We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, cramped, damp, awful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Nieuw Minerva
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dated, cramped, damp, awful!”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at this hotel from 28th-30th September. When we arrived tired at 11pm we were given a room at the top of the hotel (3 steep sets of stairs, no lift, no offer of help with bags). The smell of damp upon entering the third floor was overwhelming and our room smelt musty also.
As two tall people, we had requested a room for 'full sized people'. The bed was a double which accomodated us both but unfortunately it was squeezed under the eaves so when my partner sat up in bed in the night he smacked his head on the beam! The room was incredibly thin, small and shabby. The television was a relic, the desk was cheap and old flat-pack and the cushions were tired and flat. Also there was a scratchy duvet and no sheet which makes you worry about cleanliness.
The bathroom was clean and the shower pressure good but the towels were barely large enough to wrap around my hair let alone my body.
Staff were ok, not particularly interested, but ok. Best of the bunch was the young man on duty at around 7.30am sunday. He didn't know where there was a post box but assured us he would get my postcards sent for me which was nice. (Mind you I don't know if he has yet!)
Breakfast wasn't included in the room price which was a joke as it is not worth paying for. Some rather sad slices of cheese and ham and bread that isn't replenished. Orange juice is actually squash and staff are surly.
Overall I do not recommend this hotel although the location is excellent. Please see my photos of our room as they differ wildly to the website!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlotte186311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NieuwMinerva, Manager at City Hotel Nieuw Minerva, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Google Translation
Jammer om te horen dat u een slechte ervaring in ons hotel heeft gehad. Wij vinden het zeer jammer dat U dit niet tijdens uw verblijf aan ons heeft laten weten. Wij hadden dan uw klachten kunnen oplossen.
Team Hotel Nieuw Minerva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    54
    44
    16
    7
See reviews for
18
50
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The hotel is located right on a bank of a channel. Our room was nice, clean, big, with a view on the river, it´s just few steps from the most beautiful part of Leiden.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mispule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Cozy small hotel, recently refurbished. Situated comfortably close to all, the station, the university, the shopping streets (right between Harlemmerstraat and Breestraat. Perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuMurBandung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Excellent location, friendly staff, meals great, stayed as part of tulip cycle tour. Very clean and yes it does have steep stairs but it is THe Netherlands so that is to be expected.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olcott, New York, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed as part of a Tulip Cycling Tour. The hotel is 3 old building combined into one building. An interesting melding of three buildings not designed to be a hotel. Sometimes it works sometimes not. Free wifi only in the lobby. Good hotel for value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, the location is perfect right in the centre of Leiden overlooking one of the many canals. The room was very basic but comftable right on the top floor and with a great view of the canal, there was no problem with noise at night and it was one of the few rooms that you could smoke in (I think there were just 3 rooms on the top floor)
Breakfast was very basic with cold meats, cheese, eggs, bread and rolls, orange juice, coffee and tea. The staff were always very friendly and helpful.
The only slight minus point for some people could be the fact that there is no lift and the stairs are very steep.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are quieter and have a canal view, rooms at the back are dark and are near to a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baudour, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My stayed here in April 2012 while attending Keukenhof. The hotel is located on a canal, and within walking distance to many restaurants and bars. (Try dinner at Calf and Cow - delicious!) Our room and bathrooms were a nice size for a european hotel. However, our room was located above the alley way and we were kept awake until nearly 4 am with people yelling, singing and talking as they entered/left a club in the alley. We were unable to be relocated to another room as they hotel was fully booked.

Note this hotel is not handicap accessible (no elevator) and you must climb stairs to reach any of the rooms and the breakfast room. The hotel itself is interesting as it used to be 6 homes that have been conjoined/converted in to the hotel.

The staff was friendly and the breakfast was nice.

Overall, I would stay here again but only if I were provided a room along the canal and no where close to the alley.

Room Tip: Request a room along the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank audiogirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leiden hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#3 of 16 in Leiden
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Doelen
Hotel de Doelen
#11 of 16 in Leiden
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden
0.5 mi away
City Resort Hotel Leiden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Nieuw Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Nieuw Minerva

Property: City Hotel Nieuw Minerva
Address: Boommarkt 23, 2311 EA, Leiden, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel Nieuw Minerva 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Restaurant Nieuw Minerva is located in the centre of Leiden between the two most important shopping streets. You will find plenty of restaurants and cafés around the hotel for a drink or bite during your stay. The hotel is situated along one of Leiden's many canals. This makes it easily accessible by boat. The hotel covers 6 authentic 16th century canal houses. In 1830, one of these houses was inhabited by J.R. Thorbecke, the father of the Dutch constitution. Nieuw Minerva is decorated in a friendly, Old Dutch style with a homely atmosphere. It offers a good restaurant and meeting and banquet facilities. The hotels rooms are decorated in various styles. Some rooms are romantic, some classic, some in Art Deco style, and a beautiful bridal suite is available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel Nieuw Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nieuw Minerva Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing