We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxed and friendly atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Room Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Room Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very relaxed and friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The hostel was very clean, staff were friendly and my bed was comfortable. It's a big building and the rooms are spread out so there isn't any noise during the night and I was able to get a good sleep. One of the staff members gave us a free tour of the city which was a great way to meet the other people staying there. Staff strove to make everyone feel welcome, especially those who were travelling alone. We even got free ice-cream. And they charged my ipod

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oct3088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    83
    21
    10
    5
See reviews for
5
34
67
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I booked a room for eleven people in the hostel ROOM Rotterdam for one night and was given the Royal Room at the top of the building, a spacious square room with high ceilings and two balconies. It was a really great stay. The staff were warm and helpful giving us maps of the city and serving Jupiler at decent rates during happy hour. The room and beds were clean and the bathrooms worked and were clean. We had a view of the harbour to top it off. Awesome place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeywoodCarruthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gedera, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Room was nice and clean, Staff was awesome - took us rollerblading and was generaly very cool. good prices. nice location, close to the river, not that far from city center. Lexi (the house dog) was also very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EyalMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

It's really close to the river, where you can have a boat trip to Europort. The decoration is nice, and lobby is a cafe/bar/internet access point/reading room where people have a lot of things to do, even when they are single travellers. The kitchen was very cute, and you can borrow spice from other guests as well. Supermarket and market place is not far at all. I found a floating chinese supermarket not so far.
Bathrooms are clean, boys' and girls' are separate in different floors.
Breakfast is ok, and when you have breakfast you can talk to a lot of people. I met a very nice friend there.
The lobby is a bar at night, but it's not noisy at all if you want to sleep since the sleeping place was separate by a long corridor.
I definitely come back if i go there.

Room Tip: Every room has a theme. My room was Port room. Choose the theme you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LanLuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Friendly, homely hostel. Lovely staff.
Great place to meet people. Nice bar, cafe area. Centrally located.
Toilets and showers aren"t going to win any awards, but it"s a hostel and they really arent anywhere near as bad as mentioned in other reviews here! The one I had to use was on the next flight up, but wasn"t an issue for me.
Lockers, power points and reading lights on each bed.
I only stayed one night, but if I returned I would deffo stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagstaffe, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Being traveling for over 2 months and this hostel was the dirtiest so far. The bathroom and kitchen were really gross and seemed to be neglected. The rooms were cosy though, location not too bad (short walk into town & a good area) & the main area had a good atmosphere. If I only it had been a bit cleaner it would have been a lot better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avdavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here whilst on our bicycle tour of europe "Project Eurocycle" and was a great hostel. Although we got there late, they were happy to help. It was pretty easy to find and is near the train station.
The rooms were funky with diffent themes for different rooms. It seems that it suits young travellers as there were alot of them there, all with happy smiles on their faces! We stayed in the bar till late, with the staff being really friendly and the beer cheap! they even let us put our on songs on their music playlist!

The general style of the hostel was cosy, with a retro feel.

The only downside was the breakfast, which was slightly dissapointing. You could pay for a Super Breakfast, which was an extra few euros for a coffee and a peice of fruit. Other than that the place was great!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gajharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Room Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Room Rotterdam

Property: Hostel Room Rotterdam
Address: Van Vollenhovenstraat 62, 3016 BK Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Nieuwe Werk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Room Rotterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel ROOM Rotterdam is a unique themehostel located in the central district of Rotterdam - the beautiful Scheepsvaartkwartier - and very close by the main tourist attractions. Stunning architecture, musea, cool & hip shoppingstreets, the place of departure of the boats to Kinderdijk en the Rotterdam harbour are just a doorstep away! We are located in a beautiful renovated national monument build in 1923 in Art Deco style and accomodate 17 themerooms all with a special link to Rotterdam and The Netherlands. We'd love to show you more and hope to welcome you soon in our hostel, it's up to you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Room Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing