We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay in the "servant's quarters"!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This was the coolest place we stayed in on our trip to the Netherlands (maybe the most charming place I've ever stayed!). If you can, you MUST try to stay in the unit that used to be the servant's quarters - it's a split level with a small living room space, efficiency kitchen and nice bathroom on the first and lovely bedroom on the second floor. There's a short twisty staircase up to the second floor that might give some trouble but should be no problem for most. The best part is the bedroom has direct access to the shared deck.

We regrettably had only one night in Huys van Leyden, but made the most of it by enjoying the hot tub upon arrival and digging into the very reasonable mini bar snacks and wine. Gaston (?) was also a great host and made us feel very at home. In the morning, we not only had a generous buffet style spread for breakfast, but he took individual orders for omelets and things. We ate like kings/queens in the nicely decorated dining room.

This is also located very centrally along the canals and easily walk-able to shops and restaurants. I really hope to make it back someday!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bagsrpacked_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed in July 2013 for 3 nights in Huys van Leyden Loft which is a loft suite in a similar house to the main B&B. (the B&B is 212 and the loft is at 192 just down the road). The room has a double bedroom with tv and a lounge with sofa bed and tv. The rooms are connected by a galley kitchen which has fridge, hob microwave and even a washing machine.The bathroom is off this room. The sofa room overlooks the canal, and the bedroom overlooks the small garden below. Access to the loft is up a steep flight of stairs, typical of this type of house. Room was well furnished with antique furniture.

We stayed in Leiden during Saturday and enjoyed the fabulous market. We breakfasted on Sunday in the main B&B dining room which is lovely with super tableware and very nice food. Other days we bought our own croissants from the Digro around the corner (only 38c each bargain!!) and used the coffee machine in the kitchen. There are plenty of bars and nice eating options to suit all budgets/tastes within 10 minutes walk.

We didn't use the car at all once we arrived. Parked it next to the canal just near the house at quite a reasonable charge. Easy walk to the train station for a visit to Amsterdam. Frequent service.

We would return to this Hotel and would recommend others to try it. You will be made to feel welcome and will enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: These canal house loft rooms are not accessible for people with restricted mobility, but the B&B...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ziderdrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our room was on the top floor facing the canal. It was great entertainment watching all the canal activity. The breakfast was excellent served buffet-style in a formal dining room with an egg dish made to order. There was a coffee machine in the room as well as a refrigerator with items to purchase. The B&B was a 15 minute walk from the railroad station.

Room Tip: Top floor, front
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbowdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Overall experience: great hotel, very few rooms (5 + 1 apartment) so very intimate/personal experience. We were greeted by the host who personally took us to our room.
Location: 10-minute walk from the city centre, in a quiet residential area, overlooking a canal.
Room: high quality furnishings, wood on the floor, large flatscreen TV, very comfortable bed, coffee and tea making facilities.
Bathroom: very clean appearance, high quality materials, nice shower, design-looking sink.
Breakfast: served in what looks like a typically Dutch living room, buffet-style breakfast with a choice of eggs made to order.

Room Tip: Room number 5 was very nice (according to the host, it is their most beautiful room).
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Had an amazing stay at Huys van Leyden.
The rooms are gorgeous, Gaston is very friendly and hospitable.
The Haarlemmerstraat lies within a 5 minute walk, and about 10 minutes away from the Nieuwe Beestenmarkt, with several restaurants.
Breakfast was amazing, small buffet and a choice of eggs and toast.

Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suus_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

4 men on a bicycle trip - We found this small hotel charming and in a perfect location for enjoying the delights of the old town of Leiden. The facilities included coffee machines in each room, wide screen TVs, WIFI and "lock up" for the bicycles. The décor has been done to a high standard and the service was both friendly and efficient. We would highly recommend this hotel for a break in the beautiful town of Leiden.

Room Tip: If you have any problems with mobility ask for a downstairs room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K9John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

What a delightful bed and breakfast! The house was gorgeous, the location was beautiful, breakfast was fantastic, and the staff were tremendously helpful. You couldn't ask for more from a Bed and Breakfast!

Fair warning: the hot tub is more of a warm tub unless you give it ample time to heat up, so plan ahead!

We loved this B&B, and we will definitely stay here again when we pass through Leiden!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelinbolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leiden hotels
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel d'Oude Morsch
0.7 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#3 of 16 in Leiden
656 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
City Resort Hotel Leiden
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel De Barones van Leyden
2.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden

Address: Oude Singel 212, 2312 RJ, Leiden, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range: £95 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huys van Leyden is an intimate 4-star boutique hotel with a stylish ambience and a focus on personal attention, comfort and relaxation. Whether you're travelling for business or pleasure Huys van Leyden is ideally situated in Leiden. Located on a charming canal you can experience an abundance of different pleasures from fine dining and theatre to a relaxing walk through the historic heart of Leiden. The beautiful national monument built in 1611, which overlooks one of the city's most beautiful canals, as well as the city centre are both within walking distance. The 400-year-old building has five special hotel rooms all with their own unique style. The rooms are located on various floors in the property. Please note! We do not have a lift. Curious? ON THE 1st OF MARCH 2015, OUR SECOND 4 STAR HOTEL: "THE BARONES OF LEYDEN" WILL OPEN HER DOORS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing