We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Careful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Leiden Voorschoten
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Be Careful”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The hotel, a standard three star hotel is fine in all aspects. But.... I booked through Booking.com and I took my paperwork with me. At the check in I was given an invoice - they had already taken the money via Visa Debit card - and it was 103 euros more.

Now the booking was a simple unchanged booking so no excuse or confusion. They refunded the over charge without question but without explaination either (I had a dutch speaker with me so no language problems). I've checked my bank account and it's as it should be. I trust this is a one off error.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowescottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Leiden Voorschoten, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    40
    27
    13
    2
See reviews for
12
38
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leiden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Bastion Hotel is a good deal for those expecting the avarage... Almost everyting is avarage; the rooms, cleanliness, etc. The bathroom was a little below avarage. And the rooms upstairs can only be reached by stairs, so for those travelling with luggage must be cafrefull! The hotel is situated in a very quiet residential zone, but it is a little far from the center.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank ZEYNEP K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This is a hotel for the business or leisure traveller in a hurry. Very clean, professional ambiance, enough parking, an opening in the porch bang on the cycle path and lush green road side, the hotel seats conveniently on a corner of Leiden to Voorschoten highway. The lobby internet is always connected (online) and the staff very friendly. But the best of all is its price-tag. In The Netherlands, you do not have many such options, when it comes to the combination of price and comfert.

Room Tip: A room on the ground floor is always good in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Rakhdoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

If you have a car/bicycle or OK with buses, than it is a very good choice. The breakfast was excellent, the rooms were cosy and very clean.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank Darida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Booked at short notice whilst travelling back to blighty following a business trip.
Paid 80 euro for a twin room with breakfast.
Dinner was better than a comparable travelodge by some margin but it served a purpose, to fill a hole.
Room was very clean and adequate but I wouldn't use it if I was taking wife on a city break, too far from centre to stagger back.
Breakfast was continental buffet and very good, with bacon and eggs as well.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Finsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane - Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

The location is fairly quite, away from the main centre of Leiden, ideal if you have your own car or bicycle..can be noisy on the weekends, a football field adjacent, you might also have trouble getting a park because of all the spectators watching football. The good thing is you can watch a game for free. But we were lucky everytime. Buffet was good, staff great, except the cleaners...see photos..we had to climb over the dirty linen in the corridor, we complained constantly about not having the room serviced although the reception staff were apologetic, nothing changed. The young girls were more interested in talking than cleaning..The bathroom is very tiny but you are in the Netherlands and everything is tiny. It was nice sitting in the restaurant watching the cyclist and walkers go by as we were having breakfast. We didn't have any main meals there. Otherwise it was ok, but quite expensive. Make sure you book through trip advisor or the internet, don't walk in and book, it is more expensive that way.Leiden is a beautiful town, with lots of interesting places to see.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brisyvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2009

My wife and myself stayed there for a total of about 4 weeks in April & May in 2009. If you have a car thats great because you will need one to get to anywhere else in Leiden from the Hotel. The parking is free but on the busy weekend you might have to park your car away from the hotel a bit. Buffet breakfasts were great and was included in the price of my booking. The rooms are quite small and the bathroom is tiny. Reception Staff are very pleasant and try hard to ensure you are satisfied. WiFi Internet worked very well. The only thing that was not up to scratch was the room cleaning. The bathroom was never serviced properly. Either not enough toilet paper or no soap or no clean towels. And the room was only vacuumed if the girls felt like it. Tea and coffee facilities were provided in the room but the girls kept forgetting to top up the supplies. We were forever going down to reception to get something the girls forgot to provide. In the end they gave us a complimentary bottle of wine for all the trouble. I would stay there again but make sure you book on the internet because if you book at the hotel the prices are a lot dearer. We paid about 83 euro's a night including breakfast by booking thru the web. If you book at reception it is 100 euro's a night . . go figure?

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leiden hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
912 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#3 of 16 in Leiden
633 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bastion Hotel Leiden Oegstgeest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Leiden
Holiday Inn Leiden
#7 of 16 in Leiden
641 reviews
1.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Leiden Voorschoten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Leiden Voorschoten

Property: Bastion Hotel Leiden Voorschoten
Address: Voorschoterweg 8, 2324 NE, Leiden, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Leiden Voorschoten 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Leiden Voorschoten offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Bastion Hotels stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Location / accessibility Bastion Hotel Leiden Voorschoten is situated along the A4, exit Leiden Voorschoten. This location has a good accessibility by car. The hotel can be easily reached by public transportation as well. The hotel is situated on approximately 3 km from the train station and it is near to the beautiful city center of the enchanting student city Leiden. The beach is situated on approximately 10 km from the hotel. The hotel staff is happy help and give guests touristic information about Leiden and surroundings. They will also do their utmost best to make the guests' stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Rooms The hotel in Leiden has 40 comfortable rooms. The rooms are equipped with two twin beds, a television, a telephone, a modem, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and a toilet. Food & Beverage At Bastion Hotel Leiden Voorschoten guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 till 09.00 and in weekends from 07.00 till 10.30. the atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 till 23.00 for lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cozy hotelbar is opened till 23.30. Parking You can park your car free of charge at the parking of the hotel during your stay depending on availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bastion Hotel Leiden Voorschoten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing