We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting museum but missed some explanation”
Review of Museum Boerhaave

Museum Boerhaave
Book In Advance
More Info
US$271.46*
and up
Private Guided Tour of Center and Prehistoric Antiquities Museum with Art...
Ranked #13 of 65 things to do in Leiden
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Please note that our museum is currently closed for renovation. At the end of 2017 we will re-open our new museum at the same location.
Zeeland Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Interesting museum but missed some explanation”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A very nice collection with a very interesting and intriguing theater where you can even see several skeletons in the way it was in the old days. I missed good explanation of the things in the museum. There were a lot of artifacts but it was nog Always clear what they used to do with them. Also there were several artifacts temporary missing. I think a bit too many...
Temperature was very high in some parts of the museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank zeeland Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    45
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting museum with some great stuff for kids too”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This museum shows the history of science and medicine. Whereas not everything will be of interest to children, there are usually some great exhibitions and workshops especially for kids.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mel071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting not so little place”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I had the impression this was going to be a small museum, but it is in fact quite large. Quite interesting to see all the medical instruments. I was not so keen on the astronomical part, but it's very good if that is your thing. I would not go out of my way to fit it in, but it's very good if you have nothing to do on a rainy day!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Francesca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Historical Museum of Medicine and Science”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This lovely old building was a former hospital and now houses some wonderful exhibits of science, medicine, physics, chemistry and more.
So many great collections and it's fun for the kids as well with the interactive displays.
This is a real part of old Leiden.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Living and working in Leiden right now so trying to see as much of this vibrant city over the weekends that I am here. Decided to head to the Boerhaave Museam this afternoon. The museum is easy to locate and there are street signs everywhere pointing you in the right direction and its pretty central. Entered the museum and the staff member explained in detail how the route worked and also provided me with headphones and a translation box so I had all the required information in english in my ear at the touch of a button, The museum contains lots of interesting stuff from ealry medical experiments and equipment to modern devices we know and use daily and take for granted. I mostly enjoyed seeing the anatomical specimens contained within jars and a detailed explanation on how medical equipment such as the iron lung were first developed and how they play such an important part in modern hospitals today. The museum aslo has a coffee area, library and shop - worth a visit if you are in Leiden.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum Boerhaave also viewed

Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 

Been to Museum Boerhaave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing