We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The real Leiden” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Hotel Nieuw Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Hotel Nieuw Minerva
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The real Leiden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

If you are tired of bland modern hotels, this is the one to go to. The entrance looks like your old uncle's town house in Leiden, a good reading table with daily newspapers, some easy chairs. The room had a good view over the canal and was quiet. The bathroom was quite newly decorated, the room was original but not new.
Breakfast is good for the price offered. The service was friendly and attentive. More a home form home.
And the location in perfect, 10 min form the station and two minutes to the terrace.

Room Tip: The room with view of the canal are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meis234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    50
    40
    16
    7
See reviews for
16
47
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, PA
Level Contributor
181 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

When I see people giving this hotel five circles in their reviews, I have to ask myself whether they stayed in the same place that I did. This is a very old hotel with rooms that haven't been renovated in years. My room was quite small, with a lumpy bed, and although it did have a renovated bathroom, even that proved to be uncomfortable because they left out a few obvious touches. For example, where are you supposed to hang your towel? A towel rack on the wall and/or a hook on the back of the bathroom door would have made a big difference. I had to drape my towel over the side of the bathtub (or over the toilet seat). And if they're going to install a towel rack, they might as well install a little shelf for toiletries, too.

On the plus side: wireless internet is reliable and available for free in the lobby. They say they charge for internet access in your room (something absurd like 6 Euros per hour), but I had no trouble catching the free signal even though I was on the second floor. I certainly would not recommend this hotel if you could not get free internet in your room.

Breakfast is OK: bread, cold cuts, cheese, and typical Dutch spreads such as cream cheese and jam. It doesn't vary much from day to day.

The location is great, right on a picturesque canal in the center of town. You can walk to all the sites. And your room will be so uncomfortable that the first thing you'll want to do in the morning is walk to all the sites.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrGoldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leiden hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

The Nieuw Minerva Hotel
This hotel is perfectly centered in the little "city" of Leyden (old English spelling), which history goes back to Roman times 57 AD, but probably before that, because it is situated on the banks of the old Rhine, an ideal place for merchant’s shipping in ancient times. Nothing from the Roman presence is actually left. With the somewhat misleading name “The Nieuw Minerva Hotel” - “Nieuw” or” New” in English is hardly the case - itself is a conglomeration of old buildings dating back to the sixteenth century, a fact sadly supported by the steep staircases.. Luckily the staff is very forthcoming and offered us another room that did not require us to climb three of those stairs; just one was enough. The room was smallish with the usual accoutrements i.e. bed nightstands, lights, closet. The adjoining bathroom was proportionally small. However, both were very well kept and clean as can be. Since we like to go explore outside the hotels to eat the local stuff, we did not use the Restaurant and Bar that were on the premises, right off the reception area. If memory serves right, breakfast would have been 7EU; a normal amount. Upon our return the room was again immaculate, makes you afraid to have dropped a piece of paper!
Leyden is 25 miles away from Amsterdam, a lot more affordable, easier to find accommodations, less people (read tourists), a lot cleaner and all the charm that Amsterdam has to offer. The railroad station is a short walk from the hotel. Our hotel was in a well affordable range (95 EU), parking is readily available, while the Dutch Public transportation has no equal in the world. Bicycles could even be borrowed from the hotel for those with iron nerves; parking a bike is a breeze.
There are a good number of excellent Museums, Windmills to see. For Americans, the Pilgrim Museum housed in one of the original buildings, and originally belonging to those famous pilgrims, might be of interest. The museum’s receptionist, cashier and dozen, all personified in one is somewhat bored,.. until you ask him some pointed questions. Then he will regale you with tales of yonder, or just make it up on the spot. Verification is not for the layman, but do not confuse the Pilgrims with the Puritans. At least get that right.
Leyden is the place where Rembrandt was born. There is a museum called “De Lakenhall”. Museum De Lakenhal is a museum fine art. Its collection of fijnschilder paintings from the Dutch Golden Age shows several Rembrandts and some of his pupils and pupils of those . that we comfortably visited in about one hour, so as not to become overwhelmed and saturated with, is situated in the Laken Guilt Hall of times long gone. There the Masters would examine the “Laken” or felt, a type of woolen fabric used in the Middle Ages, in all probability do the day’s “pricefixing” in the backroom.
There are a surprising large number of good restaurants to be found near the hotel; right around the corner and throughout the center, which is all eminently walkable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJVZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our conference in noordwijk. We had selected this place as it is 10 minutes walking distance from leiden central station and approximately 15 mins from cab to conference place.Fortunately for us it offered us more than convinience , as it was really nice place to stay , staff was very friendly and kind , breakfast is reasonably priced , but everyday its the same menu. We were able to upgrade our rooms which offered us nice view of the canal, the only drawback is hotel does not have a lift, probably because of old building, but the same is compensated by having a nice lobby area , where people can meet and access internet for free.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amol01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Positives -- The hotel is located in the middle of old Leiden, which means it is convenient to restaurants and the train station. The lobby is great gathering place to meet people. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

Less than positive -- The small, plain room is a place to sleep and nothing else.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob_mu_grad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

I stayed here for the night while traveling for work. The hotel is nice and the themed rooms give a little excitement to your stay. I would say that it is a little over priced for what it is. The rooms are comfortable and warm (I could control my own heating) and the bathroom was clean and had a great shower. They also offer free wi-fi in the lobby.
The hotel is easy to get to from the train station and only a few minutes walk to lots of restaurants and the main shopping center. The only thing that put me off was the smell in the lobby. I'm not sure if they had issues with some pipes but it made downstairs smell of sewage. Luckily this didn't rise to the rooms.
Overall, a good hotel which I will visit again. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NieuwMinerva, Owner at City Hotel Nieuw Minerva, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Thanks for your response.
The problem with the smell is solved.
Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

A very good hotel. We had read mixed reviews about the hotel but our rooms were very good. Rooms were clean and comfortable and well decorated. Staff were warm and friendly. The main difficulty was reaching the hotel - we were travelling by car and the one-way system in Leiden makes it a lottery to find the hotel - it took us over an hour to find our way there! The other concern is the lack of wifi in the rooms - it is available in the lounge but you have to pay for it in the rooms - not acceptable these days!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren1ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leiden hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#4 of 15 in Leiden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Doelen
Hotel de Doelen
#11 of 15 in Leiden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
0.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel De Barones van Leyden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Nieuw Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Nieuw Minerva

Property: City Hotel Nieuw Minerva
Address: Boommarkt 23, 2311, Leiden, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel Nieuw Minerva 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Restaurant Nieuw Minerva is located in the centre of Leiden between the two most important shopping streets. You will find plenty of restaurants and cafés around the hotel for a drink or bite during your stay. The hotel is situated along one of Leiden's many canals. This makes it easily accessible by boat. The hotel covers 6 authentic 16th century canal houses. In 1830, one of these houses was inhabited by J.R. Thorbecke, the father of the Dutch constitution. Nieuw Minerva is decorated in a friendly, Old Dutch style with a homely atmosphere. It offers a good restaurant and meeting and banquet facilities. The hotels rooms are decorated in various styles. Some rooms are romantic, some classic, some in Art Deco style, and a beautiful bridal suite is available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your City Hotel Nieuw Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nieuw Minerva Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing