We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“restaurant FRED ....4 out of 5”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Fred

Restaurant Fred
Reserve with
Restaurant Fred is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 999 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$133
Cuisines: Dutch, Seafood, European, French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
153 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“restaurant FRED ....4 out of 5”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had a 4 course lunch at restaurant FRED. Overall Excellent taste, good quality ingredients. Beautifull presentation. Service at the table was adequate and the meal was finished with the best chocolate desert we had this year. Last year we were not happy when we left the table at Interscaldes, but this year with Fred, "Dining with the stars" proves that price and quality can be in balance too, because the total amount for meal, wine and coffee was less than you would have expected. Fred is one of our new favourites in Rotterdam.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WILENLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    50
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“North Sea Jazz Fest Spot 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Always dinner on Friday evening before we do the North Sea Jazz Fest thing. The Dutch, in their usual fashion, are alway very accommodating and offer great service. Unfortunately, this year Carlos Santana was playing at the AHOY on Friday evening so we opted for lunch at Fred's on Friday afternoon. Compared to dinner the year before it was ummmmmmm....kinda sorta ok. Dinner 2012 was much better. A great mix of gourmet servings for each course coupled with the accompanying wine was tremendous. Always go for the menu with wine at Freds and you will be pleased. Service exceptional, multi-lingual staff and excellent food. While not agreeing with a previous reviewer that the lunch menu was disappointing some of the courses were "over the top" at its attempt at innovation. Hopefully North Sea Jazz Fest 2014 won't have a headline draw on Friday evening and we can return to Fred's for dinner vice lunch. Nonetheless, a yearly visit for this Jazz Fest couple. Lady of the couple comment "I love the toilets."

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lopez C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, average service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

To start with the positives: I really liked the food and there was enough of it. I found service somewhat wanting, however. The sommelier did not provide any advice on alcohol when we asked for brandy, just brought us some and poured in the glasses, without even telling us which brandy it was. Our waitress smiled once during the whole evening. When we asked for a mint and black tea we were served two mint teas. The whole dinner, with its 7 courses, lasted for almost 4 hours. I have nothing against fine, slow and deliberate food, but this was somewhat excessive. Perhaps, if we were served a bit faster...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Funtli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
157 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Based on the TripAdvisor reviews we booked a table for 2 on a Thursday evening after having found out that our first choice (In Den Rustwat, across the road) was fully booked. At Fred, there were only two other tables occupied. The interior is somewhat overdone in the daylight, but becomes cosier when the lights are turned on. Our general experience was one of disappointment. As another reviewer said: over the top. The food tries too hard to be innovative and some dishes were too salty for our taste. The service is too intense (perhaps also because of the low occupancy rate that evening); we were too often interrupted. On the wine list, there was however one very pleasant surprise: Oliver Zeter's "S cuvee" (Pfalz, 2012), made of six different grape varieties: highly recommended white wine!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schreuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top quality in Rotterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Superb! Sincé the beginning the food, champagne and wine were excellent. The service is really good in terms of attention and guidance through the menu, although it could be faster (we stayed there for over 3 hours), maybe because there were not many waiters.
They have this menu recommended by the cheff, but we wanted to try different things, so we went for the menu list and I believe it was much better. Whatever you do, you have to try the cheese, not only for the high quality but also for the show, the trolley is beautiful.
The only problem is the location, so don't take a table next to the window, it is not nice outside. Also the tables are kind of exposed so it is not very romantic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Fred also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Fred? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing