We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room in an old town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western City Hotel Leiden
Ranked #11 of 16 Leiden B&B and Inns
Vosselaar, Belgium
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“nice room in an old town”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We looked for a room near this old town's center. There it was. Through an outdated lobby we stayed in a modern room. Dutch, that is, everywhere a few centimeters less then elsewhere. But very OK. Only the mattresses: during the night, I felt I was falling out of the bed, but it was just an outdated mattress... The breakfast was OK for it's price, and nothing more than that: average to good. Wifi works well and is stable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    52
    73
    29
    14
See reviews for
33
75
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

When staying in a hotel in Europe you have to forget what you are used to in Canada and enjoy the uniqueness of the historic buildings that have been converted into hotels. Our room was large and included all the amenities we are used to but reminded us of being in someone's guest room. Ensuite bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Grace Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

stayed 2 nights, At the begining the location was abit difficult to find, the hotel indication was to small to see. The staffs service were excellent, very warm and welcome, breakfast provided were Dutchy! Great location for tourist and had a nice attractions, welcomed from the warmness of Dutch people and also the environment, surrounded by what tourist expected, churches, cancals, bridges, museums and the real life cosmo! The room was nice; Forgotten something or had complain about something(s) then the staffs helped right away.

Room Tip: Wanna get the nice things, enjoy the near top room that you can enjoy the "golf or sunny tropic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeryAmbarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We just had three nights at this hotel, whose main attraction is its location. The bed was comfortable; towels soft; and new toiletries provided every day, even if unused. Unfortunately, the place had an air of faded shabbiness, not helped by the anomalous large screen TV in reception and the out-of-order chips machine in the lobby.
There was a kettle in the room and tea bags/coffee, but no bottled water provided (fortunately there is a Spar shop just along the road). The room got very hot and there was only one small window which could be opened, and though the air conditioning was effective, you wouldn't want it on all night. Breakfast was OK - good selection of bread and rolls, fruit and plain yoghurt. Staff were very friendly - the breakfast guy had a lovely smile!
However, we had a problem with noise in the room, - not the church, which booms out on the hour and the half , even through the night - but the ventilator in the bathroom, which never stopped humming. When I reported this , the receptionist said she already knew about it and apologised if it disturbed our sleep. The shrug of her shoulders indicated that either it couldn't be fixed, or was on someone's list to be done sometime. I did feel that if it was a known problem, we should have been warned in advance, and offered another room (the hotel didn't seem to be full).
As other reviewers have commented, the shower had no door or curtain and the bathroom floor got incredibly wet - a rubbish piece of design. The wild life was interesting - ants in the breakfast juice machine and silverfish in the bathroom!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lapasionaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This is Hotel is located one block from a canal and a few blocks from the main market and other tourist areas which makes this hotel a great place to stay for a Leiden visit. There is a nice church directly across the street. It is an older building, a bit shabby. We were given a 3rd floor room that had a high ceiling with wooden beams-one which was too low to be located near the bed! It had a window that opened to the front street but was noisy at night. The toilet and shower were in the same room and shared a floor with a sink in the outer room. It had a huge whirlpool tub which the staff insisted was in working order but never worked and the air conditioning, which was a unit added to the upper wall of the room, could not keep the room cool. Many things were merely tolerable but for the location this Hotel was well worth the inconveniences.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibabidn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
143 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice due to its very convienient location, which is in the heart of Leiden. You can walk everywhere from the hotel. There are a lot of restaurants, shops, and bars in the near vicinity. The hotel itself is nice but basic. It has a interesting rustic decor. No frills but it is clean and comfortable. The bathrooms seems small and the showers are not separated so when you take one the entire bathroom is filled with water. Wifi is free and works well, breakfast is decent but nothing special. The lobby could be refurbished a bit, as it looks a bit shabby. Staff is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pysiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The BW Leiden is actually well located - close to the bars and cafes of Leiden and a short walk from the station.

The rooms were reasonably clean and the one I had was spacious and appeared as if it might have been reasonably recently refurbished. My room had a spa bath which was not expected and a very small shower/WC wet room built into the eaves of the roof. I'm not sure why such a small wetroom would be designed in such a large room. There was a sink in the main room and the wetroom but neither was practical as the one in the wet room was too small and the one in the room sacrificed function for the sake of form. There was no plug (so shaving was not possible) and no where to keep a toothbrush or other toiletries.

The room I had had an A/C unit which was switched off and there was no control of it. I stayed on the hottest days of the year in Holland so far and the room was extremely warm. I opened the windows but the noise from the bar at the end of the street, traffic noise and the bell in the church opposite (which struck half hourly through the night) prevented any sleep.

Breakfast was OK but not great.

The lift smelt like a tomcat.

This was my second stay in this hotel and with any luck will be my last.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Businesstravelsadrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leiden hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leiden hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#3 of 16 in Leiden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
1.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel d'Oude Morsch
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Doelen
Hotel de Doelen
#11 of 16 in Leiden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western City Hotel Leiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western City Hotel Leiden

Property: Best Western City Hotel Leiden
Address: Lange Mare 43, 2312 GP, Leiden, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western City Hotel Leiden 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western City Hotel Leiden is a cozy 3 star hotel situated in 3 large restored buildings with 39 rooms and 4 floors. It is a unique Dutch hotel in which all four floors are decorated differently and are distinguished from each other by means of "authentic" and contemporary influences. In addition, the hotel is easily reached by public transportation. The Leiden Central Station is in 10 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The Best Western City Hotel provides the perfect location in Leiden to many entertainment venues and is idylle located to many historic cities like Delft, The Hague and Katwijk. In the immediate vicinity of the hotel there are breathtaking sights and several famous historic museums. The hotel is located in the city center within walking distance of many shopping streets and the best cullinairy restaurant entertainment in Leiden. The Best Western City Hotel Leiden offers a variety of meetings, conferences and major events facilities. The hotel has a great banquet and conference room, the Four Reasons, for up to 550 persons. Our service-oriented staff will assist you in meeting your needs, both in preparation and implementation of your presentation or event. The Best Western City Hotel Leiden also offers the best value of any city center hotel. Our fully breakfast buffet includes : various breads, juices, cereals, jams, bacon, scrambled eggs, fresh milk and yogurt, and coffee to make your morning brighter. All rooms are modern and have a warm and attractive character, with some rooms fully furnished with a luxurious jacuzzi and a sun shower. Located on the topfloor of the hotel is a Loggia with two Jacuzzis and comfortable Lounge seats. The Best Western City Hotel Leiden will turn your dutch vacation experience into a rich and fullfilling venture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western City Hotel Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing