We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not honest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I always send my clients to this hotel as it was such a nice hotel. But what happened yesterday, was unacceptable. The hotel makes "special offers" and now that I wanted to come by myself, they ask me 24€ extra + 2 breakfasts extra. This is unacceptable! I will send my clients to a "honest" hotel in Rotterdam now!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Abiqua P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludovicus000, Owner at Suite Hotel Pincoffs, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Sir,
We are sorry that we have disappointed you. We have had many guests who were very satisfied with our boutique hotel and they loved the friendly staff at The Pincoffs Hotel. You have stayed in our hotel before, and you were satisfied as well. What went wrong this time?
This time you didn’t book a room. You mailed the owners on their personal mail-account ‘a confirmation’ that you would like to stay in a DeLuxe Room for 145 euro, including two breakfasts. We told you that this rate doesn’t exist in The Pincoffs Hotel. We asked you to make a formal reservation through the reception desk or our website. That is how we work.
We are sorry, but we don’t offer that type of room for the price you mentioned, including breakfast. And that is still the truth. We are honest.
We strongly believe we do not deserve a review like yours, only because you didn’t get what you wanted. You did not even stay at The Pincoffs in the period of your review.
Our prices are very transparent. We do not switch prices often, and we hope our guests like our policy.
With kind regards,
Edwin van der Meijde & Karen Hamerlynck
Owners at The Pincoffs Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is by far one of the best hotels I have been to.
The rooms are spacious and special. my room had bathroom on the loft and the bed downstairs. It is an I-pod docking in every room + Nespresso machine.
There are a few good restaurants nearby and not to far anywere with taxi.
Only drawback was the breakfast service was a bit slow, but if you are on holiday and not business, this is not a problem at all.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank Etherga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We like the hifi system with an iPod dock, the Bvlgari toiletries, free DVD rental and personalized service, though we had to travel from the main station to the location. It is probably the best hotel for our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WildyWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Arrived in Rotterdam during a downpour early this week and spent one night at this little gem of a hotel. We stayed in room 14 which was spacious with a raised and separate seating area, a wonderful bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Decor includes some of the original massive beams and roof trusses which blend perfectly with the sparing, modernist and slightly quirky
colours, fixtures and fittings. Fabulous ipod dock, DVD library at reception, free coffee facilities.
No full restaurant service in the hotel but a number of dining choices withing short walking distance. Breakfast, however, is prepared to order and served in the very light and airy dining room. Book a parking spot with reception before you arrive. Without exception, the hotel people we met were friendly, helpful and clearly enthusiastic about this delightful place. We don't visit Rotterdam much but this for sure will be our choice next time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonBizler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I stayed at Pincoffs last week after a good year and a half, before this time I was staying there regularly.
It was so great to be back which prompted me to write this review. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates ambience, style and comfort. The design and feel of the hotel is plush and yet homely. The rooms are all individual with their own characters. The beds are wonderfully comfortable and the bathrooms are very nice, with lovely bathroom products to use. Some of the rooms overlook the river which looks wonderful when lit up at night.
Breakfast is great, typically Dutch but with an offering of cooked breakfasts, fresh juice and great coffee.
It's really a super place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AB1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Initially we were slightly disappointed in Pincoffs. With the term "suite" in your name you raise expectations. We thought of a large loft in an old Rotterdam warehouse and were underwhelmed with the tiny room on the top floor. Though the bed was adequate we had to maneuver a bit with suitcases and promised ourselves that next time we would do more research.
The reception and lounge area are pleasant so we had a drink in the bar, enjoyed the pictures from the old city and went for dinner. Having just returned to our tiny shelter the rainstorm exploded and while listening to the rain hitting the roof the rain succeeded in going through the roof: we called reception and asked for buckets.. We were offered another room ( which was much nicer..) and slept quietly through the night. After a very friendly breakfast we were in agreement: this is a nice hotel to stay and explore Rotterdam (but be suspicious of the top floor rooms..)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulMontjustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights based on the Tripadvisor reviews. Given the number of 5* reviews, my expectations were probably set a little too high and I have based this review on the fact that it is a decent standard for this price point. The staff are very friendly and it is an interesting building in a largely business district of the city. We opted for a standard room which was small but stylish to look at with a comfortable bed and nice bathroom. There were a number of small annoying things throughout however - tea and coffee is provided but only enough for one cup each, there are not enough plugs for all the devices in the room so you have to keep unplugging everything, free water is provided but the chilled water in the minibar is chargeable. We also didn't have enough towels or robes on our first night, although this was rectified and an apology note with chocolates left for us. Bizarrely the bed had two single duvets instead of a double as well.
Breakfast was ridiculously overpriced at €17.50 per person when there is a nice coffee and bagel shop a minute's walk away opposite the Deloitte building. Another annoyance is adding on City Tax to the room rate - just state the full price in the first place.
Overall it's nice but not outstanding.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Travel_Lion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludovicus000, Owner at Suite Hotel Pincoffs, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear guests,
Many thanks you for reviewing The Pincoffs Hotel in Rotterdam. It is our personal goal to provide value for money for every guest in our boutique hotel. Your review will help us to improve our services. We like to emphasize that every guest gets free Wifi, fresh cold water, coffee and tea in the room every day. There is no limit for our Illy coffee cups and Mr. Jones organic tea bags. There are two coffee cups and 2 tea bags in each room, but our staff provides new cups when you have runned out. One phone call to our reception desk is enough to let us run.
We place a bottle of cold, fresh water in your room every day at 15:00 h. It is for free. In the minibar we provide more drinks, including a bottle of still mineral water (which costs 6 euro).
Some of our rooms are provided with 2 single duvets; others with 1 double. We can always provide the one you like the most. Please tell us in the morning when you stay more than one night. We can change the duvets for the next night.
We are sorry we were not able to welcome you in our breakfast room The Living. There we serve our organic and fair trade breakfast at your table. Many of our guests like the live cooking experience in the kitchen where you can order your personal favorite eggs.
We hope you want to try this breakfast the next time you stay at the Pincoffs Hotel. And we hope you will not find it overpriced but a nice experience to start your day in Rotterdam.

With kind regards,
Edwin van der Meijde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,291 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,508 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,408 reviews
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,550 reviews
Hotel New York
#5 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Pincoffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Pincoffs

Address: Stieltjesstraat 34 | NL-3071 JX, 3071 JX Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: £105 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Pincoffs 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pincoffs Suite Hotel is a small luxury hotel. It resides in a national monument built in 1879 in the area currently called Kop van Zuid, the trendy Rotterdam left bank. The former customs office is full of atmosphere and authentic details. We can offer you charm, space and comfort in our 17 suites, luxury rooms, hotel bar and period rooms for meetings.The view of the river, the bridges and the skyline is heartwarming. There is free espresso coffee, tea and water in each room and suite. The Pincoffs serves breakfast (all days) and lunch (not on Saturday and Sundays). There is free parking in the street after 18:00h and on Sundays. The hotel has a private parking (15 euro per car per night).The Pincoffs Hotel is rewarded with the Green Key Gold medal for their environmental care. The hotel won several prices for interior decoration, hotel service and innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Suite Hotel Pincoffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing