We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather uncategorized ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel by itself is quite good. Modern architecture, everything is convenient. The furniture is need to be changed slightly. The breakfast was too expensive for my opinion - 17,5 euro for sausages, omelets, some ham and cheese? Too less i think. And the most important - about location. It's situated close to rhe zoo. So, you could easily spend some time there - walking.... Kids would be happy. But to get to the Rotterdam center by public transport - is problematic. Only bus 32 goes to blaak direction. Approximately 25 minutes.But what is more that i noticed, that on working hours it's 3,4 busses per hour, but when i wanted to come back at 9 pm, i was waiting for 40 minutes. That unconvincing. So, plan your trip wise. But for staff - i mist admit, that the staff was excellent!!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Ivan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Van de Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp is conveniently located to access the airport and central station by public transport. It's also right next door to the Zoo. The hotel is clean, neat and the king size bed is huge. It's a little isolated, no cafes, etc for a mile or more, so it's eating in the restaurant, or catch the bus back into Rotterdam Central. The bus station (route 33) is less than 5 minutes walk to the hotel, and it's a quick ride (3 euros) into town, and also out to the airport. There are lots of parks near the hotel if you're keen to go for a walk, and the hotel has a deal with a fitness centre located next door. If you don't mind being a little away from things, the rate paid in June 2014 as part of a conference hosted by Van der Valk hotels was 75 euro per night for the room, and 10 euro for breakfast.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet location, didn't encounter any issues re traffic, etc - most rooms seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed for 9 nights on a hockey tour and the hotel staff did everything they could to help us. They provided early breakfasts, additional towels and were the friendliest staff we have ever come across in a hotel of that size. Raymondo, in particular, helped us with directions to local places and kept smiling throughout! Rooms were very well equipped with a large bathroom, complete with walk-in shower and catered for our every need. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out rather than an atrium view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenny1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I was hesitant when I booked this hotel, given the average score from Trip advisor's reviews. In the end I was happy we stayed there.
Positives: price (very good for Rotterdam), proximity to city centre, free parking, free drinks at our arrival (we had an excellent wine from the bar), late breakfast (till 11am), large size of the room, excellent sleep quality, inspired design of the main lobby.
We did not try the indoor swimming pool, nor the gym.
No suggestions to improve. Just to keep up the standard and would be great!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rashela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Pleasant hotel not too far from the center with ample,free, parking - an important consideration where city center parking has become frightfully expensive. If you're only in town for a short time 24-48 hours an OV card is not necessarily a viable option because of the initial fixed cost.
Our room was spacious and comfortable and more than acceptable, although we had to report a few minor "housekeeping" issues - no plug for the sink and faulty light bulbs. Hopefully, this would have been rectified before the next guests arrival.
Found breakfast cost rather on the high side!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Bit dated, but still clean enough. Some stains on carpet, but spotless bathroom.
Room didn't cool below 23 degrees, while outside it was much cooler.

Dinner not very good.
Breakfast is nice. Especially the fresh rolls, which were extraordinary.

Stayed in spacious suite, with seperate living room, toilet, bathroom and bedroom. View on the Blijdorp zoo.

Free parking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sander_Stulemeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank dupke
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Worldhotel Wings
#12 of 52 in Rotterdam
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
834 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,291 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp

Address: Energieweg 2, 3041 JC Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: £66 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Rotterdam-Blijdorp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing