rembrandt Hotel is pleasant. Single rooms are tiny (just like how most European hotels are), but is perfectly adequate. Clean rooms with excellent water pressure in shower, peaceful and quiet hotel. Breakfast is extra charge, but since I didnt take that option, I cant comment. The hotel is located at walking distance from train station, near the windmill in town.

I was in Leiden for the tulip festival, so by walking 10 min to the central station, one can easily catch the bus to Keukenhof. I think this is a better town to stay compared to Lisse (where Keukenhof is located) since there are many more affordable accommodation and eateries options around.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrcapybara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I often do intercontinental transit through Amsterdam and have found taking the 15 min train ride to Leiden and staying overnight there better than taking the 15 min train ride into Amsterdam. I just tried the Rembrandt and I think it will now be my preferred destination. I was in a single bed room that was very small, but very comfortable. As noted in the other reivews, easy access to the train, a great breakfast, and a really good and reasonably priced restaurant. And it looks like they have responded to the reviews about wifi--you can now access it in your room and its a good connection. And coffee houses all around! But I'll need to stay longer if I want to explore those...

Room Tip: I had 106, which is a single bed at the back -- very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomKatGunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

- smelly corridors
- the ventilation system in the room was on and off all night, which was quite annoying and noisy. I figured I could have taken the keycard out of its slot - hence cutting electricity - in which case the ventilation would have been off. yet, it is kind of annoying.
- very very small (single) room.
- too pricy for the type of room
+ location
+ while heading out, I peeked in the other rooms (the door was left open due to cleaning service), and they looked much nicer and bigger. So, that is why my rating is "average" instead of "poor".

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cateecatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leiden hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#3 of 16 in Leiden
636 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Resort Hotel Leiden
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel d'Oude Morsch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Doelen
Hotel de Doelen
#11 of 16 in Leiden
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Nieuw Minerva
0.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rembrandt Hotel Leiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Hotel Leiden

Property: Rembrandt Hotel Leiden
Address: Nieuwe Beestenmarkt 10, 2312 CH, Leiden, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rembrandt Hotel Leiden 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rembrandt Hotel Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing