We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth staying for the experience of something different”
Review of SS Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SS Rotterdam
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My fiancee and I stayed at this location between 26th and 28th April 2012. We upgraded to a superior room which was quite large and had two portholes which allowed plenty of light to enter. The room had facilities such as a coffee machine, hair dryer and iron. The beds were very comfortable and the room was very nicely decorated.
On our first night, we had a meal on board the ship, which was excellent, having had steak which was cooked to perfection for both our tastes. We had earlier reserved the table and had asked for a table by the window. The lady in charge ensured that this took place even though it was busy that night.
Although it was disappointing that we could not tour the ship without having to pay extra, we were still allowed outside on the stern and took some great photographs and film footage.
Although the ship is away from the city centre, the ship do provide a free shuttle service to the nearest metro station and there is also a bus service that you can use near to the ship. This service did take us to the Ahoy centre which was the main reason to stay at this location.Next to the ship is a water taxi service which we did not use . We did walk to the metro station which took around 20 minutes and would be ideal on a nice day as you pass other large boats moored nearby.
We also took the opportunity to visit the centre of Rotterdam as well as Amsterdam, using the metro and train service which are all easy to use and are accesable.
The only reason that we have not classed this as excellent is that on our last night a door was constantly banging somewhere below our room which did disturb the sleep pattern. We should have mentioned this as it was happening however we chose to leave this until we checked out.
Also they had no menus or documentaion in the room which was printed in English, however the staff were very friendly and helpful.Apart from that, we can not fault the stay on this ship.
If you want somewhere different to stay and have great photographs to remember by, then this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 2,045 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

Sleeping on a real cruise ship, a warm welcome when entering the boat, old fashioned interior, it unwittingly fed my expectations on a unique experience. Unfortunately, the dream shattered with high speed. The air in the hotel room / hut is dry due to the centrally controlled air conditioning, it is not possible to open a window. The narrow hall is noisy at night with people coming back from their night out. Food and service in the restaurant are very poor, breakfast ok but expensive. With nothing near (city centre is also far away) it is strange to pay € 15 for a parking lot. I understood the hotel is losing money and i now understand why. A nice location, a modest hotel, a one time and not recommended experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ren_S_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I have just come back from Rotterdam and I stayed at SS Rotterdam. To say it shortly... my room cost 150 € and it didn't have nothing special, well, water pressure on the shower was not very good, and the room was not flat, I guess because I was in the bow of the ship... but in any case was odd.Again, as it is a ship, windows are extremely small as wel as having low ceilings. The breakfast is also average. Clearly, it is overpriced.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rafa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I have been for two days in this hotel. Rooms are nice and clean, with modern and new furnitures. Room have some facilities like coffee machine. Staff it is really nice and pleasant. Breakfast is reasonable for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauricio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I was there for a large conference at the hotel and we all had to stay here. The location is far from the center of Rotterdam. There is nothing much close by. I didn't try taking the bus/train to the center. We came for the conference, attended it and left. That would be the only reason to stay here.

I liked the free WiFi internet in all public areas. The rooms have wired free internet however it does not work for tablets and smart phones etc. I liked the late check out given without much hassel. Breakfast was included and was sparsely adequate.
I did not the like the room, the furnishings, the decor, the bed. They could have done it much better. The bathroom is small with no space to place your personal items. There is not fitness room, the multiple lounges and clubs at least one can be converted to a gym.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Felt strange to be on a boat that doesnt go anywhere. Anyhow, was there for a big group event. Was well handled and well organized. Boat is in a good condition. Like the theme.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Having watched the restoration of the SS Rotterdam was pleased to have an event to attend at the Ahoy stadium which gave me an excuse to stay ' on board '. A wonderful location at Katendrecht , well served by bus 77 ,which runs from the ship to the South Plain [ Ahoy ] . I recommend a 7 euro day ticket from hotel reception for the excellent bus , tram and Metro system .Rooms are 3 or 4 star quality and if there was not a porthole you could be in any hotel room , although well finished was slightly dissapointing. Beds very comfortable ,linen and towels high quality .
Breakfast a steep 18.50 euro could have been better for this money.Bar and restaurant and public areas preserve the period fittings well ,though a full tour of the boat has to be paid for. My friends and I were quite happy with the areas open to hotel guests. Good to have ticked the box , may not return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turbofarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
nhow Rotterdam
#7 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,740 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,634 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#3 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel New York
#6 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,350 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 55 in Rotterdam
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SS Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SS Rotterdam

Address: 3E Katendrechtsehoofd 25, 3072 AM Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Cruise Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: £67 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SS Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your SS Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing