We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starry, starry Fred”
Review of Restaurant Fred

Restaurant Fred
Reserve with
Restaurant Fred is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 1,009 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$133
Cuisines: Dutch, Seafood, European, French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Somerset West
Level Contributor
172 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Starry, starry Fred”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Recently I had the pleasure of being invited by dear friends to have lunch at restaurant Fred and this was a very enjoyable experience.

This restaurant is owned by chef Fred Mustert who earned his stripes at amongst others restaurant La Vilette in Rotterdam.

While entering the restaurant one immediately notices the beautiful and classy set up. The interior is magnificent, tables are big and seats are comfortable. The waiting staff this day consisted of three gentlemen, well dressed in suits with tie and breast-pocket handkerchief. Certainly friendly and correct, but at the same time in my opinion a bit stiff. Yes, it’s a choice, but not mine.

We opted for the three course lunch menu and I had the privilege of choosing the wine from the impressive (and pricy) wine menu. However, the Saint Veran was a good choice for a decent price of € 44,00. We started with an excellent dish of thinly sliced coquilles and goose liver with avocado crème: wow! The main course of grilled Tarbot with Morielles, potato foam and parmesan cheese was nice too albeit very small. Actually, for a main course it was simply too small and already finished before one could taste its true finesse. For dessert we could choose between a sweet dessert or the cheese trolley. I chose the second option and this was a pure delight. The trolley was full of the most delicious cheeses, which made up for the slight disappointed of the main course. We rounded things off with a good espresso and this was combined with a choice of superb friandises.

Restaurant Fred is another top restaurant in Rotterdam with a beautiful interior, excellent food and friendly staff. Prices of dishes and wines are a bit steep though, but in the end it was worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurentPerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    51
    12
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service.”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I had heard great reviews about Fred and wanted to try it. I had the chance to do so during a special week that markets Michelin restaurants around Netherlands. We visited Fred with my friend and overall it was a great choice.

Regarding the cuisine, the combination of ingredients was quite inspired and the final result tasted amazing. The tastes blended very well together but at the same time you could still taste the separate components in a very pleasant way. My companion REALLY enjoyed the cheese plate and couldn't possibly understand why I was more than happy to skip cheese and go for a really unique apple-pie (if he had tried it he would know why).

Moving on to the service, I must admit it was at least as good as the food. Very friendly and welcoming people that made us wanna return just because we had been treated so good throughout the meal. It's not the first time we eat in a Michelin restaurant and although silver service is the norm, friendly silver service takes the experience to a whole other level. We will definitely come back for more.

Granted the decor is nothing great, although the bathroom was quite impressive in my opinion, but overall Dutch are not famous for their luxurious hotels and restaurants thus I'm used to disregard the ambiance.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
198 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“one of the best in Rotterdam”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I have enjoyed dinner here three times, and was never disappointed. I was invited all times which is not bad considering the price. The food is delicious, prepared with great care to create a piece of art on the plate. Molecular dishes like a cucumber granité are surprisingly palatable. The last time the waiters made two mistakes in my opinion; one was "caressing" the wine bottle, the other not thanking the guests and seeing them out. Two of the crew were outside relaxing.... This is in great contrast to what I experienced the two other visits.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaapK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent food, boring atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The food served for a luncheon date was excellent, the service impeccable. The restaurant's styling, however, is very uninspiring, even for a business date, let alone for a romantic meeting. Location within easy reach for car drivers coming from out-of-town.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oban2SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandvoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and wines but disinterested service”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We very much looked forward visiting this restaurant. Expectations: michelinstar food, superb wines, extravagant decoration, shortly: something special! The restaurant looks like ford Knox. A lot of staff waited upon our table. Friendly but very, very fast. We could not stop them in time to anwser our questions properly. They could hardly find time for us. It was hasty. Except for one young man who asked why we were not at home watching football because it was a special night for the ROtterdam club. in the end we learned that Chef Fred did not cook our meal because "he hardly ever cooks" and was babysitting. Anyway the food was excellent, (especially the sole) the wines matching, and the cheese trolley superb. It took 4 hours to pass a 5course menu, we felt neglected by the waiting staff and payed a good price wich they took for granted. VIsit this restaurant for the food and decoration. Do not expect excellent service.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maaike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Fred also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Fred? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing