We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable beds, great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Perfect for business at the nearby university which is just a short walk away. Excellent meals to be had within the hotel if you don't want to travel into the center of Leiden. My room faced the road, but it was not noisy at night. In room WiFi (and throughout the hotel) was excellent, I had no problems with it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mito143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Lage and comfortable room with very comfortable twin-beds. Comfortable balcony. Convenient bathroom.
The location is not excellent, near a round-about, so a bit noisy. However the traffic at night was nos very important.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

/we thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights at this hotel because of the easy access to the motorway for day visits to /delft, the Hague, and of course Leiden;s city center, /we had a quite large room (116) overlooking a small garden with balcony. The restaurant is located right on the old Rhine canal, but breakfast is not included and pricey. There was a small fridge, and hot water maker for coffee and/or tea, so we tried to make our koan breakfasts and ate on the balcony. Getting into the hotel parking lot was a bit confusing, and difficult to negotiate getting from the main lobby to the hotel hallway and into our room, but worth it.

Room Tip: ask for room 116 on the quiet side under the small garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank marilyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

It is very nice hotel if you want to relax in quiet place. But the hotel isn't close to the center of Leiden. Outdoor breakfast or dinner near the canal is nice in good weather. Also the hotel respects environmental protection.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kudarets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Lovely place to sit and watch the river and have a meal only down side the menu stayed the same each day .rooms were a good size with separate bath and shower .bike into leiden as parking is expensive and card would not work so had to go and buy something to get cash.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel is quite good. My room had plenty of space and was very comfortable. The breakfast is very good and the restaurant have very nice options for the dinner. It is not so close to the center (10 min by taxi).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I've been to this hotel four nights for business/academic reasons. The room was very large and comfortable, with a balcony large enough to have a coffee table and chairs (quite unfortunately, there were road works since early in the morning); the restroom had both a bathtub and a shower.
As someone else wrote, the breakfast was one of the most complete possible (you can have it American style, British and continental all together). I tried also the restaurant there and it was very good, too. I would advise everyone to go there, in particular if - as I was - heading to the University nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CassaTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leiden
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
995 reviews
1.4 mi away
City Resort Hotel Leiden
1.4 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#4 of 17 in Leiden
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Leiden
Holiday Inn Leiden
#7 of 17 in Leiden
671 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Wassenaar
Hotel Wassenaar
#5 of 5 in Wassenaar
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Leiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Leiden

Address: Haagse Schouwweg 14, 2332 KG, Leiden, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range: £69 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Leiden 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
80 Beautifully modern rooms & suites with bath and separate shower. A weekend, filled with relaxation and luxury, starts at the Hotel Leiden. A charming a la carte restaurant and cosy bar 'The Old Inn'. Culinary dishes in a pleasant setting, full of atmosphere. 10 Multi functional function rooms with daylight, free parking and free Wi-Fi. Your guests will lack nothing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing