We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value if you can get a deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We booked with hotels.com & got an excellent deal. We got great value at £90 per night, with free mini bar, excellent buffet breakfast. Comfortable room & helpful staff. Just 2 minutes into the city by car so good location off the motorway.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowchickawowow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

This is a very nice hotel with terrific service and amenities. The desk staff was very friendly. Someone should, however, mandate that guests be given certain information to guests up front, including how to get the lights/electric to work in the room and how to access the Internet. I had to call the reception for this information, when it seems that it should be given to all guests at check in. Regardless, a minor quibble.

I ordered a “superior” room for a few Euro more. I don’t think you would need to bother with this. The only difference from what I could tell is that is has a larger desk. The room was very spacious – the largest I’ve had in Europe and comparable to what you find in the U.S. There were two double beds pushed together, which was fine as it was just me. The bed was very comfortable. There is no closet, but a very large wardrobe with a large safe (big enough for a good-sized laptop and plenty more. A nice touch for sure. There was also a mini bar, which they will charge you for, even though this information is not available anywhere. (No big deal, I expect to pay for this type of thing, but there should be some sort of information about it somewhere.) There was a flat-screen TV with a few English channels (mostly BBC-related) and pay-per-view movies. Wi-Fi Internet cost 12.50 Euros for 24 hours. From what I could tell, there was no wireless Internet, just Ethernet. The bath was large and clean, if a bit Spartan. As other have noted, the décor and larger hotel are a bit lacking in charm or personal touches, but I found it a nice contrast to all of the “unique” qualities one generally finds in European hotels. The room had a large window that opened and looked out into the lovely park next door. Wonderful!

I ordered room service, which was fast and tasty, albeit on the expensive side. All in all, this is a wonderful hotel and I really enjoyed my stay. As others have noted on here, you should double check that you understand where this hotel is located. It’s pretty much in the middle of nowhere. If you have a car or don’t mind paying for taxis, then it’s an excellent value for the money, much nicer than many hotels for comparable prices. If being near the city center, close to bars and restaurants and nightlife and other attractions, you might want to try something closer to the city center. I walked from Central Station to the hotel and it took about 45 minutes (including checking the map numerous times.) I took a taxi to the Ahoy for the jazz festival and it cost nearly 30 Euros! This is a very nice hotel and a great bargain, but the location leaves something to be desired for those in search of greater cultural immersion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passim123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I stayed for a full week at the rotterdam blijdorp about a month back .. was on a biz tip to NL .. .... the hotel is a 10 mins taxi ride from the roterdam station.. check in was smooth, room was fairly spacious.. clean and non smelly .. a huge parking lot and open space in the front... some great dinner at the restaurant .. (loved the asparagus and the cesar salad) .. was bowled over the by the special gesture of the staff to allow a late checkout on a friday evening since i made a spot decision to shift to amsterdam for the weekend ... overall a great hotel ...no holes to poke :) ... also dont miss the great milk at the breakfast ! and hire a cycle from the lobby if you are in mood to go around on wheels in the city ..

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EasyBizTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

A bit out of town but on bus route. Hotel has upmarket design although rooms are basic.
Good deal for a short stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank Jaymark0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Booked the hotel through bookings.com and on the basis of tripadvisor reviews. I needed somewhere to stay for 3 nights in Rotterdam with good road access and the Blijdorp fitted the bill just right.

The room was comfortable and reasonable value. Paying extra for internet access is a pain but seems to be the norm in The Netherlands.

Staff were friendly. Food in the restaurant was mediocre to poor. Staying here for more than a few nights would get boring very quickly. But sometimes, one craves the very blandness of the business hotel and this hits the spot!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlanticXpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We stayed here for 1 night. It's clean, smart, reasonably priced if you secure one of their week-end special tariffs that includes breakfast (which was good).
The location is not exactly in the centre and you really need a car or use public transport to get anywhere. That said, the hotel is easily accessible and parking is free.
The room temperature control did not work - it was too warm for us. The mattrass was too springy.
I had hoped to use the leisure facilities, but it turns out these are not part of the hotel and are a seperate operation run by David Lloyd next door for which you have to buy a 10€ user ticket. We stayed on a Sunday and guess what - it was closed after 6pm!
On the whole slightly disappointing, but perfectly ok for business trips and such like.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

cant wait to go back again coz it was awesomeeeeeeeeee

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
Thank LizbethN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
#10 of 53 in Rotterdam
996 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#3 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,271 reviews
Worldhotel Wings
#12 of 53 in Rotterdam
165 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#7 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp

Address: Energieweg 2, 3041 JC Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: £67 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing