We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home of the Pilgrims”
Review of Holiday Inn Leiden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Leiden
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I wanted a central point from which to visit South Holland, and I picked Leiden for several reasons. First of all, I wanted my 12 year old daughter to take an interest in the city and its history. The fact that it was the home of the Pilgrims prior to their embarking on the Mayflower did the trick. The bike trails, biker-friendly traffic, the proximity to beaches were all a plus! The hotel was an exceptional value in that it was equipped with a swimming pool, indoor play facilities, internet, cable TV etc... Plus we were able to pick a room that gave us privacy and quiet for sleeping (not always possible in Holland). The beaches were also a hit, particularly since it was mostly hot and sunny.

Room Tip: Away from indoor pool etc. The hotel management knows so just tell them.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ap122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLeiden, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear guest, Many thanks for being our guest and taking the time to express your nice experience. We know guests have many choices of accommodation and it is always nice to be informed that our hotel was your first choice. Thank you. I forwarded your friendly comments to our staff. I look forward to welcoming you many times in the future, you might even want to do this during Thankgsgiving, we celebrate this every year with an extensive and popular turkey buffet, including all the trimmings. Kind regards, Ronald Reichert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Leiden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great value for the price paid to the hotel .

very good for adults and for kids.

the location of the hotel is near the main street so you can easy go out with the car .

only 20 minuets from the airport and 35 minuets from Amsterdam

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLeiden, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear guest, Thank you for your very ncie review. We're very glad that you enjoyed your visit and the location of our hotel. We look forward to your return stay. Best regards, Ronald Reichert, Generla Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hotel is in a great area that is close to the beach (10 min drive). It is designed for kids. There are two rooms turned into Kids playrooms with ping pong tables, jumping castle, PS3s, legos, ++++. There is also a small pool. The breakfast buffet is good, and the dinner buffet is also good once. It was pretty always the same thing with a different name. The staff was always very friendly and the hotel was very clean. The only two things that I could complain about was that the AC unit did not cool as I think it should. I brought it up to the manager, and he said that it was Max. and... The "free" internet was a joke. You get under 512kb free and the rest costs money. What can you do with 512kb ...lol

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithfulcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLeiden, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear guest, Thank you for your kind words. I'll forward your comments to all my employees, they will really appreciate it. The free internet is for checking things such as emails, check information on the internet -f.i. museums, entertainment parc, what to to in Leiden- or perhaps check your flight reservations, etc. For downloading films, etc., we do charge an extra fee. We're glad you all enjoyed you stay with us, we hope we may welcome you back soon. Kindest regards, Ronald Reichert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

A group of 9 of us traveled here with ages ranging for 9-81!. Found the hotel to be a great base for travelling around and exploring this area of Holland. the hotel staff were great, ensuring we had 4 rooms together. Family rooms were a great size and having the small fridge made a difference as we were there during the heat wave. Although in a built up area there was lots of places for the kids to play football or tennis and the pool although busy was also a favorite. Breakfast was lovely with lots of options and something for everyone. We had dinner one night-Italian Buffet which was about 26 euros a head- nice enough but lots of other places to eat too. Would recommend and use again

Room Tip: We had rooms 129-132 which were round the back, you could park your car right outside the door and t...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyfarquharson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLeiden, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear guest, Thank you for your very kind comments. I'm glad you all enjoyed your stay with us in Leiden. You have a great choice in various hotels to choose, very nice to hear you will recommend us. Thank you. Also, good to read you enjoyed the Italian dinner buffet in our Garden restaurant. Costs for buffet are only for adults, children enjoy the Kids-Eat-Free-Progam. I already forwarded your compliments to my staff. We hope to see you all back in Leiden soon. Kindest regards, Ronald Reichert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Staff attentive as we arrived when power was out. Good customer service. Poor selection of food. Dinner only expensive buffet with no easy access to other food. Noisy as the family activities are in the center. Amenities sauna and exercise rooms under construction. Staff friendly with good customer service. Room service pizza fair

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lickcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLeiden, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your feed back. Besides a very extensive dinner buffet, we also serve a small (not expensive at all) a la carte menu in our Ocean restaurant-bar, incl. a daily varying special. We'll check your comments concering the sauna and minigym, all should have worked or perhaps for a very short period of time closed due to repair work. Our staff received a copy of your remarks concerning their friendly and helpful sercvice. Thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Leiden soon. Kindest regards, Ronald Reichert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had a great stay! The breakfast buffet is unlike any other I've seen in Europe so far. Much more selection, the breakfast staff was very friendly. Our kids enjoyed the play area very much, it was a nice option to have. We stayed during the keukenhof parade, and it is in a good location not too far from the keukenhof gardens. Excellent stay, will be back again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvinEveryMinute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLeiden, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you! Thank you for your very kind and positieve words. It's very nice to receive such a GREAT compliment, we really appreciate you have taken the time to give us your feed back. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards, Ronald Reichert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A little out of Leiden and local transport expensive, 4 euros / person one way 3 stops on the local bus.
The Holiday inn mini bus was not available for July and August.
It would pay the Hotel to charge a minimum fee and make this transport available.
It was still well sited to visit other places of interest.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DickoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnLeiden, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear guest
Thank you for your review. We can inform you that a bus stop of another local bus service is a littel bit further by foot from the hotel and cheaper, 1,50 euro per person to the center of Leiden. Our experience over the past years is that during the summer holiday months the majority of our guests come by car and therefore, the shuttle service is hardly used. Again, thank you for your feed back, we really appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back to leiden soon. Kind regards, Ronald Reichert, general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leiden
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
959 reviews
0.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
1.1 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#3 of 16 in Leiden
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
City Resort Hotel Leiden
1.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
6.1 mi away
NH Noordwijk Conference Centre Leeuwenhorst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Leiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leiden

Address: Haagse Schouwweg 10, 2332 KG, Leiden, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Leiden
#5 Luxury Hotel in Leiden
Price Range: £84 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Leiden 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Leiden is located at the edge of the city Leiden which is best known as Rembrandt's birthplace. Famous for her cobbled streets, beautiful canals, Pilgrim fathers and 12 museums ( Corpus, De Lakenhal, Naturalis etc.). Centrally located between Amsterdam and The Hague, near North sea beaches, Leiden University and the business disctrict of Leiden Bio Science Park. Holiday Inn Leiden offers 200 comfortable Superior, King- and Executive hotel rooms with air conditioning, a variety of leisure facilities, a stylish Garden restaurant, Ocean bar and meeting facilities and a large parking area. For the necessary relaxation our Fitness center, indoor swimming pool with sauna, kids play area and bike rental are at hand on our own property. Please note the entire hotel is non smoking. Our comfortable standard rooms are provided with 2 double beds (135 x 200 cm) and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. King rooms and Executive rooms (max. 2 persons) are also available. We guarantee a successful meeting in one of our 14 meeting rooms. All meeting rooms are provided with air conditioning, wireless high speed internet and comfortable seats. All technical equipment upon request. Thanks to the combination of all these ingredients, Holiday Inn Leiden can provide lively and stylish accommodation for you in the heart of the Randstad conurbation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leiden Hotel Leiden
Leiden Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing