We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Amazing New Year's Eve!”
Review of Holiday Inn Leiden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Leiden
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An Amazing New Year's Eve!”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This is the second time my family of four have stayed here and really feel that giving a great review is the least we can do! We stayed as part of the New Year package which incorporated a two night stay with dinner and breakfast included. The planning and organisation of the New Year party was superb. We started with dinner which was buffet style and very good with a great selection for children and adults alike, then it was through to another room for some dancing with a band but there was also an option to go to the bar where a DJ was playing. At midnight we were all given champagne and taken outside for the fireworks display provided. What a fabulous night and so lovely to be able to enjoy with our children. It really was a true family event with lots of children dressed up and enjoying the evening with their parents. We were probably the only British family present but in true Dutch style we were made to feel so welcome by both the staff and other guests
It's very likely we will be back again in the summer to enjoy the beautiful area this hotel is situated in but I hope we also get the opportunity to return for New Year this year too.
This hotel is perfect for families with every facility for children available. If you are planning on staying in this area with children don't hesitate to book.

Room Tip: we had a room facing the outside rather than in the atrium. We didn't hear a sound!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    274
    121
    38
    11
See reviews for
273
116
25
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I loved this place, the most comfortable and sumptuous room of any Holiday Inn I have ever been to, I had the most fantastic nights sleep.

The huge lounge area is very tropical feeling, almost feels like you're outside, same with the balcony corridor leading to the rooms, feels outside but it's inside and warm.

Breakfast was great, everything you could think of, staff were friendly and the price was reasonable for location.

Only niggle is paying for the wifi, that always annoys me but I'll stay there again, maybe even next week!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed here to visit Leiden and the coast. We (parents with 2 kids) could easily book two adjacent rooms that were at the outskirts of the hotel. If you want to have your car in front of your room, order that option.
The hotel is a 5 minute drive from the center of Leiden, where we went to the Saturday market: a must see and experience!!
After that, we went to the coast: Katwijk at Sea, a 20 minutes drive. Because the hotel is next to the big roads in this area, you will be everywhere fast. Fi, The Hague in 15 minutes!!
Breakfast was great, European and American with plenty of nice servants. When we arrived we had a great steak in the restaurant.
It was my second time, earlier I was there for business. A great place to be. .

Room Tip: The outside rooms are greatly located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willy_Dune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2011

During our family trip to Netherlands last summer, we stayed in Holiday Inn, Leiden. Not only the hotel has set high standards in overall maintainance , its food, ambience in the restaurant is fantastic! The pool was an amazing place for family bonding time and my daughter had a blast! The Breakfast costs € 19,50 at the restaurant was sumptuous....a good spread of cold & hot items ! The rooms were well kept and of very high standards. We strongly recommend this hotel for every family visiting Netherlands.
Ample parking & very courteous staff!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the Hotel is quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adzy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zutphen
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Notice that this hotel is loaded with kids on holidays and during weekends.
Lots of yelling during mealtimes and running in the hallways.
No free internet.
Large LCD TV screen. Sadly there was no sound and the image keeps freezing.
Breakfast costs € 19,50 for a good selection of hot and cold items. Although sauc and bacon were below standard.
For the rest: comfy bed with pillow menu. Small but sufficient bathroom.
Plenty of free parking space. About 30 min to Amsterdam.
If you plan to drive to Amsterdam. Park your car at a P+R station.
Costs are € 8 for 24 hr + free public transport tickets to the city centre for up to 5 persons.
Good deal.
check: www.amsterdam.nl/parkeren-verkeer/parkeren/item-/item-356740

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This hotel has really an american style, which amused me.
Service is good, parking is free. The wifi coverage was extremely bad in my room, which is a shame in 2011. TV in HD was great. Noice on the hallway can be a problem sometimes.
The executive room doesn't worth the extra money, it's really nothing special.
Business travelers, be aware, it is a familly hotel. The swimming pool was full of kids.

Room Tip: Ask the reception for low noise ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leodium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Stayed here with our children, pool & games room to entertain them after a long drive. Drove into park & ride in Amsterdam from here. Friendly, knowledgeable staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchester1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leiden hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
1.1 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#3 of 16 in Leiden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
1.1 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Fitland Leiden
1.3 mi away
Tulip Inn Leiden Centre
Tulip Inn Leiden Centre
#12 of 16 in Leiden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Leiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leiden

Property: Holiday Inn Leiden
Address: Haagse Schouwweg 10, 2332 KG, Leiden, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Leiden
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Leiden 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Leiden is located at the edge of the city Leiden which is best known as Rembrandt's birthplace. Famous for her cobbled streets, beautiful canals, Pilgrim fathers and 12 museums ( Corpus, De Lakenhal, Naturalis etc.). Centrally located between Amsterdam and The Hague, near North sea beaches, Leiden University and the business disctrict of Leiden Bio Science Park. Holiday Inn Leiden offers 200 comfortable Superior, King- and Executive hotel rooms with air conditioning, a variety of leisure facilities, a stylish Garden restaurant, Ocean bar and meeting facilities and a large parking area. For the necessary relaxation our Fitness center, indoor swimming pool with sauna, kids play area and bike rental are at hand on our own property. Please note the entire hotel is non smoking. Our comfortable standard rooms are provided with 2 double beds (135 x 200 cm) and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. King rooms and Executive rooms (max. 2 persons) are also available. We guarantee a successful meeting in one of our 14 meeting rooms. All meeting rooms are provided with air conditioning, wireless high speed internet and comfortable seats. All technical equipment upon request. Thanks to the combination of all these ingredients, Holiday Inn Leiden can provide lively and stylish accommodation for you in the heart of the Randstad conurbation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leiden Hotel Leiden
Leiden Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing