We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Hotel Nieuw Minerva
Nearby Hotels
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulip Inn Leiden Centre(Leiden)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Leiden Centre(Leiden)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
De Doelen(Leiden)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
28
57
49
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
57
49
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorold buildingcozy hotelthe location is perfectlate at nightthe hotel stafftop floorcentral stationcanalcentrestairwaybikes
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

If you need to spend one night in the city, you can stay here. The location is very good, but for the price that the rooms cost I would suggest to go to any other international hotel. The quality and cleanliness of the rooms are that poor that you cannot even imagine.
This hotel really needs a complete renovation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guillermo_Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights from April 14. The room was comfortable but basic and had a great view. The location was great, in the centre of Leiden but quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Probably our room could do with some redecoration, which the hotel plan to do. We enjoyed our stay and would return again.

Room Tip: There are many different rooms in this hotel but we would always go for one with the view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hebb40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had booked three evenings but checked out after the first evening. While we knowingly booked on the thrid floor it was too much for our three year old. Stairs typical of Holland and no lift in the building. We may have been able to accept stairs had our room been decent but it was in very poor condition. The lightbulb was burnt out on the nightstand beside the bed, we could not access the internet (from two computers we were traveling with and had no difficulty the week prior in Germany and Belgium), and the phone line was also dead until the next morning. While the small bathroom was clean and updated recently, the same could not be said for the living/sleeping area. Bedspreads were old as was furniture. Assuming the room was clean, the experience may have been easier to accept had the hotel set a different rate for the rooms on the third floor- especially this one- cant see how this room can command anything more than 80 euros an evening.

When departing we looked in two rooms on the second floor and they appeared to have been upgraded more recently and were generally brighter.

Enough can not be said about the morning counter staff person and how they handled our situation. The staff receive top marks but management needs to seriously consider what rooms they are willing to rent to travellers and at what cost.

Room Tip: Room 358- nice clean updated bathroom but not much else to say positive about this room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NieuwMinerva, Owner at City Hotel Nieuw Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your response. We are sorry to hear that we have not fully met your expectations.
We could't offer you an other room, while the hotel was fully booked. We will take your comments serious. And we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and to offer you a great stay.
Greetings Jet Bos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed in this Hotel for four nights last week and overall our stay in Leiden was brilliant. The location of the hotel is good, it is about 10 minutes walk to the Rail and Bus stations and 5 minutes to the city centre. Leiden itself is a beautiful city with many attractions and I think we would come back here rather than stay in Amsterdam. The hotel overlooks one of the many canals that criss cross the city, our room which was at the front of the hotel we found to be noisy at night. The hotel itself can best be described as quirky, we felt that it would benefit from a bit of a makeover to brighten some of the interior and improve lighting in the corridors, our TV was fairly ancient and had an annoying habit of turning itself off. To be fair the room was clean and bathroom large and modern. Worryingly during our stay we saw only one person dining in the evening and nobody using the bar facilities. We felt that despite lots of local competition it should attract lots of guests in the evenings.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CREMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I have stayed here before but several years ago. My wife and I were visiting Leiden for a few days to catch up with friends and revisit old haunts as we lived in Leiden for a few months in 2010, and where better to stay than at The Nieuw Minerva, very centrally situated which is ideal for walking the city centre. I can't praise them enough for how we were looked after. My wife had broken her wrist on the morning of travelling to Holland and Sumaya Abdeen the receptionist was very kind and checked us into the Bridal Suite, no less!! The room was large with a 4 Poster and a bath in the room with separate shower, a pity we couldn't do it justice!! Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat in the hotel. If there is one criticism, the decor is becoming tired and in need of freshening up somewhat but nevertheless 'Highly recommended'!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank floyd32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews