We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Een bijzondere ervaring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Hotel Nieuw Minerva
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Leiden
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Amazing service, had a night in the bride-suite instead of the normal room we had a reservation for. Everything was amazing, only note is that the hotel might look a bit outdated and it's near a noisy location in the centre of Leiden (which is a great city!)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrinocoFlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

This hotel is well-located and not so expensive. Staffs were kind to us though we couldn't speak Dutch and English well. The room was simple and clean and I loved it very much. Usually quiet and relaxing, but one night I heard some youth making merry loudly outside the hotel. It was good to learn some Dutch for me - for a while.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gummybear8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The room smelled stongly of smoke and I found it hard to go to sleep due to fact that the sheets aslo smelled very stongly of smoke. The sheets had been changed, perhaps the matress needed airing? My sister was in room across the corridor and she said her room smelled to smoke aslo.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariemar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. It's in a really good location right near the canal and about 5-10 minutes walk from the main town. The rooms are nice but all different so have a look at the rooms first before deciding which one to have as they do vary in quality.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

There are quite some miixed reviews about this hotel on Tripadvisor. It is not a Hilton hotel. It does not charge Hilton prices. So you get what you pay for and on that base, it is value for money. We spent 3 nights in this hotel and we had a decent room in a corner upstairs and it was quiet, large enough, decent bathroom. The hotel has a restaurant and we ate evrery evening there and it was fine. If you want to have exciting food, go somewhere else, but if you want honest freshly home cooked food, than this is fine. We did not have breakfast, so can't comment on that. I have seen the iritation about the lack of free Wifi. Is free wifi in every hotel? No. So in this one you pay. There is not an automatic right for free Wifi. In the lobby is a computer with internet for the guests and if you are lucky (as I was), one of the neighbours has not a secured router, so you can use theirs. Ofcourse, that is hit and miss.

I can see that some rooms are straight on the hall near the stairs and can have a problem with noise. So ask for rooms far from the stairs. Our bed was fine, an extra douve was supplied, room was warm, people friendly and obliging. we will come again when we have to be in Leiden.

Room Tip: Far away from the stairs and top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I needed somewhere to stay in Leiden and my Garmin pointed me in the direction of Nieuw Minerva. It was just what I needed after a long drive from UK. Lovely old building, pleasant staff and a room with a view of the canal - if it had been light! The bed was confortable, but the room could have done with being redecorated. My business in the area the following day went on longer than expected and I drifted back to The Nieuw Minerva for a second night. I felt it offered good value for a very central position and look forward to returning one day. There was ample parking at a pay and display next door - free between 21.00 and 08.00.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I had to stay here since other hotels were fully booked. The location is fine, next to a canal which is nice, and five minutes from main attractions, ten to train station. The hotel lobby is very dated, as is the decor in the hallways and in the room I had. Breakfast room is fairly shabby - they have tried to make it look very old style, but it looks like a junk room.

Bathroom was small, but the shower was decent pressure. I was given four hand towels but no bath-sized towel, and these are threadbare. You need all four to dry yourself after a shower, they are that thin. Bed was uncomfortable. A double bed is two singles, with separate covers, covered by one big bedspread to make it look like a double. So useless if you booked a double room because you wanted a big bed. TV is tiny, and remote had almost dead batteries, obviously not checked by staff. Reasonable range of channels and languages on TV.

Service below average. I had to wait to check out as the receptionist was chatting with a cleaner or other staff member, despite seeing me at the desk.

Breakfast overpriced for what is offered. Wi-fi is ridiculously expensive (6 Euro per hour), so I didn't bother with it so cannot comment on signal strength.

I've stayed in nicer hotels in Leiden for the same price, and wouldn't recommend this one if you can get availability elsewhere.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CCCele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leiden hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#3 of 17 in Leiden
689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel d'Oude Morsch
0.5 mi away
City Resort Hotel Leiden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden
0.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Nieuw Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Nieuw Minerva

Address: Boommarkt 23, 2311 EA, Leiden, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range: £73 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel Nieuw Minerva 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Restaurant Nieuw Minerva is located in the centre of Leiden between the two most important shopping streets. You will find plenty of restaurants and cafés around the hotel for a drink or bite during your stay. The hotel is situated along one of Leiden's many canals. This makes it easily accessible by boat. The hotel covers 6 authentic 16th century canal houses. In 1830, one of these houses was inhabited by J.R. Thorbecke, the father of the Dutch constitution. Nieuw Minerva is decorated in a friendly, Old Dutch style with a homely atmosphere. It offers a good restaurant and meeting and banquet facilities. The hotels rooms are decorated in various styles. Some rooms are romantic, some classic, some in Art Deco style, and a beautiful bridal suite is available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel Nieuw Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nieuw Minerva Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing