We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian flavours in Leiden”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fratelli

Fratelli
Reserve with
Fratelli is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 278 Restaurants in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vlierden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
407 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Italian flavours in Leiden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We came into this restsurant without a reservstion, for a Saturdaynight this is a big risk as the place is very busy. We where lucky to get a table after just a 15 minutes waiting at the bar ( with a nice crodino, so no problem). The menu shows some italian classics, i tried the caprese and a lasagna. Both where very tastefull. The service from thr waiters was very fine. All in all a good place to visit, especially when you receive a very resonable bill in the end. Would go back for sure.

Helpful?
Thank PeterEijsbouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    73
    14
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phila, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“New ideas, not generic Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Was pleasantly surprised, the atmosphere and service were good. The food was excellent. Our dishes were not the standard Italian fair in most New York Italian restaurants but simple, fresh dishes that were very tasty.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SaldDeluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We went to celebrate my wife's birthday. The restaurant is elegant, small, with an intimate atmosphere. Beautiful presentation for the dishes and gorgeus flavours. Excellent wine list. Excellant service. Fair prices for the type of local. The quality you pay for.

Helpful?
Thank Federico G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

While being in Leiden for business, I was trying to find a nice restaurant to have dinner solo. Reading the reviews from tripadvisor, I decided to try Fratelli and what a pick it was. Went there around 6:30 p.m. so it was practically empty. The service was perfect from the right beginning, starting with some tasty bread and a spread made by artichokes and tomatoes. The menu is typically Italian, so I decided to have a typical three course dinner, with beef tartar as starter, the spaghetti alle vongole and finally a fillet. All where just fantastic to see and to taste. The presentation was phenomenal and the taste one of the best I have ever had in similar restaurants. The timing of the dishes was just right, allowing for the necessary time between them without taking too long. The filler was cooked perfectly, medium rare as ordered, so the entire experience met my expectations. I suggest that it is a must-visit place when in Leiden, so thumbs up.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trikala, Greece
Level Contributor
146 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!! DON'T MISS IT !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Fratelli was a rather random pick in the first of our six days stay in Leiden but it turned out to be our restaurant of choice becaude of its great food, friendly service and fair prices. We had dinner there for four nights in total. It has a relaxing atmosphere and an elegant decoration. The service was very good and the staff helpful and attentive. We really felt very warmly welcomed here.
The menu was by no means extended but it contained some really fresh and innovative ideas. The creamy soup with zucchini and a fried shrimp was delicious and the Piatto Estivo (salad with grilled zucchini, roasted peppers and Tomino cheese) was also great. Pasta dishes were all SUPERB: Ravioli filled with Zucchini made of fresh homemade pasta in a rich cheesy parmesan sauce, classic lasagne, papardelle with truffle and parmesan and fetuccini with celery, onion and lamb in a rich tomato sauce were all first class delicacies. The risoto alla pescatore (shellfish) was just great. The same stands for the excellent fish it offers (dorade with shrimps).
All in all, a wonderful restaurant with top-notch food you should not miss.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fratelli also viewed

Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 

Been to Fratelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing