We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent!”
Review of Restaurant Fred

Restaurant Fred
Reserve with
Restaurant Fred is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 1,028 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$133
Cuisines: French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“excellent!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Love to have a lunch there, quieter and even more attention for the guests but never annoing. Adore their choices of cheese serves as an extra course. Takes a while but leaves with a very pleasant feeling.
Never make a reservervation when there's a "restaurant-week"- offer because of the people that don't know good food and get their chance of 'dining-out'...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marlies M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    55
    13
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monster, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent French cuisine, relaxed atmosphere....”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Excellent restaurant, beautiful interior, all well thought of ! Good spacing between the tables, great chairs. Believe it or not but it has one of the most beautiful washrooms I have ever seen, great style for a washroom, just beautiful.

The food is excellent as well, well balanced, great tastes, no fluffy tricks on your table but real great food. Beautiful combinations, great taste and well-portioned. We had lunch here which came at 45 euro for a 3-course. Great value.

Service is also very personal, quick, well-informed and friendly. The whole atmosphere is very relaxed, very "Rotterdammish". I really felt welcome and looked after.

Although the lunch had an interesting pricing, this is not a cheap restaurant. Water, wine, coffee, etc. easily brings the price up to higher levels, but overall quality is outstanding and well worth the money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aliceesjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Top class dining”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A really good dining experience and one I would repeat. Went this evening with husband, daughter and her boyfriend. Dine out frequently, and this evenings experience re service, food quality and price would have to be up there with the best. Initially we thought 'what have we booked' it was very formal, and seemingly prescriptive but once we stated what we wanted it was really good, and the waiter was also very good, even entertaining. Definitely recommend a visit if you like well cooked and artistically presented food. Perhaps you could say the restaurant was better than my visit to Quay in Sydney Australia.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhondda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“When to many guest quality drops prices stay”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

In general quality and service at fred is excellent. However for some sillyreason they decided to join a citymarketing program. The result was that the restaurant was packed with couples dining for 50 euro.

The other result was we had to dine for 4 hours, the quality of the food and the service dropped dramattically. Onacceptabel for a 2 michel star restaurant.

After my complaint the reaction was: we will discuss it.
Disappointing
So if you book Fred make sure not too many others had the same idea.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ArcoVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food at Fred!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Went here last saturday for dinner, the food was great and tasted fresh and amazing. Great variety! For a full review please check out the following link: http://hungrybubblyberries.wordpress.com/2014/04/23/fred-rotterdam/

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hungrybubblyberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Fred also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Fred? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing