We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommended by a frequent visitor”
Review of Shabu Shabu

Shabu Shabu
Ranked #78 of 284 Restaurants in Leiden
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: All-you-can-eat Sushi & Japanese delicacies, part of a chain of shabu shabu restaurants in the Netherlands
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“recommended by a frequent visitor”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

It is not easy to rate a restaurant of the category "as much as you can eat" since some people hate it,but, on the scale of the other possibilities Sumo and Kyoto Cafee e.g. in The Hague and Amsterdam, I still prefer this one. I have been to this place in Leiden over thirty times and although there has been some variation in quality and service the average is very good. It is extremely bussy on Fridays and Saturdays and then one can get in problems. For lunch it is great since the Dutch don't often go for big lunches and as a reslt it is very quiet and the service consequently better than average. For lunch I would rate it five stars.

A bit more details on the score only because I noticed a few, in my opinion irrelevant, poor reviews on this restaurant: it is not a good starting point to compare the sushi in western restaurants to sushi in Japan since then no Japanese restaurant in the Netherlands would score higher than 3 stars, even the good ones being only mediocre in price quality ratio. If you want perfect sushi for a reasonable price then go to Japan to almost any supermarket or you also can get better sushi than in any Dutch restaurant by learning to make it yourself with a few lessons, and go to the fish market very early. If after a few years of practise you then import your own rice and nori from Japan you might surprise yourself with the quality. However, even on the Dutch scale the sushi is not really so bad if compared to other places, e.g. Luxor in Leiden makes the worst sushi ever invented, only go there if you like wok food.

For the not very snobistic sushi lovers with a good apetite this is a great price quality place with extremely many other nice things, Chinese style, such as the squid, my personal favorite, the duck breast, the meat rolls, the beef with garlic etc. etc. It is a pity they changed the mango ice cream to mellon ice cream, but, the green tea or black sesame ice cream is anyway preferable but a bit more heavy so many people now settle for the lemmon ice cream. Since I probalbly have tasted most of the many items on the menu the last three years I can sumarize that there is nothing bad on the menu except for the salmon with cheese sushi that was introduced a year ago that I simply hate.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Herman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    89
    38
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So and so sushi”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I lived in Japan for a couple if years and maybe I'm too spoiled, but this was one of the tasteless sushi I ever had. Restaurant decoration is a kind of ok and the staff was friendly and helpful. However I won't go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elliegf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good sushi, fast service”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The sushi was very good we try all the variants and all of them were very tasty, also the sashimi was good. For the rest of the menu we try the noodles, the skews, the tempura and the dumplings and they were not bad but not at the same level of the sushi, I had better at the Asian Palace for the non sushi part. The price of the water was ridiculous 7.50 euro for 1l of water, I advice to drink beer is better. Very fast service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ernestosanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Business Dinner”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Great meal, great selection, great service. Crowd of colleagues from work went on Tuesday night all hungry guys and we could not find fault with anything.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DMcK1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good all you can eat japanese”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

The quality of food is very good for an all-you-can-eat restaurant. It was very crowded so we had to come back 30min later but then the service was quite fast and good. I would recmend this restaurant! It has sushi and maki on the menu but also some hot dishes, soups, salads and so on. Everything was great.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ddd_dancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shabu Shabu also viewed

Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Sassenheim, South Holland Province
 

Been to Shabu Shabu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing