We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent authentic italian food”

Trattoria A Proposito
Ranked #67 of 1,006 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Netherlands
Level Contributor
695 reviews
480 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“excellent authentic italian food”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

If you are looking for some authentic Italian food in Rotterdam, A proposito is the place for you. It doesn't look like much from the outside, it can be easily missed as I never saw it before last week and I have been living in Rotterdam for 5 years. The place is very busy so I would advise to book in advance. Menu is written on blackboard brought to your table. The staff is Italian which is always a good sign. My father and I both had the tuna, with green pepper and lemon for him and with squid ink for me, both were perfectly cooked and the sauces were very tasty. All mains are served with side salad and spaghetti. I will happily go back and try the meat dishes. Fast and friendly service, average prices (22 eur for fish.)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LOLANetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    33
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delizioso”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Delicious food, excellent service.
I was with my four teenage / pre-teenage sons and the staff were very attentive and considerate when they couldn't decide on what to eat. There was even a lesson on how to twirl spaghetti, which was appreciated by all.
Everything was cooked to perfection (various Carne dishes and Spaghetti Bolognese) and the desserts were all divine (Tiramisu, Casssata and Semi-freddo).
Looking forward to our return visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We had the antipasto mixto ( caprese salad, grilled courgettes, parma ham with melon, vitello tonnato, bruschetti with tomato, sundried tomatoes and olives), involtini de salmone ( smoked salmon rolls filled with ricotta), fitelo milanese and pasta con nero de sepia ( spaghetti with squid ink). The fitelo milanese was served with a mixed salad and spaguetti aglio e olio( garlic and olive oil). Everything was beautifully cooked and served. Very good service. Highly recommended but do not forget to book, it is always full.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HLF_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goiania, Brazil
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great food, very friendly people”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We had to wait a while, but it was worth it. Great food (I had a spaghetti wiht squid ink). Very friendly people.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gewitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Love the food, the atmosphere, everything.
Italian food, italian service!
Hope I can come back soon

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank KRISFZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria A Proposito also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Trattoria A Proposito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing