We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than others are saying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I was hesitant when I booked this hotel, given the average score from Trip advisor's reviews. In the end I was happy we stayed there.
Positives: price (very good for Rotterdam), proximity to city centre, free parking, free drinks at our arrival (we had an excellent wine from the bar), late breakfast (till 11am), large size of the room, excellent sleep quality, inspired design of the main lobby.
We did not try the indoor swimming pool, nor the gym.
No suggestions to improve. Just to keep up the standard and would be great!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rashela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Pleasant hotel not too far from the center with ample,free, parking - an important consideration where city center parking has become frightfully expensive. If you're only in town for a short time 24-48 hours an OV card is not necessarily a viable option because of the initial fixed cost.
Our room was spacious and comfortable and more than acceptable, although we had to report a few minor "housekeeping" issues - no plug for the sink and faulty light bulbs. Hopefully, this would have been rectified before the next guests arrival.
Found breakfast cost rather on the high side!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Bit dated, but still clean enough. Some stains on carpet, but spotless bathroom.
Room didn't cool below 23 degrees, while outside it was much cooler.

Dinner not very good.
Breakfast is nice. Especially the fresh rolls, which were extraordinary.

Stayed in spacious suite, with seperate living room, toilet, bathroom and bedroom. View on the Blijdorp zoo.

Free parking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sander_Stulemeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank dupke
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Nice bed, very comfy. It was far too hot though and I tossed and turned all night.
Bathroom was nice. In all it was quite a stylish, trendy hotel. The restaurant let it down or maybe it was my choice of the venison, it was ok but not what i was expecting.

Breakfast was average, nothing special. i guess if you're into cold hams and cheese then you will enjoy it.

Not the cheapest hotel in the world either.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dons1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Van der Valk Hotels do seem to be a bit of a Dutch secret. They are usually just out of town with lots of free parking, and lots of space in the quite stylish reception/lobby areas and super-clean rooms. I have stayed here 4 times and each time the room has been pleasant & spacious. This time I went for an executive room which was lovely and large, big bed & overlooked the park. Very quiet room, excellent sleeps were had! Shame there was only a shower, but its a big, hot walk in shower so not a deal breaker.
I often stay in Rotterdam Centre, but you don't get the size of room & parking is always extra, so I think this makes sense if you are bringing a car. In the evening we get the bus from about 2 mins away straight to Beurs - by the shopping/restaurants so its v simple. Get yourselves an OV Chipcard (like the London Oyster Card). You can use that on buses, trams, trains etc makes travelling v simple. Free wifi with code, or plug your laptop in.
I used the David Lloyd with its gym, pool & Jacuzzi, just round the side of the hotel. Ask at reception for a voucher. The charge is around 12Euros and they put it on your bill.
Dinner in the restaurant was pleasant, with friendly staff & nice surroundings.
Definitely would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I have stayed in the standard, superior and executive rooms, you get more space as you go up the lad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KazIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Large modern hotel with room to match and spacious shower. Tea and coffee in the room. Free WiFi but code needed from reception. The breakfast was above average with a good selection of bread, cheeses and warm food and great fresh fruit. The only minus point of the stay was the bar. Drinks were not allowed to be put on the room bill unless 'your credit card had been authorised at reception'. This sort of rule makes me annoyed considering my (reputable) company had booked some 30 rooms that night. I don't know any other hotel that does this. Treating business travellers with this sort of distrust doesn't score any points in my book. The bar was also strange in that the staff preferred you not to order at the bar but to serve at your table, which meant a long wait. Next morning I walked to Rotterdam Centraal Station - about 25 minutes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrbasstrombone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
#10 of 53 in Rotterdam
996 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#3 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,271 reviews
Worldhotel Wings
#12 of 53 in Rotterdam
165 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#7 of 53 in Rotterdam
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp

Address: Energieweg 2, 3041 JC Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: £68 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing