We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artisan Gem in the heart of Leiden”
Review of Better Bagels

Better Bagels
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: BetterBagels are bagels made from the best ingredients without any unnecessary additives. We use organic flour and honey as our main ingredients. Since we use the traditional New York style process to produce BetterBagels, the dough develops for at least 12 hour to get its full flavor. Each bagel is than boiled, baked, turned and baked again. This gives BetterBagels their characteristic bite and delicious taste. BetterBagels are made fresh at the Village Bakery in Leiden where you can follow the production process in an open bakery, while you enjoy your coffee.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Artisan Gem in the heart of Leiden”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Don't be put off by the size of this little super bakery.
They lovingly squeezed beautiful ovens inside to create an authentic & unique experience here in The Netherlands.
The owner's passion literally shines out into the streets, with aromas of freshly baked artisan bagels.
Love is here in the delicious creations, the baker even studied in New York to ensure he makes the very authentic bagel.
Delightful to watch the full process of the baker's secrets.
Offered flavours are simple and the freshness.....can't be beaten.
Coffee here is excellent.
And the staff so friendly, interested and welcoming.
They make it look all so easy, however such an experience comes with dedication and a genuine love of the perfect bagel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    19
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience ”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We went here for lunch today. It was a really enyojable experience. The bagels were great. The staff was really nice. We had a great conversation with the owner who is obvious really passionate about his product. On top of that is that the place is really nice and clean. We also took some bagels and bananabread home to enjoy later. We surely will be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Maximuss87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Excellent tasting bagels and coffee”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent tasting bagels. The owner listens to your taste preference too. The coffee is better than most other cafés. You also can watch the bagel making live.

Helpful?
Thank Alok S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cinnamon sinner”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

It may be a small diner-cum-take-away (it seats about 16) but the atmpsphere is great, the staff very friendly and the (open) kitchen is superb. I had lunch there with friends and we all had a great time. Most bagels are slathered in cream cheese with various toppings, I however tried the Cinnamon Sinner: a toasted bagel with cinnamon, brown sugar, melted butter.... Mmmmm. My friends liked the cream cheese ones and had dessert (stacked brownie, cake, etc.). My CS I thought a two course affair in itelf. Most stuff on the menu is what you might call responsible: biological, ethical, environmentally sound, healthy and even the anti-gluten brigade is catered for. I'm all for that, but you will never again see me with a biological cola... The street it's at is nicely crowded and the restaurant is located near one of Leiden's major shopping streets. With a bit of luck you can park your car nearby, at the curb.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinaHowitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good bagels but not much seating”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Good bagels, tasty and authentic. But there are only several tables in this place, yes quite cozy (gezellig) but it's more of a take out than a café to spend time relaxing and talking. It really does not deserve one of the best restaurants in Leiden ranking.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank_Zweerus, Manager at Better Bagels, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Yes indeed,
we do have some seats, yet we are not a typical restaurant,
we do sell great coffee and traditional New York cheesecake, yet we are not a typical lunchroom,
we do sell prizewinning bread by the loaf, yet we are not a typical bakery,
we do have a take-out counter, yet we are not a typical take-out restaurant,
we have won the prize for the best sandwich in town, yet we are not a typical deli,
we have a buzz saw build into our counter, yet we are not a Home Depot either.

We do not feel that we ‘deserve’ a high ranking because we do not fit any of the stereotypes. However we feel blessed that our customers are so satisfied with their experience with BetterBagels that they reward us with great reviews.

We are not trying to be one or the other; hence BetterBagels is a unique place.
We are the only place in the Netherlands that makes bagels fresh every day according to the traditional New York process. We do this in an open bakery so everybody can see the process of boiling and baking the bagels. We make bagels from, and top them with the best possible ingredients, if possible from organic origin. And you can take the bagels with you for a picnic or enjoy them while you seat yourself at one of our few tables.
Our aim is to serve you the best possible bagel while giving you a good time.

If you are looking for a typical restaurant, this is not the place for you, if you are looking for a unique experience, come on in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Better Bagels also viewed

Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 

Been to Better Bagels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing