We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NAKED HOTEL! All the gear and no idea.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Resort Hotel Leiden
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Leiden
Reviewed 12 October 2013

YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED IN THE SWIMMING POOL UNLESS YOU ARE COMPLETELY NAKED. The only bloody reason I chose this hotel was the pool looks awesome. However, it's a swimwear-free zone except for one hour on a Tuesday. This is not optional - the receptionist has just said "you must wear no clothes" - there was no budging her on this one. I know this is the norm in a lot of continental pools and spas, and I'm ok with it in a single-sex sauna. But this pool is fully mixed sex, and it says nothing about the swimwear rule on the website. Yes, yes, I KNOW you think us Brits are a bit prudish, but I'm not getting naked with a bunch of men I've never met! If they want to attract international business travellers, they need to relax this rule! Rubbish.

The hotel itself is a faceless black and white plastic box with a lot of cheap blingy bits and pieces. Things will break and it will get dirty and look pretty tacky pretty quickly. I think I'm just about the only guest, and it feels a bit creepy. The staff aren't particularly friendly or helpful which is a shame as they don't appear to have much to do. Could be anywhere.

It's right outside the station entrance but there are no signs and the only way I found it was by reading other people's reviews. I said this to the receptionist and she just laughed.

As others have said, it's still a building site. Not worth even the discounted rate. They certainly need to put in a LOT more effort. And maybe sack the manager.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sunshineinyourlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne_Koot, Front Office Manager at City Resort Hotel Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Good evening Madame,

First of all we would like to thank you for your stay in Hampshire Hotel Fitland Level Leiden. We also would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay.
We completely understand your disappointed about the fact that swimwear is allowed in the pool from 7am -10:30 am, and from that time

It is said to hear that the experience with our pool was not what it should have been. Guests can enjoy our swimming pool between 7:00 and 10:30 with swimwear,
then the pool is part of our Wellness and it becomes a nude area. We will mention this information immediately to all websites to ensure that customers are properly informed.

We are very sorry to hear that the staff wasn’t very helpful and friendly. As you understand, Hampshire Hotel Fitland Level Leiden strives to deliver the best service possible. The experience
you describe does not fit to our level of expertise. Please be informed we took all your feedback about signing very seriously and we did improve this already.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Daphne Koot
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank evanieperen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank F3383PJlarsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank LenieMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank bogaerts_peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank S1910VAcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annemanenschijn1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leiden hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#4 of 17 in Leiden
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel d'Oude Morsch
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Leiden
Holiday Inn Leiden
#7 of 17 in Leiden
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Resort Hotel Leiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Resort Hotel Leiden

Address: Bargelaan 180, 2333 CW, Leiden, The Netherlands (Formerly Hampshire Hotel - Fitland Leiden)
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range: £77 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Resort Hotel Leiden 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wakker worden met uitzicht op de duinkoppen van het Noordzeestrand of met een prachtig panorama over de oude binnenstad van Leiden, het zal niet bij hoge uitzondering zijn op de tiende verdieping van het multifunctionele gebouw Level. Direct gelegen naast het NS station en herkenbaar door zijn bijzondere gelaagde architectuur, is in september 2013 het nieuwe Hampshire Hotel Fitland - Leiden geopend. Een uniek hotel met 118 comfortabele hotelkamers en suites op viersterren niveau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Resort Hotel Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing